We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nobody does it better!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Al Ponte Antico Hotel
Ranked #1 of 387 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 May 2009

There isn't much I can add to previous reviews except to say that they are all true. The service was the best we have ever experienced, location perfect, restaurant recommendations great and sitting on the Terrace with a Spritz whilst watching the activity on the canal was one of the highlights of the trip!

Thanks Matteo and team.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank wendyboston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,360)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,069 - 1,075 of 1,360 reviews

Reviewed 14 May 2009

Well, what can i say??

This hotel was fabulous.
I have never written a review before, but this hotel deserves it.
We had a deluxe room overlooking the river, which was large, clean and beautiful.
The wonderful terrace was the highlight of our whole trip.
The location is superb.
Matteo and his staff are a delight.
We will return.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank LandDEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2009

My wife and I spent three nights at the Al Ponte Antico during a recent visit to Venice and are thrilled to recommend it.

The Al Ponte Antico is a small, nine-room hotel in what the owner Matteo calls an “old palace” with a remarkable view of the Grand Canal and the Rialto Bridge. While our guest room (No. 6) was smaller than we would have preferred (it IS Venice, after all) it was well-appointed and decorated in the Italian style you’ll see when you visit The Doges Palace on the Piazza San Marco.

Everything else about our stay was absolutely perfect!

Matteo greeted us when we checked in, showed us to our room personally, and had a chilled bottle of sparking wine waiting in the room as a “welcome gift.” Virtually every member of his staff greeted us by name each time they saw us, making us feel more like we were staying in someone’s elegant home rather than in a hotel.

Breakfast is included, with a generous buffet of meats, cheeses, and fruit. Eggs and breakfast meats are also offered, and Matteo mans the omelet station for those who prefer. You can dine indoors or on the patio overlooking the Grand Canal if the weather is cooperating. As there are only nine rooms and breakfast is available over several hours, we had the dining area/lobby to ourselves most mornings.

In the late afternoon and into the evening, Matteo and his staff serve drinks (you must try a traditional Italian spritz) and snacks along with cordial conversation and advice on where to dine. It’s a great opportunity to get to know your fellow guests and perhaps forge new friendships.

While it was our first trip to Venice, it will not be our last. And it will likely not be the last time we enjoy the hospitality of Matteo and the rest of the staff at the Al Ponte Antico.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank TheTravelPro_us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2009

This is my first review on Trip Advisor. No wonder this hotel is rated number 1 in Venice. It is a beautifully renovated 14th Century Palace , converted into a 9 room hotel. It is right on the grand Canal and there are amazing views from its lovely terrace.
It is centrally located, you can see the Rialto Bridge from the hotel terrace and its a 10 minute walk to San Marks Square. It has its own mooring for arrival by water taxi from the airport, a great and convenient way to arrive and depart.

But what makes this hotel special is its customer service. Its staff led by Matteo treat you like long lost friends. There is none of this false friendliness you see in other hotels. This is sincere and is some of the best customer service I have experienced in any hotel around the World.

It all starts with Matteo. A charming and affable and multi lingual owner and host. Great company as you have a glass of Prosecco on the terrace. And by the way his Omelets are the best i have tasted.

Only minor quibble is that room 2 was slightly noisy with noise coming from outside of the hotel early and latish, but I am a light sleeper. But this is minor when is considered with the total experience of 2 night stay.

Finally if you fancy a special meal book a table at Osteria San marino nearby. Great food and the Tiramisu is excellent

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank EAS111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2009

It is my first review on Tripadvisor, I’m not used to record my opinions on internet but we (me and my partner) were so well impressed about this hotel so I felt the need to write a positive appraisal about it.
We visit quite often Italy especially the Veneto region for business reasons; when we have few time we go in Venice which is the place of our heart. At the beginning of May ’09 we booked a room at this hotel which was recommended by one of our friends for the last night of our 4 days stay ; this was because other hotels where we used to stay were not available for that night and it proved to be our luck.
There are a lot of good reviews on this site about Al Ponte Antico so it’s useless to write again the same things. As people who know what does it means the accommodation and various experience in Venice we can only confirm all the positive opinions here and guarantee that the real experience in this hotel could be more than is written.
We thanks to Matteo and his staff for our beautiful experience at Ponte Antico and wish them good luck and success to continue the action they started few years ago.
Matteo, you have to know that we managed to feel in love again on your terrace, in the evening lights, the boats on Grand Canale, the shadow of Ponte Rialto, that gentle music, two elegant glasses of wine...
thanks!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Val_tina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2009

Becca and I have to agree with the rest. Matteo Peruch and his amazing staff deliver the finest service we have experienced, and do so as friends. They are helpful, witty and amusing, and multi-lingual – with even some Cumbrian spoken now.

Rooms, breakfast, décor, etc. all of the highest order, but the highlight is sipping Prosecco or Matteo’s wonderful Spritzers on the first floor terrace. Look one way to see all the fascinating water traffic of the Grand Canal, the other to the Rialto Bridge – within a few metres. The scene is constantly changing, and from breakfast, to afternoon coffee, to pre and après dinner drinks the entertainment of Venice’s main waterway is laid out before you.

Not for bargain hunters or the financially faint hearted, but if you can do it then you must. We will be back.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JohnandBeccaCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2009

Virtually every previous review more or less says it all, but wouldnt want to miss the opportunity to add a few words. Great location, fantastic view of the Canal from our junior suite, delightful and varied breakfasts..... but the staff!!! The most welcoming, pleasant, charming hotel staff I have ever come across, anywhere in the world. From the moment we arrived we were treated like long lost friends. Within about 10 minutes the staff all new our names and introduced them-selves to us in a most engaging way. Matteo, as owner and very visible manager, effused charm and knowledge of his adopted city. It could have been sickly and over-done, yet it never was. A minor issue on the room was that there was a fairly thin wall at the rear to an adjoining room, but some noise from children who were occupying it was quickly dealt with by Oliver on reception. This isnt a cheap hotel, but worth it if you want to be treated like Royalty. And three tips......firstly take Matteo's advice on restaurants, secondly, if you see one church, go to the Frari , not St. Marks, and third: take a private water taxi from the airport to the hotel...its 95 euros but absolutely the best way to get to the hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RM3110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#3 of 387 in Venice
2,002 reviews
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
San Marco
The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Canal Grande
#9 of 387 in Venice
2,186 reviews
San Marco
Locanda Orseolo
Locanda Orseolo
#2 of 387 in Venice
2,064 reviews
Hotel Antiche Figure
#8 of 387 in Venice
3,921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Al Ponte Antico Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Ponte Antico Hotel

Address: Calle dell'Aseo | Cannaregio 5768, 30131 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#4 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range: £211 - £327 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Al Ponte Antico Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Al Ponte Antico Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Ponte Antico Venice
Hotel Al Ponte Antico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing