We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel in a Good Location”
Review of Santa Marina Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Santa Marina Hotel
Ranked #157 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good Hotel in a Good Location”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

The Santa Marina hotel was a great choice for my fiance and I. We wanted to stay in a hotel that was quaint and distinctly Italian and this was it. My wife especially loved the way the rooms were decorated. We booked a room as a part of a package that included breakfast and a tour of the island of Murano. The best part about the hotel was its location. Most sites were within a 15 minute walk (i.e. St. Mark's Piazza and the Rialto Bridge)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DevJ713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

840 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    251
    362
    124
    61
    42
See reviews for
142
501
7
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Romania
Level Contributor
90 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We booked this hotel for a one-week vacation in Venice and it proved to be a good choice. Initially I was quite upset for switching our hotel room with a nearby villa which they also own, but it really ended up as a better option.
Tourists who stayed in Venice's center should know that for such requests they usually pay quite outrageous charges and get instead quite poor quality. Well, this hotel was neither of these. If we will go again in Venice, then I would definitely book again the Sana Marina Hotel.

Room Tip: better choose the villa accommodation if available, it is much quieter than the hotel rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MKLPL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wokingham
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Fantastic hotel friendly staff and great location. 5 mins from Rialto Bridge but very peaceful . Great room 614 with private access. Would highly recommend . Reception staff friendly. Nice restaurants eary.

Room Tip: Two people request room 614 great and access to a private pier .
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob321Wokingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smyrna, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed on our honeymoon for two nights in a standard double room. There was plenty of room considering that space is a premium throughout Italy. It was very clean. You could easily get to the Rialto bridge and St. Mark's square. The bathroom actually had a tub with the shower a vary rare thing for standard rooms in Europe most are small showers.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank baileaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crowborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We have just returned from a two night stay in this super hotel. The reception staff were helpful and courteous and the room was clean, well equipped and nicely decorated. I would highly recommend this establishment for a conveniently situated and comfortable stay in Venice.

Room Tip: We stayed in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We stayed here July 2-5. The front desk personnel were rude, not helpful in the least when you would ask them a question. We tried to get three different associates at the front desk and it was the same. We had wonderful hotels in Rome and Florwnce. What a disappointment. This is not a 4 star hotel.!Find other places that want you to be there. Unbelievable.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Smity23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
297 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

We don't understand the previous reviewers who whined about being in the annex to or boasted about upgrades in this inn. After years of travel without then with children, our expectations of foreign accommodations are realistic, and this hotel is the best of the 4 fine hotels we've stayed in so far in Italy. Face it: any hotel in which you can both drink from and eliminate in Villeroy & Boch china - our wedding china! - has to have class. Our two rooms in the annex, a 20 second walk from the main building, were superbly appointed and sizeable, with all the amenities of any North American room in an upper end hotel. The Murano glass chandelier alone made the room. Breakfast in the main building was superb, finally including some fresh fruit and a toaster. The only complaint was the bed, which was a fold out from a gorgeous chesterfield but seemed totally unnecessary given the ample size of the room and made for a less than comfortable night's sleep. Hotel staff were professional, courteous and had a real sense of humour. And the location of the hotel - once you find it - is outstanding relative to the major sites in Venice and given only a day or two here. €850 for two doubles two nights. You do get what you pay for.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Khufu8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
All'Angelo Hotel
All'Angelo Hotel
#224 of 385 in Venice
852 reviews
Castello
Hotel Ca' dei Conti
Hotel Ca' dei Conti
#139 of 385 in Venice
1,072 reviews
San Marco
Cavalletto & Doge Orseolo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Albergo Ca' Alvise
Albergo Ca' Alvise
#155 of 385 in Venice
576 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Royal San Marco
Hotel Royal San Marco
#201 of 385 in Venice
1,012 reviews
Castello
Hotel Bisanzio
Hotel Bisanzio
#58 of 385 in Venice
690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Marina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Marina Hotel

Property: Santa Marina Hotel
Address: Castello 6068 | Campo Santa Marina, 30122 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#81 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#158 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Santa Marina Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Nozio Netplan srl, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Santa Marina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Santa Marina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing