We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Al Ponte Antico Hotel
Ranked #1 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely!”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We stayed at the Al Ponte Antico hotel for 2 nights in April 2014. This a a very small hotel with under 10 rooms. Very intimate and personal. Its like staying at a friends house for the weekend but with all the luxuries of a hotel. we had a double room adjacent to main eating area and it was quiet and lovely. Breakfast is included and its lovely to sit on the balcony and look over the grand canal as you sip your coffee and eat a freshly cooked breakfast made by the owner...Matteo. The staff makes you feel at home here and a special thank you to Rosalba who looked after us every morning. Look...Venice is expensive ..so its not a budget stay...but you will not be disappointed if you choose this hotel...unless of course you prefer larger hotels with bars and restaurants. We felt that it was perfect. Who needs a restaurant in house when you step out on to the cobbled streets of Venice and there is an array of good places to eat all day long. We booked the Classic double room with no view of canal ...it was fine as the breakfast balcony was perfect for canal viewing! The decor is beautiful and the atmosphere is just perfect for your stay. Would we return...most definately.... YES!

Room Tip: Only 7 or 9 rooms - they are all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lavitabella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,274 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,161
    77
    20
    9
    7
See reviews for
187
928
12
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Venice, Italy
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Extraordinary in every regard: rooms, location and especially the staff. I could write a long review on how great this place is but many others have already done that. I'll just say that that I would happily return to Venice if for no other reason than to stay here!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hugh U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bakersfield, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

This was our second visit to the Al Ponte Antico hotel in Venice. Everything was perfect with our recent stay just like the previous trip. Top service from a great staff and family who truly care about their guests. There is nothing better than a made to order breakfast on their balcony overlooking the grand canal, just sitting and watching the boats drive by. I could sit there all day.
The food is fabulous, the rooms beautiful old Venetian charm, and the best location available. What else could anyone ask for?.
Matteo you have it all figured out, and know how to welcome a guest and keep them coming back. Thank you for a wonderful stay, love your staff as always ! Until our next trip to Italy.......

Room Tip: I love the room that overlooks the balcony, big room, great bed and with a view of grand canal. I mu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank labornurse_rn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Firstly we have to say Hi and and a big Grazei to Matteo and the amazing staff at Al Ponte Antico who made our stay with them very special for us and our friends as they do with all their guests. We stayed for 4 nights in this boutique hotel where everything was thought of by the staff to make our stay perfect.
Great location, typical Venetian and spacious rooms with comfortable bed and beautiful quality linnen. The shower in the bathroom was very low and hard for my husband to fit under but hey, it's Venice and the rest of the bathroom was ample room.
Great breakfast buffet on the terrace overlooking the Grand Canal with a view of Rialto Bridge.
We would go back to Venice just to stay here again.

Room Tip: All the rooms a good as there are only 9 rooms and each has it's own special quality. Arrive by...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank weTrave1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oswestry
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Arrived at the hotel to be greeted by Alex - manager in most exceptionally professional, fiendly and nice manner and introiduced to owner.
Told we had been updraded to a suite and asked if we would like to see the terrace area whilst our bags were put into our room.
Terrace overlooking Grand Canal by the Rialto bridge - Stunning. Room with priivate terrace - Stunning. Decor, Stunning. Breakfast area - stunning. Service - Stunning.
Nothing was too much trouble.
Basically one of the best small personal hotels I have ever stayed in in Europe.

Room Tip: Suite 09 is superb,
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simon m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seoul, Seoul, South Korea
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

You may reach Al Ponte Antico by a water taxi or gondola and step onto its private dock where the attentive staff is awaiting you. This boutique hotel is a real gem. It is decorated with good taste period pieces of furniture and has a magnificent view over the canal where the Ponte Vecchia is situated. The staff under the direction of friendly Matteo is always there to help you on the whereabouts of Venice and to explain the history of the hotel. It is conveniently situated at two minutes walk from the Ponte Vecchia and fifteen minutes from the Piazza San Marco. The breakfast or the afternoon happy hour can be enjoyed at the bar of the hotel that features a 19 century coffee machine (pride of the owner) or at the adjacent terrace, overlooking the canal. To watch the bridge and the boats passing underneath is a soothing view that makes you feel really a part of Venice. You can also go back to the airport by water taxi which the hotel can book for you beforehand. It is really a true finding of a hotel that allows you to enjoy Venice twice as much.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edmundo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Probably one of the loveliest boutique hotel I've stayed in, simply gorgeous and packed with character. Matteo and his team are genuine, courteous, charming and of course warm and welcoming. The view from our room, the terrace.. made our brief sojourn in venice one to remember. The etro toiletries.. Very cool. If you have class then you'll enjoy this beautiful place.
I miss it already.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ollielola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#2 of 385 in Venice
1,886 reviews
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
San Marco
The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
NH Collection Venezia Palazzo Barocci
Hotel Antiche Figure
#11 of 385 in Venice
3,638 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Charming House DD724
Charming House DD724
#4 of 385 in Venice
766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Al Ponte Antico Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Ponte Antico Hotel

Property: Al Ponte Antico Hotel
Address: Calle dell'Aseo | Cannaregio 5768, 30131 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#4 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#8 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Al Ponte Antico Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Al Ponte Antico Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Ponte Antico Venice
Hotel Al Ponte Antico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing