We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel run by beautiful people”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Saturnia & International
Ranked #40 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 July 2014

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights last week as a surprise trip for her birthday. When searching for a hotel, I wanted somewhere central with direct access onto a canal that was a bit special, and the Saturnia was just the ticket. The superior room lived up to the billing with a great cascading shower, whirlpool bath, huge bed, stone fireplace, sofa, desk, room safe etc etc. Contrary to other reviews the aircon in this room (203) was spot-on and there was no noise from outside to disturb sleep despite both windows overlooking the internal courtyard. The included breakfast has everything you could really want (bar a full English fry-up, though to be fair if that is near the top of your priority list go to Blackpool not Venice !) and caters for the many nationalities who stay there with cold meats and cheeses for our Continental friends with pancakes and peanut butter for those further across the Atlantic.

The staff, every single one of them, are friendly, knowledgeable and cannot be faulted. They picked up on it being a special birthday occasion in our case and left a complimentary chilled bottle of prosecco in the room for us while we were out walking. I booked this trip 11 months ago and have contacted them several times via email, and each time I have received a prompt, courteous and accurate reply.

Chaps, if you want to make your good lady very happy, pay a little extra and get a private water-taxi from Marco Polo airport which will take you straight to the rear door of the hotel - no need to drag your case through the streets here. Book a superior room directly with the hotel for a good rate. Stay a few nights and enjoy being a few minutes walk from San Marco and within easy walking distance of Accademia and the Rialto bridge. Do the main sights early in the day, disappear into the back streets and lesser-trodden paths to drink coffee and get lost among the wonderful narrow streets while the day-trippers invade, then head out into the city for a delicious evening meal after a long relaxing soak or shower back at the hotel when they've all gone home.

We travelled as a couple but saw many families at breakfast with both young kids and teens, so the hotel caters for the full range of tourist.

Room Tip: Superior rooms are worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank SwanseaBoy68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,476)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

997 - 1,003 of 2,476 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2014

This was our first time to Venice. We were a little apprehensive about the hotel as usually stay in Hilton and other large chains. However on arrival we were very impressed by the welcome we received at reception. The hotel is very clean and the staff very attentive. This is a great location for exploring the city. The restaurant is expensive for evening meal but excellent quality. Breakfast is very good. Would stay here again without hesitation.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Ascotroyal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

The hotel provided a beautiful place for my husband and me to spend our last day of our honeymoon. The lovely young lady at the front desk was so helpful. The breakfast that is provided with your reservation was delicious. San Marco's square is a very short walk away, 5 minutes at most. It was also close to a nice little square called Campo San Stefano with Le Cafe. My husband and I enjoyed some pizza, beer, wine, and people watching. Hotel Saturnia is the ideal location in Venice.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank bestly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

I stayed there a week ago and loved the hotel, rooms were a nice size and very clean. Windows opened to a beautiful street. Great location lovely breakfeast which was included. The roof top was so nice to have a glass of wine and overlook Vencie. I wish i could remember the name of the handsome man at the desk he was always there with a smile on his face and ready to answer any questions we had. I loved when he would talk to my 16 year old daughter in Itlian who is taking Itlian in High school. He called a taxi and had someone bring our luggage to the taxi. Which was a big help. Very accommodating. Wish we could of stayed longer. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank melanie p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We spent a night here after our original hotel (Dell' Opera - sister hotel across the canal) did not have a room for us on our first of three nights. They apologised, walked us around to this hotel and upgraded us on our return the second night, and had our bags delivered back) a great example of how to turn a negative into a big positive.

So, this hotel was an unresearched surprised and yet again showed how great things happen when least expected. It's a lovely old hotel, dark and quaint, in a great location. We got a very large room, with plenty of bag space, great size bathrooms - which has been a stark contrast to other hotels we have also enjoyed in Europe. Staff are friendly, good wifi, and we got room 206 at the end of the corridor and overlooking the canal. I would recommend this to couples.

Other points, getting around Venice is hard, and would be especially hard for elder people and families with young children. Do your research on how to get to the hotel. We had one chap (the ones who pester you to buy umbrellas when it's raining) walk up to us as we were trying to find our way to the hotel and offered to sell us an umbrella (it was raining and we were getting soaked). I told him to knick off and tongue in check said I needed a map. He asked us where we were going and happily led us right to the hotel. He carried my girlfriends large suitcase over the canal stairs. I gave him a 5 euro tip, the best 5 euro I spent on holiday !

There is a supermarket about 4 mins away, ask staff where it is and stock up on water and snacks early on.

Anyway, enjoy this hotel, it's lovely.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We stay at Hotel Saturnia because we enjoy the Venetian ambiance and the exceptional service. Located just steps away from Piazza San Marco, it's a short walk to sites, restaurants, and public transportation. We loved our room, which was large, clean, quiet, with a Bisazza-tiled bathroom and a balcony that looked out over the rooftops of Venice. The breakfast buffet, set up in the open-air courtyard during warm weather, offers a wide selection of breakfast items, including fresh fruit and Venetian pastries. The staff members were friendly and helpful; the concierge, in particular, went out of his way to anticipate our needs and to offer suggestions for places to visit, along with detailed directions and maps. We look forward to returning soon.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SonjaWinston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

I have written a personal email this very minute, rebooking again for next year and giving my thanks for all the staff. We have been visiting this hotel for 8 years and it has never once disappointed us in any way , Dinner in the candle lit terrace restaurant is a joy, food and service, wonderful

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Elizabeth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#53 of 385 in Venice
1,899 reviews
Cannaregio
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
#35 of 385 in Venice
2,442 reviews
San Marco
Hotel a La Commedia
Hotel a La Commedia
#32 of 385 in Venice
2,092 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Ala - Historical Places of Italy
Castello
Hotel Savoia & Jolanda
Hotel Savoia & Jolanda
#81 of 385 in Venice
1,866 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Violino d'Oro
Hotel Violino d'Oro
#55 of 385 in Venice
1,292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Saturnia & International? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Saturnia & International

Address: Calle Larga Via XXII Marzo 2398 | St. Marks', 30124 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Venice
#28 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#30 Business Hotel in Venice
#31 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range: £87 - £328 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Saturnia & International 4.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Splitty, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Saturnia & International reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Saturnia And International
Hotel Saturnia International
Saturnia International Venice
Saturnia Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing