We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Al Ponte Antico Hotel
Ranked #1 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 May 2014

From the very dapper and charming host Mateo and all of his staff to the wonderful view from the balcony, our visit to antico pontico was just as advised - wonderful.
Get lost on your way back from st marks knowing you have a gem of a hotel to return to.
A lovely hotel in a beautiful city.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank 123sunseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,337)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

508 - 514 of 1,337 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2014

We spent four nights at Al Ponte Antico Hotel during May 2014. We were very pleased with the quality of our room, enjoyed our time on the terrace and thought the breakfast was delicious. The owner, Mateo, was onsite for our visit and the staff was very polite and professional. Each staff member called us by name from the time we arrived until the time we left. The location is very convenient since it is a short walk to the Rialto Bridge and St. Marks.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Derrick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

After reading the great reviews of this hotel we booked 4 nights in May. Location is excellent. Our room was nice enough but the bathroom smelled SOUR and paint was peeling from the ceiling. Breakfast was adequate. If hospitality is defined by the staff remembering your name then it was OK. Hospitality lacking sincerity is how I would define it. We had an early AM departure and they offered to have coffee ready for us. As we departed they asked for 10 euros to cover the coffee charge. We left disillusioned with the offerings of this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank bigboy44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Spent a surprise long weekend here and it was all I could have hoped for and more. Our room was fantastic and the breakfast was superb. The staff couldn't do enough to help (but were never in our way) and we had everything you would want for a romantic break. The best thing about this hotel was the private balconies though, looking right onto the crowds on the Rialto Bridge from the peace of the balcony with a drink in hand...and even better, they don't let anyone not staying at the hotel in! The only other places with half as good a view were crowded and busy. We whiled away a few hours at night watching the world go by.
Will def go back to get away from it all again, one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in

Room Tip: We had the room that was right next to the biggest balcony which made it almost feel like ours :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mhairilogan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We stayed at this hotel this weekend just gone and had an amazing time. I had high expectations, and this hotel more than exceeded those expectations. The personal welcome upon arrival, the friendliness of the staff, the amazing surroundings and history of the building makes this hotel such a special place. We had a great room at the front of the hotel overlooking the Grand Canal and experienced two nights excellent sleeps. Drinks on the verandah is ideal for people watching and we received many an envious stare from the passing water buses. We were celebrating a special occasion on our visit and were greeted with a complimentary bottle of Prosecco, a nice and generous touch. I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough and cannot give higher praise to the owner and his carefully handpicked staff. We will return and hopefully quickly!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Happyholiday1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

My husband and I just got back from 2 weeks in Italy and 3 nights in Venice staying at the Al Ponte Antico hotel. Our stay at this charming hotel was by far the most memorable as we received such amazing personal attention and customer service from all of the staff and the owner Marcel.
The hotel is in a great location next to the Rialto bridge and is one of the few in the city to have a terrace. We received excellent restaurant recommendations and they were incredibly helpful with all of our needs and made us feel welcome from the moment we arrived.
We will definitely stay with them again the next time we visit Venice and I would highly recommend this hotel for anyone who wants a small luxury hotel experience in a great location with personal attention from a caring staff.
If you dream of being in Venice and sitting on the grand canal watching the boats go by while sipping a glass of red wine of cup of cappuccino..then this is the place for you! The sunsets from the terrace were breathtaking and memorable!.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emily C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Just back after a wonderful stay , we were lucky enough to have choose this hotel out of all the others on offer in Venice. The location was excellent, the hotel and staff also, would I stay again......... Oh YES :-)
Met on our arrival by the owner and waved goodbye on are last day, we were made to feel very special

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FamilyRobinsonNewby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#3 of 385 in Venice
1,960 reviews
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
San Marco
The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Locanda Orseolo
Locanda Orseolo
#2 of 385 in Venice
2,050 reviews
Hotel Antiche Figure
#9 of 385 in Venice
3,837 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Charming House DD724
Charming House DD724
#5 of 385 in Venice
813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Al Ponte Antico Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Ponte Antico Hotel

Address: Calle dell'Aseo | Cannaregio 5768, 30131 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#4 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#8 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range: £217 - £275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Al Ponte Antico Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Al Ponte Antico Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Ponte Antico Venice
Hotel Al Ponte Antico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing