We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Antico Doge
Nearby Hotels
US$416
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$392
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$194
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$157
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Moresco(Venice)
US$349
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel(Venice)
US$234
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$218
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$317
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$244
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$298
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$225
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$305
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$232
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Arlecchino Hotel(Venice)(Great Value!)
US$195
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$181
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$302
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$270
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$304
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$233
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,140)
Filter reviews
1,140 results
Traveller rating
625
444
56
9
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
625
444
56
9
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrialto bridgegreat locationwater taxiwall coveringsclock towersmall canalbreakfast roomlovely hotellovely roomantique furniturecanal viewvenetian stylesuperior roomhampastriesvaporetto stopchurch bells
Filter
Updating list...
409 - 414 of 1,140 reviews
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We got the bus(11.00 euros return) from venice airport & hopped on the vaporetto (water bus) to the C'a dor stop only 3 minutes walk to this very central & lovely hotel.It immediatly felt very peaceful when walking in- lovely & classical music playing. Our room no 111 was beautifully decorated in a lovely venetian style with damask fabric lined walls.It overlooked the former derilict ancestral home of Francesco Da Mosto which is now being restored. This hotel was the former home of the Doge Marin Failer. Some people have complained about the noise out the front of the hotel - this is a main walkway through to the Rialto Bridge & it is by a canal so noise does echo-just shut your window,also it is lovely to hear the church bells, this is all part of being in Italy.Very clean hotel & staff were all very helpful to us. Many thanks hope to be back again.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking court yard are quieter.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BridgetDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

The place is really good value for Venice. Décor was fresh and smart, location is excellent for sightseeing and for getting there from the airport. Room was large and comfortable (had a two level room, with sitting area downstairs and bed upstairs!) and breakfast was not too exciting but just right. Would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Room 105 is the split level room, a bit dark but fun!
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EvilElkLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

This hotel is really lovely. Great rooms, very clean, helpful staff nice location. So why only 3 stars? As a previous review said it is more very up market B&B. We were there mid March and it was 20 degrees with no aircon. So had windows and shutters open but had to listen to the church bells at 7 thru til 11 but no issue when out all day. Plenty of sweet choice at breakfast but little savoury and no hot food. Coffee ok but from a machine. Biggest problem was that the local bars closed early and returning to the Hotel to get a drink (no proper bar) all of our first 3 choices were unavailable. To compound that they were unavailable all the time. Since one of those choices was a glass of red wine it beggars belief in Italy! Only soft drinks and Prosecco in the mini bar
Overall trip was great and weather helped. Bought Alilaguna 72 hour pass (the length of time we had between landing and return) so we got return journeys between Airport and Rialto, wonderful afternoon 3 island trip (returning to see the sun set over Venice) and use of the boat lines as required.
We booked behind the scenes at the Doges Palace (care to use the official site) and walked into St Marks twice with no queue. The benefit of time of year and lucky weather. Ate locally in 2 different restaurants, both good but expensive. Best was Oesteria Vecio Braggoso.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flyingsquad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anticodoge, Direttore at Hotel Antico Doge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014
Google Translation

Gentile Cliente,
nel periodo incui Lei ha soggiornato le temperature erano superiori alla media nel periodo, con salti di 13 gradi C° dal giorno alla notte, naturalmente nel periodo indicato funziona il riscaldamento, l'aria condizionata viene avviata in aprile. Per quanto riguarda il servizio Bar nel nostro Hotel è a disposizione 24 ore su 24, bastava chiederlo alla reception e avremo servito noi un buon bicchiere di vino rosso.

Sperando di averla ancora nostro ospite in futuro,

Cordiali Saluti
La Direzione

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Let me start with the good stuff...Nice position, not far from Ca'doro, Rialto and also Piazza St Marco. Smart if small entrance, with friendly and helpful staff. Room well appointed, with nice furniture and modern (if a little small) clean bathroom.

We were on the top floor (2nd) and there is no lift. No hassle for us, but if you are a little unsteady, then try for 1st floor.

We visited in early March, which meant that the weather was good, but temperatures were only around the 13-17 C range....and the room was hot and stuffy. What it will be like in August, is anyone's guess. This "hotel" is in a busy part of Venice, so unless you want to cook in the room, you will need to have the window open....and endure the noise.
There is a bar, but it was never open and it did not appear to be very well stocked.
Breakfast was buffet and was available in the "bar" area. Usual continental assortment.

The hotel has the feel of an upmarket B&B, rather than a hotel. There are no real facilities other than the room. That doesn't make it bad (far from it) however it also does not make it a hotel and hence the mark of 3 stars.

Room Tip: 1st floor and away from the street below
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ColiniNorfolkUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

This hotel is perfect for a short break in Venice.
It is clean, the staff are polite and helpful, the breakfast is fresh and tasty, the facilities are good, and the location is great.
My only criticism would be that the double bed was made of two singles pushed together, and frequently they didn't stay that way!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank scooterpete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews