We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Santa Marina Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Santa Marina Hotel
Ranked #157 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“lovely hotel”
Reviewed 1 January 2014

This is a welcoming place, well situated, clean and good. Second time here. Rooms are comfortable if a litel small. This hotel is also good value ane close to San Marco square, has free wifi and serves a good breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marc d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

831 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    247
    359
    122
    61
    42
See reviews for
141
496
7
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ashbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

We recently returned from a 4 day break in Venice based at this hotel.

We were greeted by very friendly and helpfull staff and immediately shown to our room on the 3rd floor of the hotel. You will need to budget for an extra €2 - €3 per day person which is the tourist tax and which wasn't mentioned by the hotel booking agents. Although the receptionist did tell us this. I suspect this is a common issue when using booking agents rather than making reservations directly with hotel.

The room was beautifully furnished in the Venician style and the bed was extremely comfortable. The ensuite facilities were excellent albeit with a small slipper type bath bath which proved fun getting in and out of. The room was spotlessly clean and warm with lovely views over the square and adjacent houses. There was no tea/coffee making available in the room but we had taken our own travel kettle so no problem.

We did have slight issue with the heated towel rail which stayed cold. Although reported to reception it never quite got fixed, but wasn't a deal breaker for us.

The whole hotel was beautifully furnished an decorated with extensive wood panelling.

There was no restaurant for evening meals but there are some excellent places to eat within a short and enjoyable walk. The breakfasts were very good with a reasonably wide choice of food and drinks. In fact from our previous experiences of Venice hotels the breakfast was actually excellent in comparison.

It was great to actually be in the centre of the city and not too have to worry about commuting in and out each day.

It was a bit of a walk to the hotel from the aeroport bus stop in the Piazzale Roma, (about 45 mins.) but enjoyable non the less and the narrow streets and canals were lovely to see.

If you do this then I recommend getting a city map first and plan your route to the hotel keeping the number of bridges to a minimum as it can be a bit of a struggle carrying your cases up and down the steps of the bridges. Alternatively you can walk past the train station and head North East following the Grand Canal around to the Rialto Bridge. Its a bit further bit the bridges are more suitcase friendly.

We flew into Marco Polo Airport and caught the ATVO Aeroport Shuttle bus which was very efficient and reasonably priced as well as being able to pre book on line. Although we decided to walk through the city from the Piazzale Roma, you could take the ATVO water bus from there straight to the Rialto Bridge for €7 each way and takes about 20 mins. The hotel is only about a 5 - 10 minute walk from the hotel.

The private water taxis are ridiculously expensive being approx €70 each way from the hotel to the Piazzale Roma.

All in all, this was an excellent hotel which we would definately stay at again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnhc339
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
102 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013 via mobile

I am writing this review while sitting in the room. This is an excellent place to stay. The room is clean & cosy. Lovely bathroom, flat screen tv, comfortable bed - what more can I aşk for! ! The breakfast was also very good. The staff is very friendly and helpful as well. The only difficult bit was the 15 minute walk from the water bus station-especially with our luggage! I would definitely recommend this place. Our room number is 632. It is a triple sleeper. There are actually 2 rooms. One room with a king size bed, and another with a single bed. A Bar fridge with mini bar and a safe is provided as well.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank moki786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed here in November. Now, my biggest advice first off is to pre book your water taxi! Ours pulled up at the docks near the Rialto Bridge, and we were given a map and sent on our way. The hotel is about a 5 minute walk from the dock. We walked in and were greeted by a friendly young woman. Our room wasn't ready (arrived at 10:30am) but she gave us a map and showed us the main points. Venice is a beautiful little city, full of quaint corridors and shops. We went to St Marks Square, and back to the Rialdo bridge. Our room was 620, which was up 3 huge flights of stairs! The bed was hard as a rock and the air con only kind of worked! The breakfast was incredibly basic, pastries, toast, cereal. They did have a bay marie full of eggs that were in a block, cut up frankfurters and something else I wasn't game to try - really the best part was that they had Nutella!

Anyway was a nice and well priced hotel and served it's purpose.. They had some beautiful hotels down on the actual canal that looked a bit more enticing!

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank lovetotravel1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

When we arrived we didn't have the warmest welcome and were immediately told that we had to pay €4 per night per person for tax. The area around the hotel was like a ghost town ( it was Sunday) however it is fairly close to Rialto Bridge.
The room was very Venetian, but rather tired. However it was clean and had basic requirements. The shower had very low pressure but it did get hot and the hair dryer was a pain as it would over heat and switch off. There is also noise throughout the night and early hours of the morning of locals and deliveries to local shops.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RooSl8r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

I truly feel bad to leave this hotel a poor review, however I think it only fair to warn other travellers.
The hotel is lovely and quaint, very Venetian. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful, the breakfast staff positively chirpy and the concierge was friendly and inviting. The breakfast has a nice variety and is fresh and tempting. The rooms are quite ornately decorated, clean and have all basic requirements.
However, we were staying in the annex of the hotel (not unusual for hotels in Italy) and the problem was that the room was so very hot and had only heating facilities, but no fan or air conditioning. We went to Venice beginning-mid November and at night temperatures were about 9-10degrees, and yet the room was cooking. The heating was off and there was no under floor heating of any sort that we would trace and yet you would awake in the night dripping with sweat, only to stand under a cold shower, and by the time you had returned to bed you were pretty much dry. So, once you realise sleep was quite impossible in the room, you give in and open the windows which presents another problem – mosquitos and noise. My boyfriend and I both left riddled with bites, one of which, on an ankle very nearly ruined the holiday as I couldn’t actually walk with shoes on. Also, the hotel advertises itself as being on a quiet square, which is quite true by day, but by night, when we were there at least, it was quite a thorough fare of very loud, very happy Italians singing and shouting. This would continue all night and every night. Equally, the little shop very conveniently located opposite received its deliveries very early, dogs were tied to the front door when early customers visited the shop, who would then howl…..and somehow in the very narrow streets the sounds were intensified to a fairly surreal extent. Even someone walking along the street sounded like it was right next to your head.
It seems a bit petty writing these things, but I cannot stress enough the noise of the outside throughout the night, nor the unexplainable heat of the room. If only there was air conditioning, we could have just kept the windows closed. It was unbearable in November, I couldn’t picture it in summer.
Other than lack of AC, these things are not the fault of the hotel which is why I feel bad leaving a poor review, and yet we didn’t sleep a wink whilst there, spent the holiday in a tiredness induced haze, dreaded going to bed and were desperate to leave.
Also the free wifi didn’t reach the annex, which was a quite disappointing seeing as the staff had given us the wifi password just before being led to our rooms, you would have thought they would mention that it wouldn’t work.
I should imagine if you stayed in the hotel itself (not the annex) this would not be a problem, but if you are thinking of staying in the annex, I would seriously advise against it.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

This hotel is nicely located and the rooms were well appointed. Unfortunately our stay was marred by two things
1. The wifi is available in only a 5m radius in the foyer and is very slow and drops out even there. No access in rooms.
2. I asked to borrow a power cord (regular extension cord), which I've never had a problem doing in hotels. I was told they didn't have any and got a lecture from the staff member about how I should come prepared and I should go buy one from the hardware shop down the street if it was so important. The staff member eventually found one for me but I found the experience very rude and confronting. Having said that, every other staff member was lovely.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Hotel Ca' dei Conti
Hotel Ca' dei Conti
#135 of 386 in Venice
1,053 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Giorgione
Hotel Giorgione
#103 of 386 in Venice
1,821 reviews
Castello
Hotel Gabrielli
Hotel Gabrielli
#131 of 386 in Venice
868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Albergo Ca' Alvise
Albergo Ca' Alvise
#156 of 386 in Venice
569 reviews
San Marco
Kette Hotel
Kette Hotel
#116 of 386 in Venice
1,108 reviews
San Marco
All'Angelo Hotel
All'Angelo Hotel
#234 of 386 in Venice
827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Marina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Marina Hotel

Property: Santa Marina Hotel
Address: Castello 6068 | Campo Santa Marina, 30122 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#81 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#158 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Santa Marina Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Booking.com, Priceline, Lastminute, Agoda, Nozio Netplan srl, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Santa Marina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Santa Marina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing