We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing view of the Grand Canal”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Al Ponte Antico Hotel
Ranked #1 of 387 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 June 2014

My husband and I stayed at the hotel for 3 nights at the end of May. We were greeted with a very warm welcome and then taken up to the terrace for a drink whilst we waited for our room. We had booked the suite on the ground floor that has windows that open directly onto the Grand Canal. The view was superb and probably one of the best in Venice. The room was very large and had a lovely lounge area where you can watch people go by on the gondolas and boats along the Grand Canal. We had breakfast every morning on the terrace and Matteo cooked amazing crepes and omelettes.
Apart from the amazing view and location of the hotel, the thing that sets this hotel apart from the rest is the service. Nothing was too much trouble and Matteo, Alex, David recommended many good restaurants and also gave us very good directions to places that we were going to visit.
This is an amazing place to stay with fantastic service.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nrushton006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,358)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

519 - 525 of 1,358 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2014

The other would be Mateo's other property Locanda Orseola. This family owns two properties in Venice and we won't stay anywhere else. The owner is the kindest, most service-focused property owner we have met and all of his staff are hand selected for their service attitudes. The Al Ponte Antico is perfectly located, just north of the Rialto bridge, and has the perfect patio overlooking the Grande Canal. The rooms are luxurious and the breakfast is tremendous but the personal service (they staff always greet the guests by name) sets this hotel apart. Trust the reviews - don't stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank augsbut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

I highly recommend this hotel. It is well-located, with views of the Rialto Bridge (if you pick the right room). We stayed on the ground floor overlooking the Grand Canal, and these are by far the largest and best two rooms in the hotel. The staff are extremely welcoming and treat guests with amazing respect. No staff member remained seated if we spoke to them at reception, they would always stand. Breakfast was always exceptional out on the beautiful terrace as you watch the world go by. The terrace was also a great place for a drink late (very late) at night. The hotel caters for arrivals in the wee hours of the morning as well with a welcoming drink on the terrace and dinner if required.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1800hammer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We stayed 3 nights in late May 2014. The greeting we received from Matteo Peruch, owner of the hotel, was fantastic and set the tone for our visit. His staff was helpful in every way and made our short stay in Venice a very memorable one. Breakfast on the terrace, cooked by Matteo, was a highlight...good food and an unsurpassed perspective on the Grand Canal and Rialto bridge. Thank you Matteo, Oliver, Rosalba, and David for a great time.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dennis K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Everything that everyone wrote about the Al Ponte Antico Hotel is true! From the moment I made the reservation to the moment we left, everything was utterly magical. I stayed with my two daughters in a triple luxury room with a canal view to die for! Venice is a fascinating city, full of culture, character and romance. This 500 years old palace adds with its charm and grace, to the whole atmospheric ambiance of the city. The hotel can also be spotted just under the centre span of Vittore Carpaccio's 1496 painting "The Healing of a Madman" and you don't see every day a 500 years old painting of the palace you are staying in!! As I don't want to repeat everything that has already been said, I shall just say that the Al Ponte Antico palace exceeded our expectations! A very big thank you the charming owner, Matteo and to all the staff, who went out of their way to make us feel like royalties! We shall definitely return in the near future!

Room Tip: Our triple luxury room was very spacious and the view was breathtaking! There only 9 rooms in the pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rigaina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Perfect location, great views of the grand canal & ponte rialto, attentive and personalized service. We were very happy with our 4 day stay here. According to the owner, Matteo, the hotel is a converted 16th century palazzo and the décor is period appropriate. Beautiful Murano glass chandeliers, high ceilings, carvings, tiles, the works. Great buffet breakfast with eggs and crepes cooked to order.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rodney H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

From the very dapper and charming host Mateo and all of his staff to the wonderful view from the balcony, our visit to antico pontico was just as advised - wonderful.
Get lost on your way back from st marks knowing you have a gem of a hotel to return to.
A lovely hotel in a beautiful city.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank 123sunseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#2 of 387 in Venice
1,998 reviews
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
San Marco
Locanda Orseolo
Locanda Orseolo
#3 of 387 in Venice
2,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Hotel Canal Grande
#9 of 387 in Venice
2,183 reviews
Hotel Antiche Figure
#8 of 387 in Venice
3,915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Al Ponte Antico Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Ponte Antico Hotel

Address: Calle dell'Aseo | Cannaregio 5768, 30131 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#4 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range: £209 - £359 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Al Ponte Antico Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Al Ponte Antico Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Ponte Antico Venice
Hotel Al Ponte Antico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing