We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Locanda Ovidius

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Locanda Ovidius
Ranked #215 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Ilminster, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2013

This is in a great location to visit the city. Very basic but you get what you pay for. Clean tidy and accomadating staff. All in all good if you just want a good base. Stayed in Feb and although cold outside have to say the room tempretures were way over the top which made for a very uncomfortable nights sleep. Great views from the breakfast balcony of the Rialto Bridge and Grand Canal.

Room Tip: room with a view.........if available
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    178
    72
    33
    25
See reviews for
43
253
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fishguard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2013

From a person who values his money.....
clean bedroom' clean bedding' fresh towels ' staff fantastic& helpful just ask..
your staying in one of the best locations in Venice overlooking the rialto bridge the bonus is the sun rises on opposite side so good cup of coffee on the shared verander in the morning watching the world go by !!
have your own verander for more money?? we stayed in the back room over looking the ally away from the noise from the grande canal slept like a baby .
Eating: get away from canal and prices will drop big time (food & gifts) example go up the ally at the end turn right 50 yards on right a coffee shop 1 Euro.. on the canal 6 Euros!!!
airport: No 5 bus to bus station jump on avtv boat buses going to rialto. buy a pass for the water buses at airport ticket machine .. This will include your travel to your hotel . book the hotel by phone cheaper that way!!! we had a fantastic time . keep 2 the right walking around Venice ask locals for information and there more than helpful .. If its full on luxury your looking for walk on this is not for you !! it shows 1 star for restaurant but i never had evening meals here!! only breakfast that was good .
hope this helps
mark T

Room Tip: haven't seen other rooms so cant comment!! south facing room was clean and warm and quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mark316015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2013 via mobile

Loved the decor of the room and the view of the canal and Rialto bridge was amazing. Walking distance to the market and lots of restaurants close by. The service was great. They were friendly, helpful and always available ... And Venice what can you say... It's magical

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Olivia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venice
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2012

Good location, very near the Rialto Bridge; directions for finding it could have been better; With window open the bedroom was somewhat noisy-- from nearby restaurant. Breakfast room overlooks the Grand Canal.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
3 Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bodmin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2012

I was worried about our booking here because many of the reviews were less than favourable, but we have just returned from our wonderful weekend in Venice having had a really lovely time at this hotel. We booked a superior room and when we arrived the hotel manager said that we had been upgraded so we went to room 202, which is gorgeous and very large with a beautiful view over the Grand Canal. The hotel is very central with a view of the Rialto Bridge, not far from St. Marks Square, and close to the Vaparetto. We loved sitting in our window watching the different boats, gondolas & taxis pass underneath. In the morning we saw the delivery boats coming and going, the emergency boats - a very fast ambulance boat, the police, the fire boat - which was fascinating, every part of Venetian life passes along the Canal. The help-yourself buffet breakfast was great, lovely coffee, cold meat and lots of cakes, and everything was very clean and tidy. The waitress kept topping up so you can have as much as you like. The bathroom was clean and the water hot. We were very comfortable here and I would certainly return and recommend it to friends.

Room Tip: Ask for Rooom 202 or 201, with a view over the Grand Canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Polo
"Antica Locanda Sturion" Residenza d'Epoca
San Polo
Hotel Marconi
Hotel Marconi
#180 of 386 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
Cannaregio
Locanda Leon Bianco
Locanda Leon Bianco
#209 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Rialto
Hotel Rialto
#121 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,000 reviews
San Polo
Magic Rialto
Magic Rialto
#48 of 210 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
San Marco
Palazzo Bembo
Palazzo Bembo
#60 of 466 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Locanda Ovidius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda Ovidius

Property: Locanda Ovidius
Address: Calle del Sturion San Polo 677/A | Rialto, San Paolo, 30125 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Polo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #215 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Locanda Ovidius 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Southall Travel and Priceline so you can book your Locanda Ovidius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Locanda Ovidius Venice
Locanda Ovidius Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing