We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Missing modern amenities - old and far away from Venice” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Russott Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Russott Hotel
Ranked #336 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Missing modern amenities - old and far away from Venice”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

Great! We booked a 4-star hotel in Venice. Not so fast...
Actually our tour company picked this as our hotel - it seems like there's a theme in many similar posts.

First of all - this hotel is NOT in Venice. There is a coastal town a 15 minutes bus ride or train from the island of Venice called Mestre. That's where the Russott is.
Hmm... maybe the hotel would have shuttle service to the train station? No? Maybe to the bus stop or even Venice? Nope! You'll have to walk 10-15 minutes on a 2-foot wide sidewalk on a dangerous bridge/highway. Grab the #5 or #19 bus into the city.
But for heaven's sake, don't get on the bus going the wrong way or you'll be in for a 45 minute tour of Mestre instead of heading to Venice.
Or better yet, if you miss the ill-marked bus stop returning from Venice at night, you might get dropped off 20Km from the hotel in a area where there are no taxis! Ask me how I know...

On a positive note, the hotel rooms, though old, were comfortable, scenic and clean. I did fight with the shower to keep a consistent temperature (a pet peeve of mine).

Here's what really got to me!
No internet service except in the hotel lobby. Free for guests? Nope... 5 Euros for 3 hrs.
No fitness center.
Bar closes at 11p
Room Service closes at 10:30p. --> don't get in too late or you'll be hungry.

I found the staff to be only moderately helpful. They knew the right answers, but only if I asked the right question.

I agree with the other reviews. It's a 3-star, maybe 3.5-star at best.

Don't pay 4-star prices for this one :|

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SoCalJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

598 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    173
    173
    128
    76
See reviews for
137
244
23
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2013

my friends n i have been doing the rounds of visiting places all over europe n asia whenever we get the chance but we have not checked in in any other hotels as TERRIBLE n as UNAGREEABLE as this!!!!! the staffs r rude... unpolite n lacking that welcome look each personnel should exude to make their clients feel at home while away from home ...
the food is so so when we had to pay for it ... so u can just imagine how the free breakfast fared ...
DEFINITELY UNFORGIVABLE !!!!!
n if u happen to be on a business trip ... u'd really hit the roof bcoz u have to pay for the use of
their darn wi-fi at a very ridiculous price !!! in this age n time of free internet in almost all establishments to cater to the convinience of its customers .... this laid back hotel is more than
barriotic in every aspect of doing n maintaining good relations with their clienteles...
i would therefore recommend to everyone to look for a hotel other than RUSSOTT during ur next planned trip to venice ...
THIS HOTEL IS SURE ONE BAD NEWS!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steelthesame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Venice hotels

Ramstein-Miesenbach, Germany
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2013

We stayed here one night during a bus trip through Italy. The room was old and outdated but the water was hot, towels and sheets were clean so I can't complain too much about it. Wi-fi was expensive. If I had a choice would I stay here again? Probably not.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kpd862
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires
Level Contributor
63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013

My family and I was assigned to this hotel during our tour in Italy. I was told that all the hotels woulb be 4 stars. In my opinion this is a 2/3 starsThis is an awful hotel in the middle of nothing. The staff was very unpolite. Expensive wi-fi despite we are in 21st century! . Unconfortable beds . Very bad breakfast, etc etc. DONT GO!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GabrielaBuenosAires
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riga, Latvia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2013

It's a large hotel, rooms are pleasantly large and clean, and beds are good. We stayed there for 4 nights, and there really wasn't anything to complain about. Breakfast was rather good, too - quite a lot of choice, although there perhaps is room for improvement. I read others complaining about the staff, but I can't agree - everyone was kind to us and explained everything we needed to know about going to Venice and coming back. It's a 10 minute ride on bus, and yes, there is about 100 m distance that you've got to walk along a motorway to the bus stop, but it's not that dramatic either. You can buy the tickets at the reception (€ 1.30 each). For us the only problem was lack of wifi in the rooms and its price for use in the lobby.

Room Tip: On one side you can see Venice in far distance, and higher floors are better for that, too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank philippaGus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brazil
Level Contributor
96 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2012

This is an old, classical style hotel. Decoration is of well taste; floor is covered by red carpet with flowers. Bedroom has very nice marble and granite table, bed side tables and TV balcony. There is a no supplied fridge. Bathroom sink balcony is tired, but it is clean. Everything else is new. Towels are good size, thick, white and spotless. Hair dryer, paper tissue, soap and shampoo are provided. There is no magnifying mirror. Breakfast is poor, there is no internet in the bedroom; no safe in the bedroom, only at the front desk.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SuelyBrazil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria
Level Contributor
37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2012

Stayed here on 29th October, after a cruise. The Hotel was chosen by the Travel Agent and part of a cruise deal.
Hotel looks awful from outside but the lobby is ok - do not expect a modern Hotel.
Lift was very rickety and the rooms very basic and dated.
I'm very very fussy where I stay - would I have chosen this Hotel myself, no I would not but for 1 night only, after exploring Venice all day, it's fine.
The Hotel is not in Venice, it's in Mestre about 10 mins from Venice. It's also on a very busy dual carriageway so you need to be careful if you walk to the bus stop (like we did).
We dropped our bags off at 10am, the room wasn't ready. They were locked away for us and we didn't return to later that evening.
Ate our evening meal here, the food was ok. I didn't feel there was a lot of choice and it was a little expensive but this is to be expected (€50 for Spaghetti Bol, chicken risotto and 4 cokes).
Good for the airport as its on the main road.
Do not stay here if you expect a romantic central Hotel. Stay here the night before you return home and you'll find it ok.
Rooms are noisy and you can here pretty much everything going on at your neighbours!
Breakfast in the morning was good with ample choice.
Wouldn't stay again but then again I wouldn't have picked here myself.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
0.9 mi away
Alexander Hotel
Alexander Hotel
#199 of 386 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Venice Mestre Marghera
0.9 mi away
Hotel San Giuliano
Hotel San Giuliano
#331 of 386 in Venice
3.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hotel Altieri
Hotel Altieri
#345 of 386 in Venice
3.0 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#247 of 386 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Lugano Torretta
Hotel Lugano Torretta
#263 of 386 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Russott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Russott Hotel

Property: Russott Hotel
Address: Via Orlanda 4, 30173 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#100 Luxury Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Russott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 181
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Fastbooking, Odigeo, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays and Priceline so you can book your Russott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Russott Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing