We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Saturnia & International
Ranked #38 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 July 2014

I stayed there a week ago and loved the hotel, rooms were a nice size and very clean. Windows opened to a beautiful street. Great location lovely breakfeast which was included. The roof top was so nice to have a glass of wine and overlook Vencie. I wish i could remember the name of the handsome man at the desk he was always there with a smile on his face and ready to answer any questions we had. I loved when he would talk to my 16 year old daughter in Itlian who is taking Itlian in High school. He called a taxi and had someone bring our luggage to the taxi. Which was a big help. Very accommodating. Wish we could of stayed longer. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank melanie p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,447)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

980 - 986 of 2,448 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2014

We spent a night here after our original hotel (Dell' Opera - sister hotel across the canal) did not have a room for us on our first of three nights. They apologised, walked us around to this hotel and upgraded us on our return the second night, and had our bags delivered back) a great example of how to turn a negative into a big positive.

So, this hotel was an unresearched surprised and yet again showed how great things happen when least expected. It's a lovely old hotel, dark and quaint, in a great location. We got a very large room, with plenty of bag space, great size bathrooms - which has been a stark contrast to other hotels we have also enjoyed in Europe. Staff are friendly, good wifi, and we got room 206 at the end of the corridor and overlooking the canal. I would recommend this to couples.

Other points, getting around Venice is hard, and would be especially hard for elder people and families with young children. Do your research on how to get to the hotel. We had one chap (the ones who pester you to buy umbrellas when it's raining) walk up to us as we were trying to find our way to the hotel and offered to sell us an umbrella (it was raining and we were getting soaked). I told him to knick off and tongue in check said I needed a map. He asked us where we were going and happily led us right to the hotel. He carried my girlfriends large suitcase over the canal stairs. I gave him a 5 euro tip, the best 5 euro I spent on holiday !

There is a supermarket about 4 mins away, ask staff where it is and stock up on water and snacks early on.

Anyway, enjoy this hotel, it's lovely.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We stay at Hotel Saturnia because we enjoy the Venetian ambiance and the exceptional service. Located just steps away from Piazza San Marco, it's a short walk to sites, restaurants, and public transportation. We loved our room, which was large, clean, quiet, with a Bisazza-tiled bathroom and a balcony that looked out over the rooftops of Venice. The breakfast buffet, set up in the open-air courtyard during warm weather, offers a wide selection of breakfast items, including fresh fruit and Venetian pastries. The staff members were friendly and helpful; the concierge, in particular, went out of his way to anticipate our needs and to offer suggestions for places to visit, along with detailed directions and maps. We look forward to returning soon.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SonjaWinston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

I have written a personal email this very minute, rebooking again for next year and giving my thanks for all the staff. We have been visiting this hotel for 8 years and it has never once disappointed us in any way , Dinner in the candle lit terrace restaurant is a joy, food and service, wonderful

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Elizabeth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We originally had to change rooms because they put us in a room over the restaurant. We could not accept this room because we could clearly hear all surrounding noise whilst in the room. It was a very old hotel and it showed. It could use MAJOR renovations.

Confidently would say I would never stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DAS121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We originally booked into a standard room, but it was necessary to upgrade! The small room was dark with only one window, cramped and in very close proximity to many others, and we could easily hear into the other rooms. We upgraded for an extra €40/per night and ended up in room6. A more confidently located part of the hotel (floor1 by reception rather than dodgy lift to level3...) and a MUCH bigger room. It is still quite dark, the age and style of the hotel I guess. So I recommend not going for the bog standard room. Our room was right on the Main Street with big windows opening out. It can be a little noisy, but when you're in venice it doesn't matter! Another point, the air conditioning is VERY loud! A musician outside made the nights more jolly. I have removed 1 star for the feeling that we needed to upgrade, and one for the darkness (especially the standard room). The location is very good, I feel.

Room Tip: Don't go for the standard rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank HELIBREW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Great location near Piazza San Marco and the Grand Canal. We had a great room overlooking the canal behind the hotel and had daily serenades from passing gondoliers. Excellent bathroom suite. Superb breakfast and very friendly service from all staff. Special thanks to the daytime manager at the front desk. He was especially helpful in directing us to local sights.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jon and Sheryn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#52 of 385 in Venice
1,880 reviews
San Marco
Hotel a La Commedia
Hotel a La Commedia
#32 of 385 in Venice
2,069 reviews
San Marco
Starhotels Splendid Venice
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Ca' Pisani Hotel
Ca' Pisani Hotel
#15 of 385 in Venice
1,854 reviews
Cannaregio
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
#33 of 385 in Venice
2,417 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Hotel American Dinesen
Hotel American Dinesen
#36 of 385 in Venice
1,592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Saturnia & International? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Saturnia & International

Address: Calle Larga Via XXII Marzo 2398 | St. Marks', 30124 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Venice
#26 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#30 Business Hotel in Venice
#31 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range: £93 - £365 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Saturnia & International 4.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Agoda, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Saturnia & International reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Saturnia And International
Hotel Saturnia International
Saturnia International Venice
Saturnia Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing