We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Dream!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Al Ponte Antico Hotel
Ranked #1 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 October 2011

We stayed at Al Ponte Antico to celebrate our 25th anniversary; everything the other reviewers write is true. The warm welcome with champagne for our celebration,the helpful advice, the lovely little talks and the beautiful clean rooms and superb breakfast. The most beautiful is the balcony that everybody can use. We had a room with view on the Canal Grande but you don't need it, you can sit the whole day on the balcony and watch the traffic. Tip: spend money on a watertaxi to get to the hotel, it's worth it!
Matteo thank you again and we hope to come back. Hubert and Dorien

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DorienD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,347)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

813 - 819 of 1,347 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2011

My husband and I were treated like royalty by the entire staff at this beautiful little boutique hotel overlooking the Grand Canal with a view of the Rialto Bridge in Venice. We were late getting to our hotel and the staff called us by name when we walked in the door and told us they were worried about us. It was very romantic at night setting on the terrace watching the gondolas go by while listening to a jazz concert on the the other side of the canal and drinking one of their specialty drinks from the bar. The room was small but comfortable and beautifully decorated in perfect Italian. They also serve a great breakfast buffet. I cannot say enough about our wonderful experience. My only regret is that we did not stay long enough.

Room Tip: Our room did not have a view of the canal as those rooms were not available, instead we had a view o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CBinPV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2011

great hotel, great location, great staff. Highly recommend. RK

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RBK00007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2011

Thanks solely to Trip Advisor, we chose the Al Ponte Antico for three days in late September, 2011. I rate it most highly for its amazing, helpful staff; the stunning breakfast with a millionaire's view of the canal and the bridge; the quiet, well-equipped rooms. When we arrived, Max hustled our friends with their luggage most expertly over to the sister hotel, where they were staying. We received detailed maps, personalized suggestions for restaurants, superb care with transportation, etc. Yes, the hotel was old and small (hello, it is Venice), but the young owners have done their best to make it welcoming and atmospheric. Nine rooms, tucked away from the very busy streets. NOTE: we were told that in August on weekends, the cruise ships can disgorge as many as 35,000 people at one time. Ugh. I would check with the cruise line before I booked that city. We arrived with Azamara Quest, a small boutique cruise line, and will choose it again.

Room Tip: I chose a quiet room in the back to avoid the canal noise. It was a bit darker than I might like, b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carole I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2011

We spend two nights here over a weekend. It as an amazing stay with a great location on the grand canal, extraordinary personalized service and a beautiful terrace which overlooked the canal and the Rialto bridge. Breakfasts were great sitting on the terrace. We lugged our suitcases to the hotel after catching the ferry but we would have been better to catch a water taxi right to the door for 50 Euros. This is what we did on the way back.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian123456781
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2011

We stayed for four days in this Hotel. We were delighted! This is a small hotel that made our stay in Venice a dream come true. The location is excellent: close to the Ponte Rialto. From there is easy to walk all around the city. The place is beautifully decorated. The service was fantastic! Mateo, the owner and his crew were making sure that every detail was taken care off. Mateo cooked breakfast one morning, and we could tell that he enjoyed making the guests feel at home. Every one from the hotel greeted us (all the family) by our names and gave us great recommendations for visiting places, restaurants, etc. You won't find this kind of service in any "standard" hotel even if it is much more expensive. The hotel has a patio that overlooks the Grand Canal were we had breakfast and some snacks when we came back. Visiting Venice staying at Al Ponte Antico made our trip so much enjoyable that next time in Venice this will be my first choice.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sacullucas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2011

The owner and staff are simply terrific. Friendly helpful and totally committed to making your stay in Venice a great experience. The location and outside patio are terrific as is the breakfast and large clean rooms. To be highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fender69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#2 of 385 in Venice
1,975 reviews
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
San Marco
Locanda Orseolo
Locanda Orseolo
#3 of 385 in Venice
2,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Hotel Antiche Figure
#8 of 385 in Venice
3,871 reviews
Hotel Canal Grande
#11 of 385 in Venice
2,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Al Ponte Antico Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Ponte Antico Hotel

Address: Calle dell'Aseo | Cannaregio 5768, 30131 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#4 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range: £216 - £380 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Al Ponte Antico Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Al Ponte Antico Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Ponte Antico Venice
Hotel Al Ponte Antico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing