We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful breakfast views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Al Ponte Antico Hotel
Ranked #1 of 387 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Matteo and Oliver were so gracious and accommodating. The views at breakfast and cocktail hour could not be beat! We stayed 2 nights at the beginning of a 1.5 week tour and what a way to kick it off. Breakfast was great. I do recommend arriving by private taxi as it makes the hotel all that more attractive. Small family owned property that strives to meet all of your expectations. We stayed the end of October 2013.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Courtney L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,360)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

592 - 598 of 1,360 reviews

Reviewed 2 November 2013

What more is there to say that has not already been said by other reviewers. The friendliness and willingness of the management and staff is outstanding and Mateo and his team have created a culture which is quite unique. Out stay was split between a 2 night stay in a Superior Double Room and 4 nights a week later in the Mini Suite. The Superior Double was lovely and looked out over the terrace on to the canal. The only drawback was the piped music which you could hear in the room (even at night), but had no problem asking them to turn it down or off. Our second stay was a little like coming home with Oliver there at the dock to welcome us as our water taxi pulled up. The suite was fabulous and surprise surprise, the architectural intrusion which was there on our initial visit had been removed, so the view of the Rialto Bridge and the Grand Canal from our private indoor terrace/balcony was unobstructed and quite breathtaking. We probably spent too long in this room watching life pass us by on the canal. The only negatives concerning the rooms were that both and especially the mini suite could do with a little updating and there is what looks like water damage to the wall of the balcony facing the canal which needs repairing. Breakfast was fabulous and really set us up for the day, but it would have been nice to have tea/coffee making facilities in the room.

Room Tip: Room 108 which directly opens on to the canal. Noise was never a problem
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rwlid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

My wife and I just returned from our 17 days in Italy, with 3 wonderful nights with Matteo, Oliver and the crew at the Al Ponte Antico Hotel. Small, intimate, incredible view of the Rialto Bridge from the patio for ALL guests to enjoy, and very possibly the most gracious service anyone could expect from a hotelier, bar none! It clearly starts with the ownership, but the employees also exude the personalized service experience, and the entire team will wow you from the moment you arrive. Take a private water taxi to their dock on the Grand Canal to kick start your visit. It's pricey at a flat rate of 60 euros from any taxi at the train station, but its fun, classy, fast and the most effecient way to get there. I would not hesitate to strongly reccomend this hotel to anyone, and will look forward to a return visit with them in the future! PS: I also agree with an earlier poster......Matteo slams out a damn fine breakfast for you each morning!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RL_Trails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We just got home from a 10 day trip to Italy. We ended our trip in Venice, and I am so happy that we stayed at this hotel.

The staff is over the top friendly and accommodating. Matteo greeted us so warmly, and Alex and Oliver took such great care of us! Oliver especially was so wonderful in seeing to our every need while we were there - directions, bags, WINE, and always a smile when he addressed us by name.

The balcony view overlooking the Rialto was a highlight of our trip. After a week of strenuous travel, it was so nice to spend our last two days relaxing and just taking in the beauty of Venice.

I hope to be back soon!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Caroline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

My wife and I had the pleasure of visiting the Hotel Al Ponte Antico for the second time and we were once again absolutely thrilled with our stay. Matteo and his team of hospitality professionals are incredible hosts. We arrived via water taxi at the private dock and were met right away by Alex who immediately greated us by name and welcomed us. Matteo instantly appeared and treated us as though were were royalty. Our room overlooking the Grand Canal was splendid, the setting was like that of romantic Venetian movie. The room was always spotless, comfortable, warm and inviting. Each morning, Matteo and Rosalba prepare and present a fantastic breakfast which may be enjoyed sitting on what must be the most special terrace in all of Venice. Sitting within a stones throw of the Rialto Bridge, we enjoyed our breakfast each day as Venice came alive via the Grand Canal right below us. Each afternoon and evening, we sat and had a drink watching the "masses" floating by in crowded water busses, gondolas easing on by, and the "rush hour" of various floating vessels manuvering just a few feet from our terrace. Matteo, Oliver, Rosalba, Alex and Thomas(I hope i did not forget anyone) always greeted us by name as we arrive or departed. Restaurant reservations were always made for us at great locations.
The Hotel Al Ponte Antico is a very special place, one of our favorite spots in all the world. We fully intend to return again, hopefully soon!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Absolutely the friendliest and best hotel staff I have ever encountered. Matteo, Alex, David and Oliver took care of my every need competently and professionally. A great location for a hotel on a canal a few feet from the Rialto. And Matteo fixes a darn good breakfast too.

I would stay here regardless of whether my room had a direct canal view or not. The view from their outside breakfast area is fantastic.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LawyerGermantown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We had room 103, it didnt have a view of the canal, but was gorgeous anyway, with high ceiling, comfortable bed and lovely spacious bathroom. The staff, as others have said, really genuinely care for you, and take the trouble to know you by name, an incredibly friendly thing. Their advice was spot on for restaurants and day trips. Polite staff, jaw dropping terrace, we had breakfast everyday overlooking the Grand Canal, watching the world float by. Expensive, but good grief, its worth it. Thank you Matteo, Alex, Rosealba,Oliver and Thomas (who helped us with 2 extra pillows at 4am as my wife had heartburn!!!) One day we will return, and take the watertaxi to the front door rather than walk from the bus station!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hellothere_hi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#3 of 387 in Venice
2,002 reviews
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
San Marco
The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Canal Grande
#9 of 387 in Venice
2,186 reviews
San Marco
Locanda Orseolo
Locanda Orseolo
#2 of 387 in Venice
2,064 reviews
Hotel Antiche Figure
#8 of 387 in Venice
3,921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Al Ponte Antico Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Ponte Antico Hotel

Address: Calle dell'Aseo | Cannaregio 5768, 30131 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#4 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range: £211 - £327 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Al Ponte Antico Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Al Ponte Antico Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Ponte Antico Venice
Hotel Al Ponte Antico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing