We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visiting Venice? You must stay here!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Al Ponte Antico Hotel
Ranked #1 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Zagreb
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Visiting Venice? You must stay here!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2009

Always use trip advisor to book but have never been inspired to write a review before!
Stayed Fr and Sat in August.
Amazing place, mainly due to fabulous 1)location, 2)rooms 3)staff.
Location on Grand Canal nr Rialto Bridge is perfect. In busy time about 10 mins walk to St Mark's Square and easliy accessible by water taxi or by Vaperetto to Rialto and then 2 mins walk. View from upper terrace where you have breakfast/drinks is amazing and totally unique.
Our room was perfect, booked Deluxe with Grand Canal view - was to die for and views amazing, even more the lower shared tearrace was right outside our room meaning you could climb out window to access....and even though is a shared terrace we were only guests to use it for entire weekend and sat outside room reading/drinking on the Grand Canal with many people on passing boats enviously poiting and even taking pics!
Staff were super. Matteo went out of his way to make excellent recommendations and delicious breakfasts - cold and hot buffet and eggs and pancakes to order. Oliver also delightful and very flattering/charming ...the perfect gent for any lady to see before a night out as would always comment charmingly about looking elegant or other similarly charming things! ...all staff super helpful and keen to address on first name terms. I came back and went straight on there web page to book again in October - only to be disappointed that they are already fully booked! So if you're visiting Venice book here and don't miss out.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HLees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,227 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,116
    76
    19
    9
    7
See reviews for
182
893
11
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2009

My mom and I stayed at Al Ponte Antico for 2 nights this May and absolutely loved it. The hotel is beautiful with a wonderful bar and a terrace area overlooking the Grand Canal, but what we enjoyed most were the people. Matteo, the owner, and the rest of the staff were amazing. Everyone was so warm and helpful. We received very good restaurant recommendations for dinner, and in the mornings a lovely breakfast was provided courtesy of Matteo. Although I was there with my mom, and therefore not looking for romance, it would also be a great choice for a couple. Our stay at Al Ponte Antico was one of the most memorable parts of our visit to Venice. I highly recommend it if you're looking for a beautiful, small hotel with a staff that will do their best to welcome you to Venice and provide you with helpful tips and recommendations!

  • Stayed May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pandora427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
united kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2009

Myself and my partner (were in our mid 20’s) stayed here for two nights in February 2009. The hotel was easy to find and we were greeted warmly by staff. The hotel has lots of character which added to the charm of our Venice trip. The hotel was clean, the room was good and the breakfast in the morning is amazing! Try the traditional tiramisu! We did not book a canal view but we had our breakfast on the terrace each morning.

We cannot fault our stay here. We had an amazing time in Venice.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank holidays2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2009

You can't really describe how wonderful this beautiful boutique hotel is. It was our honeymoon and from the moment my wife and I arrived we were greeted with genuine sincerity and warmth by Oliver, one of the hotel's many brilliant staff. Matteo, the manager, has trained all his staff to greet their guests by first names and they really went out of their way to ensure our stay was excellent. Matteo himself cooks the amazing breakfasts in a beautifully elegant dining room that leads out to a terrace, which are quite rare in Venice. The view is outstanding - on the centre of the Grande Canal, you overlook the Realto Bridge and can savour some gorgeous sunsets. The rooms are decorated in classical Venetian style and are kept immaculately. The hotel location is less than 5 minutes from San Marco square and in what feels like one of the most prestigious parts of the city. In addition, the staff at Al Ponte Antico all know some really great gastronomic finds that are neatly away from the bustling crowds.
Having stayed in hotels across the world I can honestly say I've never in my life experienced hospitality like this. It really was the finest example of a hotelier taking the utmost pride in what he does. I would thoroughly recommend staying at this hotel, but book ahead - it's no suprise this place is booked up well in advance!
We wish Matteo and his staff the very best success and look forward to his new ventures!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PureVodka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camberwell, Melbourne
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2009

Al Ponte Antico is unlike other hotels we've stayed in. Its not a hotel in the traditional sense, more like a bed and breakfast establishment. Its small, dark and a bit of a rabbit warren with a dungeon like feel. We had 2 rooms, junior suite and standard. The bathrooms were disappointingly cramped with low ceilings, small showers, no bath in the junior suite. Towels were thin and could be a bit grubby. There were plastic cups. Some of the lights weren't functioning. They had the feeling of cabin bathrooms in a caravan park. Most disappointing.
The junior suite was large with some nice antiques. The beds were hard and pillows lumpy. I had to ask for another pillow which I received. The suite room opened onto the grand canal which is their main thoroughfare, therefore noisy, busy and smelly. Result couldn't open window. Same for the standard room which was almost internal. This room was so dark the lights had to be on all day and window couldn't be opened due to hideous smell like sewer/drains in the lane. Not the hotels fault of course. Both rooms were dark and depressing, despite ours being large there was still a claustrophobic feel. It was impossible to use the rooms for reading, relaxation or respite as too dark and depressing.
The common areas consist of a bar/breakfast room which is not airconditioned and a terrace over the canal. Both of these areas were so hot (we went in July) that it was uncomfortable. We were immediately sweating. I understand however that this is Venice in July. I would have thought a 4 star hotel would have aircon in common areas though. Please note this room is nicely furnished and has a desk with computer access. In summary there was nowhere to relax and get out of the heat and the crowds of venice as common areas too hot and bedrooms too depressing. Note also that at this time of year Venice is very hot and overcrowded that it can be an unpleasant experience. Not the hotels fault also. The hotel just happens to be located in the busiest area.
Despite this we still managed to have late afternoon drinks in the bar or on the terrace. The wine was good, there were no nibbles served except for soggy chips. Their restaurant recommendations were quite good, although we all got sick in the stomach.
Staff. Other trip advisors are more positive. We felt invaded. Yes they are super friendly and know your names which they use all the time and yes you get the spiel about grandmothers eggs and lectures on lots of other subjects. Its all rehearsed, like they've memorised a script. You hear them saying the same things to everyone. You couldn't leave your room without someone talking at you. It was quite creepy and invasive. Perhaps this type of intimacy suits some travellers but we prefer restrained contact and a little more anonimity.
We needed to leave a day early and despite giving 2 days notice we were charged for the 2 rooms in full. Staff said instead of deducting from the bill this time that we could have a credit when we came again. If we were getting a nights credit why not just deduct it when we were there? Very odd!!
Note there is no room service to speak of.
To put this report in perspective please note we are well travelled and hotels we stayed in for this year's trip were San Regis Paris, Egerton House in London, Rome Cavillieri, Sacher Wien in Vienna and Villa Carlotta in Taormina. These are all 4 or 5 star hotels and live up to it. Al Ponte Antico's 4 star rating is in our opinion questionable. It is certaintly too expensive for what it offers.
All in all it is a wierd place and certainly not for us again, even though we do have a supposed credit.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank LeanneWhitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Desert, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2009

We wound up a 4 week trip with our best friends to Italy, Spain, the Balearics, and France by staying at Al Ponte Antico Hotel in Venice. Molly and I had met Matteo and Barbara, the owners, when we stayed for the first time about 6 years ago at their Locanda Orseolo Hotel (also very highly recommended) near St. Marks square, and had visited the Al Ponte Antico hotel just a few months after they had purchased it so no renovations had yet begun.

Well, the renovations have been completed and are just stunning. The small, 9 room hotel has been completely refurbished in traditional Venetian style and it's just beautiful. The location is breathtaking, being on the Grand Canal about 200 meters from the Rialto Bridge. We never got tired of sitting on the second floor hotel patio in the morning watching all the delivery boats making their rounds, or in the afternoon watching the day trippers stream out of the city, and the gondolas making their evening rounds.

The rooms are large and spacious and several have views of the Grand Canal.

Matteo's breakfast omlettes and food selections are marvelous, and the full bar makes for a great cocktail hour watching the busy traffic on the Grand Canal.

The staff reflects Matteo's philosophy of superb, friendly and efficient service and is just a delight.

And being a native Venetian, Matteo is an encyclopedia of little visited sights in the city and wonderful, intimate restaurants easily within walking distance of the hotel. He is also passionate about his city, and it's impossible not to get caught up in his enthusiasm for this unique and fascinating city.

This not the least expensive hotel in Venice, but the facility, the staff, and location are well worth the cost - one of those incredible experiences everyone should treat themselves to now and then.

Curt & Molly Maloy
Palm Desert, California

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PalmDesertTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2009

Venice was the first stop on our 2-week Italian holiday and was the ideal way to kick it off.

The feel is much more intimate than any of the other hotels where we stayed - the pride the whole staff takes in the hotel is clear. Matteo, Armando, Oliviero, Rosalba, and the rest of the team are the most gracious of hosts.

The location is fantastic - right near the Rialto Bridge and within minutes of St. Mark's. Given the maze-like nature of Venice, the ubiquitous signs around the city pointing back to the Riatlo and St. Marks make getting back to the hotel a breeze.

The rooms are very comfortable. We actually stayed in two different rooms since we extended our stay for one night but our room was not available...the switch was seamless. More impressively, we were put in the Junior Suite for the last night - the highest category of room they have.

Of all the breakfasts we had in Italy the one at Al Ponte Antico was the best. Freshly prepared eggs, fruit, perfect cappuccino, and pastries...all of high quality.

Would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone looking to experience Venice in a very comfortable setting where the staff truly treats you as a guest in their home rather than a customer.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Get_Me_0utta_Here
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#2 of 386 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,810 reviews
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
Hotel Antiche Figure
#10 of 386 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
NH Collection Venezia Palazzo Barocci
Hotel Canal Grande
#11 of 386 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,916 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Charming House DD724
Charming House DD724
#3 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Al Ponte Antico Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Ponte Antico Hotel

Property: Al Ponte Antico Hotel
Address: Calle dell'Aseo | Cannaregio 5768, 30131 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#4 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#8 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Al Ponte Antico Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Al Ponte Antico Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Ponte Antico Venice
Hotel Al Ponte Antico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing