We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Venetian Accommodation”
Review of Santa Marina Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Santa Marina Hotel
Ranked #160 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Reviewed 10 July 2012

On requiring urgent and unexpected accommodation following an accident, we were fortunate to find Hotel Santa Marina. This hotel features, a lift, air-conditioning with reverse cycle, heated towel racks, free Wi-Fi (although weak strength in some areas of hotel) & well appointed private bathrooms. All rooms are a good size according to European standards & decorated typically Italian that suits the general decor throughout. There is an amazing display of Murano Glass from ornaments to all light fittings. There is a warming and welcoming air in the hotel, the staff are very happy and helpful. Also staff mostly speak English. It would be roughly a 10 minute walk to the Rialto Bridge & St Mark's Square, also many eateries surrounding the near by area. Keep in mind there is no restaurant in the hotel so room service is not available, but an amazing breakfast spread is available daily. A small bar opens after 4pm. Due to my injuries we were offered a ground floor room with disability features. A water taxi pier is at the rear of hotel, making transfers to and fro the mainland and the airport effortless. We highly recommend enjoying a stay at this hotel

Room Tip: If you have a disabilty small or otherwise ask for room 500, great access.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roslyn_fry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (861)
There are newer reviews for Santa Marina Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

329 - 335 of 861 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2012

On the last night of our tour of the Palladian Villas around Venice, we stayed at this very pleasant 'boutique' hotel conveniently located in the Piazza Santa Marina, yet out of the noise usually associated with a night in Venice in the high season.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2012

We stayed at Santa Marina for 2 nights and were impressed with the attentive staff, especially the receptionists who were so helpful and keen to offer advice. The hotel itself can be a little confusing to find, but then again so is everything in Venice - it takes a day or 2 to figure out the maze that is Venice, but once you do, it becomes easier to navigate. Getting lost is all part of the fun and intrgue of Venice - enjoy every minute of it.

Breakfast at Santa Marina is adequate - we noticed that they put out breakfast on two sides and the offerings on the two sides differ slightly - so walk around to the other side and check what's there too, for a wider selection.

Make sure you take down directions to get to the hotel (from the website) so that once you arrive in Venice you know exactly where to go, or else it can get a bit confusing. The hotel gives you a free map when you arrive, so don't bother buying one on the way there - just make sure you know how to get to the hotel beforehand.

A lovely hotel - would definitely recommend and go back.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JetsetterSA_28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2012

Very nice quaint hotel between San Marco and Rialto with good complimentary continental breakfasts both inside and on the terrace....room itself is comfortable and smallish like in most of the hotels of Venice....Alilaguna water bus is our preferred mode of travel over water taxi ( overrated and expensive ) and ACTV water bus ( overcrowded and complicated routes for new travelers to understand ). Plenty of good restaurants in the area and most of the time take the special menu of the day because it is usually better and very reasonably priced.....If you are looking for masks (specialty of Venice ), try shopping in the small side calles where there may be an artisan working on site making unique ( not mass-produced ) masks...

Room Tip: e-mail the hotel to deposit a specific request, and they do answer your enqueries.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hunnnny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2012

My husband, 18 year old daughter and I stayed in a triple room recently for two nights, three wonderful days. The main bedroom was large, well appointed, comfy king bed, with modern, clean bathroom. Our daughter's room, while small, held a twin bed, separate door, even though it was within our suite. One small issue with her air conditioning was repaired quickly the next morning. Included breakfast was plentiful, but a little too many sweets. Some low fat protein - (boiled eggs) or something like that would be perfect.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
Thank Travel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2012

Hotel is lovely venetian style
.easy access to get to all main points in venice ......staff were very Friendly and Helpful and most of all Honest,,,,, i lost my purse with a lot of money in and i only realised at the airport
On my arrival back home in UK, i contacted them and got an immediate response they had found my purse and had it shipped over to me and i recieved it a week later

Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank liverbird1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2012

This is the perfect boutique hotel. My room was charming with brocade fabric walls and two windows overlooking a quiet canal. The location is 10 minutes from the Rialto or Piazza San Marco. The hotel had a lovely breakfast and free wifi in the lounge where all the guests meet and chat. I highly recommend walking around Venice and getting lost for a true adventure. I can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Litlsecret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Albergo Ca' Alvise
Albergo Ca' Alvise
#155 of 384 in Venice
587 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Dei Dragomanni
Hotel Dei Dragomanni
#137 of 384 in Venice
611 reviews
Castello
Hotel Ca' dei Conti
Hotel Ca' dei Conti
#140 of 384 in Venice
1,117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
Hotel Giorgione
Hotel Giorgione
#108 of 384 in Venice
1,913 reviews
San Marco
All'Angelo Hotel
All'Angelo Hotel
#218 of 384 in Venice
894 reviews
San Marco
Kette Hotel
Kette Hotel
#119 of 384 in Venice
1,165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Marina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Marina Hotel

Address: Castello 6068 | Campo Santa Marina, 30122 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#82 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#157 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range: £84 - £680 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Santa Marina Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Agoda, Nozio Netplan srl, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Santa Marina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Santa Marina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing