We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding service and spectacular location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Al Ponte Antico Hotel
Ranked #1 of 387 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 May 2014

You will be hard pressed to find a more stunningly located hotel with staff who are the most attentive and welcoming we've ever found. It was an absolute joy to stay here and we can't recommend it enough - especially if it's a special occasion (in which case you must arrive by speed boat, which the hotel can arrange for you as it'll set you off on the right foot)! We stayed in a classic room which was perfectly nice in terms of decor and was very typically Venetian - the bathroom wasn't much to write home about in terms of size and decor but we didn't come to Venice to spend time in there so it really didn't matter a jot! Honestly this is the only place we'd stay or recommend if you're visiting Venice - just wonderful and the terrace overlooking the Rialto Bridge offers a millionaire's view for you to watch the world go by from and soak up the fabulous atmosphere of life on the Grand Canal. In a word - stunning!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Belinda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,358)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

532 - 538 of 1,358 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2014

Some friends told us we simply had to stay at the Al Ponte Antico Hotel when we went to Venice..They had stayed at other wonderful hotels (even the Cipriani) , but said nothing compared to their stay at Al Ponte Antico.
As always I booked our room many months ahead and asked for a canal view. However, we were both happily stunned when we walked in our room and actually saw the view.. It was right on the canal. Right there! We could watch the gondolas go by and see the faces of the gondoliers.... It was astounding.. We had 4 windows that faced the canal. We could see the Rialto bridge from our room. We had room 109. Magnificent. The room was large and comfortable and beautifully decorated in traditional Venetian style. While the shower was compact (typical for a Venice hotel I imagine), the bathroom was beautifully tiled, and had everything one needs and then some.. We had a patio right outside our room that was available to other guests (but hardly every used by anyone else) that was on water level. So wonderful. The owner Matteo has seen to every detail and is a impeccable, magnificent host. He often cooks breakfast and makes delicious omelets and crepes on request. The buffet is wonderful, with lots of choices and is beautifully laid out each morning. RoseAlba serves perfect cappuccino on the terrace and sees to your every need. Speaking of the terrace. It's almost hard to explain the feeling of sitting on the terrace sipping cappuccino in Venice watching the boats and gondolas go by or just looking at the Rialto bridge... It's kind of once in a life time experience.. a feeling that you will take with you throughout your life. Venice is kind of a magical, totally unique place.. and being able to experience it like that is something we will never forget. The entire staff was always friendly, warm, helpful, knowledgeable, professional and dignified in a very unique Venetian way. Venice can be kind of hectic and Al Ponte Antico was our calm oasis.. Walking into the hotel after a long day of sight seeing and having Oliver greet us and ask us about our day was so great. We highly recommend Al Ponte Antico for anyone going to Venice. Rick Steeves recommends it too. Thank you Matteo and everyone for our wonderful stay!

Room Tip: We had room 109. Perfection.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank InnerItalian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Let me start by saying you will not find friendlier, more attentive, and more personal service anywhere. Mateo and his staff were absolutely wonderful. The hotel is small, nine rooms in total, so there is a feel of intimacy. Within minutes of arrival you are on a first name basis with the staff. You have the feeling that the staff is looking for any opportunity to make your stay better. And then there is the location. Close to everything yet away from any noise. But nothing prepares you for the view from the terrace. Spectacular! My wife did not want to leave. The Rialto bridge to your left, the Rialto market across the canal, and a beautiful view of the canal to your right. Plan to spend a good deal of time here.

Our room was small but nicely appointed and fully functional. The breakfast buffet was very good, everything from cereal and fruit to made to order eggs. There is no restaurant on site but this is hardly a problem. the hotel will find you excellent dining nearby. They do have a bar and small lounge and are happy to serve you virtually 24 hours a day.

With the ambiance of a 16th century Palazzo, this is the perfect place to experience the magic of Venice. If you like intimate boutique hotels, you won't do better than this.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaxnomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

The other positive reviews are correct - this is a small and very friendly in a 500 year old palazzo on the edge of the Canale Grande, less than 5 minutes from the Rialto Bridge, and within 15 minutes walk of San Marco, the station and innumerable restaurants of every type and budget

The staff are the friendliest and most helpful I have ever met in a hotel, anywhere in Europe or N America. Always ready to help / advise / arrange, and very appreciative of my feeble attempts at Italian.

Breakfast is simple but good quality and good quantity - fruit, pastries, eggs if you want, proper coffee - and served on the terrace overlooking the Rialto and the Canale. The coffee machine is to do die for.

Yes, it's small and compact, and the rooms are odd shapes and sizes. but of you want a Holiday Inn style hotel, don't go to city centre Venice.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hugh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We stayed here for an entire week in April 2014. It is perfectly situated on the Grand Canal with a spectacular view of the Rialto Bridge from the terrace in one direction and a long stretch of the canal in the other. We enjoyed sitting out there for breakfast, drinking cappuccino and watching all the boat traffic. In the late afternoon, after a long day of wandering around Venice, it was so nice to relax with a glass of prosecco, write in our journals and again enjoy the view. With only 9 rooms in the entire hotel, there were only ever 2-4 other people on the terrace while we were there, and we were often alone. People on the passing boats took photos of us sitting out ton the terrace, and I imagine the main thought passing through their minds was "Damn, why didn't I stay there?"

Even though it is so close the Rialto Bridge, the hotel is discreetly tucked down a small blind alley, so it is quiet and isolated from the hordes of tourists who crowd the bridge area every day.
This 14th century palazzo is wonderfully restored inside. Among the other treasures is the original painted ceiling in the breakfast salon. Our room was the most interior room in the hotel. It had no view, but we did not mind at all. Except when we were actually sleeping, when we were at the hotel, we spent the majority of our time out on the terrace. There are four (I think) rooms with windows opening onto the Grand Canal, but they are understandably more expensive and, in any event, were not available when I booked (A quick word of advice: because it is so small, the hotel fills up quickly; book well in advance of your trip). We found the room to be spacious and comfortable, with a king sized bed (firm mattress), large armoire, writing desk, couch and coffee table. The bathroom was small and the shower would require bending down if your are over 5'10". But it was clean and adequate for our needs. Given the exigencies of fitting a bathroom in a 700 year old building, it was fine. Even though our room was over the entryway, it was quiet at night and we had no trouble sleeping, a benefit of the hotel being set back off the beaten path.

The proximity of the Rialto Bridge also has another benefit, in that it is where the Alilaguna waterbus from the airport stops. As most tour books will tell you, when picking a hotel in Venice, it is wise to pick one close to the boat stops, because hauling your luggage through the narrow streets and over the bridges is no picnic. This hotel is no more than a 5 minute walk from the boat stop and requires crossing only two small bridges.

My review would not be complete without giving the highest possible praise to the staff. The owner, Matteo, set the tone from the moment we arrived. He greeted us warmly by name, and gave us a tour of the hotel, explaining how he opened and restored it in 2007. He is obviously proud of his hotel, and for good reason. I am also amazed at his work ethic, for he was there at all hours, and I know that he owns several other hotels as well as this one. The entire staff at the hotel is multi-lingual -- I heard them speaking fluent English, French and German with the other guests. Every member of the staff greeted my wife and I by name every time they saw us, from the fellow manning the desk late at night to the lady serving us breakfast every morning. They were attentive to what we did and quickly learned our preferences. Most days, we asked for a restaurant recommendation, which always turned out to be excellent, and in each case, they called ahead and made reservations for us, and then sketched out our exact path to the restaurant to ensure that we would not become lost. Even if one were forced to stay in the prisons at the Doge's Palace, the staff of Al Ponte Antico could make that stay enjoyable - they are that good.

One last tidbit. When we went to the Accademia Gallery, we saw a 1496 painting by Vittore Carpaccio called "The Healing of a Madman". Painted from a vantage point on the other side of the Rialto Bridge, it clearly showed, right under the center span, the palazzo in which the Al Ponte Antico is located. It is not everyday that you sees a 500 year old picture of the hotel where you are staying. Just another one of the benefits of going to Venice.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gmbecker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights in April. We were greeted by Matteo and his team who made us feel very welcome. Al Ponte Antico is a small boutique hotel on the grand canal with probably the best view while at the same time having a quiet and relaxing feel. The palazzo dates from the 1500s and is very tastefully decorated with Murano glass chandeliers and Venetian furniture. We loved the terrace so much, it was so relaxing to just sit there and watch the world go by. Breakfast was amazing as well, Matteo would at times personally cook for the guests.
It felt like home away from home and missing it already.

We will definitely love to stay here again.

I recommend this hotel for couples without children as it is small to accommodate unhappy babies ;))

Room Tip: There are only 9 rooms. 109 is with canal view, we had 106 which overlooked the inner courtyard but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank beiruteater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

This hotel is just wonderful. Not only is it situated in the perfect location with a view to die for from the terrace, but the warmth of the welcome you receive makes it utterly perfect. Mateo and his team ensure that you have the experience of a lifetime from the moment of arrival until the second you check out. There is nothing at all to fault here and I recommend it whole-heartedly - just go, and leave the rest to Mateo, Oliver and the others. You will not regret it.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MaxineC57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#3 of 387 in Venice
1,998 reviews
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
San Marco
Locanda Orseolo
Locanda Orseolo
#2 of 387 in Venice
2,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Hotel Canal Grande
#8 of 387 in Venice
2,183 reviews
Hotel Antiche Figure
#7 of 387 in Venice
3,915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Al Ponte Antico Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Ponte Antico Hotel

Address: Calle dell'Aseo | Cannaregio 5768, 30131 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#4 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range: £210 - £359 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Al Ponte Antico Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Al Ponte Antico Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Ponte Antico Venice
Hotel Al Ponte Antico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing