We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lifestyles of the Rich and Famous”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Al Ponte Antico Hotel
Ranked #1 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We arrived by water taxi to be greeted personally, by name, by the owner and every moment of the next three days were made to feel that our every convenience was their highest priority. This boutique hotel has only nine guest rooms so often you have the balcony to yourself to simply enjoy time watching Venice float by and have your picture taken by visitors passing by on the Grand Canal.

We stayed in room 108 with a large window that opened directly on the Grand Canal and our only regret is that we did not book a longer stay. The bar has been raised to an impossibly high level for all other hotels that will never be able to measure up to the standard of the Al Ponte Antico.

Thank you to Mateo and staff for a memory that will last a lifetime.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Robin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,341)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

477 - 483 of 1,341 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

From the moment we were greeted upon our arrival via water taxi we knew we were at a very special place. The service, rooms and food are the very best.

Our stay here was one of the highlights of our entire trip.

We would highly recommend a stay in this wonderful hotel.

Simply said... It was outstanding!

Stayed: August 2014
2  Thank C R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Incredible place to stay. From the location with breathtaking views of the Rialto Bridge to Matteo and his amazing staff - Oliver, Tomas, Rosabella and Alex - this was the perfect choice. Matteo cooks breakfast every morning in addition to the juices, fruits and pastries that are available. The cappucino is the best I've ever had - I had 3 cups at breakfast. Matteo lovingly describes his renovations of the property and his passion shows through in everything. The terrace over the Grand Canal is a wonderful place day or night for taking in the atmosphere or chatting with fellow guests. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Shari U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

If you are looking for charm, impeccable personalized service, and a spectacular view of the Grand Canal & the Rialto bridge look no further! Al Ponte Antico is a small luxury boutique hotel hidden in the back streets of Venice away from the teeming crowds with an unparalleled view out over the Rialto bridge. We were warmly welcomed by Matteo, the extraordinary owner of this lovely hotel, and for the next few days of our stay we felt as if we were special private guests in his historic palazzo! He made us delicious made-to-order breakfasts sitting on the stunning outdoor terrace watching the vaporettos and gondolas pass by. He and his able staff, including Alex and Oliver, were always available to help us with activities, dining reservations, and insider tips to navigate Venice in the most helpful and personable way. We stayed in the junior suite on the first floor with our two teenage daughters. It was a spacious and beautifully decorated suite with French doors that literally opened up onto the grand canal a few feet away! Everything about our visit was memorable and perfect! We would return in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: The junior suite at canal level is beautifully decorated and spacious and has large windows that ope...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank skw9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Positioned perfectly to capture the Rialto Bridge and Grand Canal, Matteo & his passionate staff ensured we wanted for nothing, cooked our breakfast & met our every need. With only 9 rooms, the 12th century palace has been lovingly restored to its romantic best. Our spacious room faced the canal with the best vantage point to view the busy waterway, with a spectacular terrace for coffee, breakfast or your cocktail of desire. A truly unforgettable stay, a must for loved up couples wanting an authentic Venetian experience! Cannot recommend highly enough, we will return!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

I took my son on a trip to Italy for his graduation. The Ponte was one of the hotels we stayed in during our whirlwind trip throughout Europe and was by far the best. Matteo is a master entrepreneur and clearly leads from the front in his property. The humble owner of the hotel takes your luggage to the room? Where else does that happen? Matteo pays close attention to every detail of his establishment and it shows. Alex, one of his staff, is also a gem of a person. His patient, warm style will help sort out any question…from restaurants to directions to history. This place not only is a gem with regard to the service and staff, but the location can not be beat. If you're looking for one of the best hotel experiences of your life, the Al Ponte Antico is it.

Room Tip: The room we stayed in had no view, only of a brick wall. But the terrace and location of the hotel m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Corey F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Did I mention that this beautiful property is on the grand canal? Enjoy your breakfast on the terrace while overlooking the traffic as it goes by on the grand canal. This hotel is centrally located in Venice, and is an easy walk or ride to get to everything. We stayed with three of our children in July of this year, along with my brother and his wife- a mini reunion, and the stay was nothing short of magical. I would totally do it again! the staff is tremendous, the rooms are beautifully done, and it was a great time to be had.

This building was built in the 1400's. Think about that for a minute- it's over 600 years old. If you're into old but very beautiful, this will fit the bill nicely. It is also a smaller hotel, so the service is extremely personalized, and the staff went out of their way consistently to ensure that our entire trip was fantastic. From suggestions of places to eat, and things to do, they made sure we had a great time.

Two enthusiastic thumbs up.

Room Tip: Choose a hotel facing the grand canal, and you won't be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Haley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#2 of 385 in Venice
1,963 reviews
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
San Marco
Locanda Orseolo
Locanda Orseolo
#3 of 385 in Venice
2,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Hotel Antiche Figure
#8 of 385 in Venice
3,847 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Charming House DD724
Charming House DD724
#5 of 385 in Venice
816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Al Ponte Antico Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Ponte Antico Hotel

Address: Calle dell'Aseo | Cannaregio 5768, 30131 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#4 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#8 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range: £215 - £378 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Al Ponte Antico Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Al Ponte Antico Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Ponte Antico Venice
Hotel Al Ponte Antico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing