We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Felt like home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Al Ponte Antico Hotel
Ranked #1 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Felt like home”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Great place, very intimate and great service. The owner of the hotel welcomed us in and carried our luggage to our room! was so nice and polite plus his english was flawless so it was very easy to communicate with him and the rest of the staff. The breakfast was our favorite part, the owner again made eggs and crepes for us. The room was quiet and the bed- besides being a bit hard- was surprisingly comfortable! Also they welcomed us with a nice bottle of prosecco. We definitely recommend this place, they made us feel like home!
Check diadreamer.com for more detail review of the Venice experience

Room Tip: Hotel with balcony facing grand canal Ask for upgrade or lower level rooms, upstair rooms are next...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,240 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,129
    76
    19
    9
    7
See reviews for
182
904
11
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

Booked Italian trip with Planet Rail. Arrived in Venice by train from Milan. Collected by water taxi from station and taken to the really beautiful hotel Al Ponte Antico that overlooks the Rialto bridge. We were met by Alex the hotel manager at the canal side and from the start were really made to feel welcome. The hotel is a lovely old palace with only 9 rooms so you get the personal first name experience. After checking in we had some superb red wine on the terrace which is on the bend on the Grand Canal just before the Rialto. This view is magical and so rare in Venice. We later met Matteo the owner who was equally as friendly. David and Oliver on the desk were really helpful suggesting and booking restaurants if needed. The breakfast buffet with eggs cooked by Matteo was perfect on the Terrace. The hotel location is ideal allowing access to all areas quickly. We have stayed in Venice several times before but this hotel was by far the best. On our first evening listened to a Vivaldi Four Seasons concert at Ateneo Di San Basso, a church in St Marks Square, it was fantastic.
Mark & Barbara

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Tristate99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Our second visit to Al Ponte Antico within a year. We came at the end of 2013 and were so impressed I did my first ever Tripadvisor review (Dec 12013). This time we brought our four teenage-student age sons, and in fact created our whole summer holiday around the chance to revisit this perfect gem. They were equally impressed, not just with the ideal location and views but more than anything with the exceptional staff. Thank you Matteo and your team for another wonderful stay in Venice.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

The owner, Matteo is charming, passionate, and serious about his role as the owner of the hotel. He greeted us at reception very fondly and gave us a proud tour of his hotel, talking about its history, renovation and current success.

Our room was at the back with three windows which didn't let in much light because of the high surrounding buildings but the spacious room was lavishly decorated in old Venetian style. It was the last leg of our Italian honeymoon, and Matteo had provided bottle of bubbly on ice and rose petals in our room and then proceeded to thank us for choosing his hotel. It was very touching and completely unexpected. We instantly drank it on the terrace overlooking the Rialto Bridge. A stunning view.

Matteo and his staff refer to you by name throughout your stay which makes you easily forget that other guests are at the hotel. They are keen to reiterate that no request is too small and that our happy stay is nothing short of their life mission.

For breakfast, the spread is beautiful and Matteo dons a new, immaculate uniform to become egg station chef (made-to-order). The coffee machine looks unlike any other and the espresso was perfect.

We left the hotel feeling that no service will ever be as good as this again and that we will most likely be disappointed with wherever we travel next. Matteo said to come back in wintertime as it is much more romantic than sweltering August.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Andy-Danuta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
142 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

I chose this hotel based on reviews and I was not dissapointed in any of the following ways: we reached the hotel by water taxi from the port which in itself was an experience and the personalized greeting was greatly appreciated. The staff was exceptionally friendly and knowledgeable. The owner's personal commitment demonstrated by his presence and his participation in the exceptional breakfast experience while sitting on the terrace overlooking the Rialto bridge was also impressive.

However, a few things that I think are relevant to future travellers are the following:
You need to ask for a view to have a room with any natural light. While the room was comfortable and sufficiently spacious by Venetian standards I did not enjoy not having any natural light in my room. Also, with only nine rooms it is more comparable to a luxury B&B with incredible front desk service than a hotel. Finally, although the directions to restaurant recommendations were excellent--and venice directions are not always easy to follow, we did not prefer the two restaurants recommended. The food was excellent at both but relatively speaking they both seemed expensive. I do reccomend trying restaurants off the beaten path where the menu is at most translated into English (multiple langauages suggests many tourists)----you can enjoy true venetien cuisine at a fraction of the cost if you are willing to explore a little. The location of the hotel is excellent because of the view and the ease to loacte it regardless of time of day. We had to leave extra early (@5am) and we were provided with access to coffee and pastries even though breakfast was not served until 7am. This was very much appreciated.

NB Transportation--the water taxi from the port to the door of the hotel is 80 euros and an early morning return to the airport is 120 Euros. I can't imagine accessing the hotel with luggage any other way. Also Venice is crazy busy and when you add humdity can be overwhelming at times. If you have the privilege of staying overnight try to explore the tourist spots during the early hours of the morning and then consider an afternoon walk to the gardens which are beautiful and quiet.

Room Tip: Ask for view or you will have no natural sunlight
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deanna12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

What a delighful stay! Matteo has lovingly restored this beautiful palazzo and he and his friendly staff could not have been more attentive and helpful. The view of the Grand Canal and the Rialto from our room and the terrace/bar was unforgettable. We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: our suite overlooked the Grand Canal at water level
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

The charming hotel was perfection for our first visit to Venice! There are so many quality aspects to this hotel experience. If you desire a hotel with a friendly and knowledgeable staff - Al Ponte Antico's staff will exceed your expectations. From the moment we stepped off the boat, we were greeted with the warmest and biggest smiles. They had so much to share about Venice, and every recommendation they made for restaurants, sites, and services - spot on! While I could go on and on about Matteo and his team, I would like to underscore another aspect about the hotel that is unique and made our stay magical. The location of the hotel is such that it overlooks the Grand Canal and the Rialto Bridge...a quaint terrace/balcony for all guests' enjoyment looks out on this quintessential Venice vista. I found myself on the balcony as often as possible when not out exploring Venice...sipping coffee at breakfast or wine at sunset...taking in the Venetian sights and sounds...people, boats, everything. Magical.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samantha E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#2 of 384 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,836 reviews
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
Hotel Antiche Figure
#10 of 384 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
NH Collection Venezia Palazzo Barocci
Hotel Canal Grande
#11 of 384 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,953 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Charming House DD724
Charming House DD724
#3 of 384 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Al Ponte Antico Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Ponte Antico Hotel

Property: Al Ponte Antico Hotel
Address: Calle dell'Aseo | Cannaregio 5768, 30131 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#4 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#8 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Al Ponte Antico Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Al Ponte Antico Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Ponte Antico Venice
Hotel Al Ponte Antico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing