We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get the squid ink pasta”

Trattoria Hostaria Venexiana
Ranked #698 of 1,426 Restaurants in Venice
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Dorsoduro / Accademia
1 review
“Get the squid ink pasta”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Amazing location on the canal, with super friendly service. Have been craving squid ink pasta on recommendation of my hotel (for a good "non touristy" place) came here - wish I could have licked the plate!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Megan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    95
    37
    25
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
France
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Lucky find - normally for the locals”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We stumbled upon the very enjoyable Trattoria Hostaria Venexiana. It is without doubt, the best restaurant we experienced in Venice for food, price and atmosphere. Very very friendly and authentic, normally just full of locals - the house red wine was superior to most house wines I have experienced.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mikel47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
104 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Chaos - Overpriced and Understaffed.”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We visited in March 2015

Firstly may I say how the lady - mainly singlehanded dealt with the whole restaurant. I did see 2 other ladies who were mainly busy in the kitchen.
My first impression was chaos, a comedy of errors!!
It appeared the restaurant had started to prepare tealight candles but when we left these were scattered over 3 different tables with not a single diner having one on their table.
The menu came in English, French and German.
After receiving our red wine to go with dinner it was advised the lasagne was not on the menu.

Starter: shared tomato and mozzarella . We were given service dish and one plate so we had to eat from service dish. There was a sufficient amount of starter to share.

Both opted for pasta. The carbonara wasn't very hot. The spaghetti bolognaise was tasty, however a little too oily and wasn't very hot either.

Whilst we were finishing our meals a large group arrived and ordering seemed chaos.
Another table of 2 ladies hadn't even been given a menus after a good 10 minutes.
We gave up before considering dessert and when asked for the bill had to tell them what we had eaten.
I thought our meal of 1 starter, 2 pasta and 2 glasses wines was poor value for €46 given you can find better for €10 less without the chaos.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ClairefromUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arkansas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very good value and experience.”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Agree with others in giving this restaurant a good rating. Nice setting, good service, and good food. House red wine was excellent. Had the menu of the day and very pleased.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank scark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely meal”
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

Tried this place out on a recommendation and was not disappointed. Good food, good service, good house wine and lovely atmosphere and all at a fantastic price. Will definitely visit there again on next trip.

Helpful?
Thank Sandra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Trattoria Hostaria Venexiana also viewed

Venice, City of Venice
 
Lido di Venezia, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Trattoria Hostaria Venexiana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing