We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel La Fenice et des Artistes only fair”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel La Fenice Et Des Artistes
Ranked #197 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Reviewed 12 July 2012

The hotel room was beautiful and large (like a junior suite). The breakfast which comes with the room was terrible. All the food was sugary sweet - basically uneatable. Although there was always someone behind the front desk - the service was mediocre at best. Best this may be the attitude in Venice since it's all tourism all the time. The location was great, very close to San Marco and it's off the main thoroughfare, so it's quiet.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ariasinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (664)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

247 - 253 of 664 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2012

Although an older, well-established hotel, La Fenice is very well maintained, very clean, and air conditioned-a must in the heat of the summer. The bathroom was small (shower only), but spotless. The room was larger than most we've had in Europe, particularly the British Isles. The staff were very friendly and helpful and their English was quite good. They provided excellent advice on tours and places to see (and importantly, how to get there). The vaporetto from Marco Polo Airport stopped about 100 yards from Piazza San Marco and it was an easy 10-12 minute walk to the hotel. It's around the corner from the Gran Teatro La Fanice, and many opera stars (including Pavarotti) have stayed at the hotel while performing at the Teatro (we saw "Carmen" our second night there). It's no more than a ten minute walk to the Rialto and Accademia bridges across the Grand Canal and to the Piazzo San Marco and its nearby museums, the Doge's Palace, and St. Mark's Basilica. Breakfast was typically continental, with items cooked to order for an extra charge. We can't recommend the hotel highly enough.

Room Tip: Just ask for one of the larger rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2012

Had a very pleasant stay at this hotel. We were in Room 306 which was fine but the colour of the room ,maroon, was different plus very ornate decor. Breakfast very good only slight criticism was that the small hotel bar opened infrequently. Hotel ideally placed for getting around.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank McNeills15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2012

A quaint hotel in Venice...however one would need to walk a bit to find it if you do not have a private transfer arranged.Its a quaint, old hotel but needs some refurbishing.
The rooms are done up with Venetian wall-paper....clean with neat linen but could do with some modernising, especially the air conditioning.
Big advantage is the very helpful staff and the porters at hand....carrying luggage to walk to your boat can be tricky!
Breakfast was very simple...just croissants, ham, cheese, yogurt and coffee. Could have had some more choices.
Overall found Venice very expensive and a bit of a tourist trap!.

Room Tip: Choose a room in the main building where the lobby is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sgee21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2012

Very basic and dated hotel. Staff are courteous but no more.. When I stayed there the room was swarming with mosquito's and I was very badly bitten. Location is very central

Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
Thank Pmack37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

We stayed here as a couple for 3 nights in May and really couldn’t have asked for a better base to explore Venice.

If you’re looking for Conran minimalism, acres of polished teak, smoked glass and stainless steel the Hotel La Fenice et des Artistes is not going to be for you. It’s a bit faded and jaded, could do with a lick of paint here and there, and is ever so slightly torn and tattered at the edges. But then if you don’t like that sort of thing you’re not going to like Venice.

Our room was a decent size, not huge, but not one of those ones where you’re constantly squeezing past the furniture. Decorated in a rich dark red, with white gilt furniture it felt like staying in a Venetian home. The bathroom was adequate, clean enough and functional, with a decent shower delivering hot water. Plus a good comfortable bed and decent linen.

The hotel staff were very friendly with helpful ideas when we wanted travel suggestions. We asked Reception for an extra pillow and to sort out a wobbly loo seat. Both things were sorted out immediately.

Breakfast was a little dull it has to be said. Cheese and ham, bready buns, croissants, juice and a couple of cereal choices and that was about it.

The location is fantastic. It is hard to find first time round – but most things in Venice seem to be! It’s probably 7 or 8 minutes from St Mark’s Square and about 10 or 12 from the Rialto. What’s really good is that if you want to do two or three things in a day you can easily come back here to rest your feet, have a sly sandwich in the room and generally recharge you batteries before the next route march.

We found it incredibly quiet – there was some building work outside during the day but that’s going to happen in any city.

Some of the negative reviews have surprised me. Venice is clearly a very expensive city even though it’s inherently a bit shabby. As long as you don’t pay over the odds I don’t think Hotel La Fenice et des Artistes is going to disappoint you. We paid about £550 for 3 nights for the pair of us which struck me as good value. Overall, we both felt it added to our whole experience of the city.

We’d certainly be happy to recommend it to anyone we know as a well located, cheap and cheerful place to lay your head whilst you “do” La Serenissima.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MMILLEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2012

The hotel is old...but all building here are old...Everything was clean...The mattress was very very hard but usually so tired when time for bed we could sleep on it. Front desk usually very helpful with direction etc. Good location to St. Marks Square. Very noisy hotel..walls are very thin. Bring ear plugs

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackieuab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel do Pozzi
Hotel do Pozzi
#156 of 385 in Venice
573 reviews
San Marco
Bel Sito e Berlino
Bel Sito e Berlino
#72 of 385 in Venice
768 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Ateneo
Hotel Ateneo
#213 of 385 in Venice
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel San Moise
Hotel San Moise
#196 of 385 in Venice
670 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Royal San Marco
Hotel Royal San Marco
#204 of 385 in Venice
1,133 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Mercurio Venezia
Hotel Mercurio Venezia
#108 of 385 in Venice
890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Fenice Et Des Artistes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Fenice Et Des Artistes

Address: Campiello Marinoni O de la Fenice San Marco 1936, 30124 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #197 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Price Range: £78 - £245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel La Fenice Et Des Artistes 3.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in the heart of Venice near the famous La Fenice theatre, and for more than a century has been a preferred venue for artists and intellectuals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel La Fenice Et Des Artistes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing