We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
"Antica Locanda Sturion" Residenza d'Epoca
Nearby Hotels
US$390
US$357
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$482
US$436
Hotels.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$908
US$870
Hotels.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$522
US$391
Agoda.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$866
US$498
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Palazzo Stern(Venice)
US$642
Booking.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Boscolo Venezia, Autograph Collection(Venice)(Great Value!)
US$420
US$408
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Arlecchino Hotel(Venice)(Great Value!)
US$355
US$317
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$659
US$603
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Moresco(Venice)
US$380
US$369
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (375)
Filter reviews
375 results
Traveller rating
166
138
43
15
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
166
138
43
15
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbreakfast roomrialto bridgeno elevatorflights of stairsgrand canalgreat locationcanal viewcroissantsvenetian decorreception desknice breakfastside streetroom was largestay in venicerestaurants and shopsstayed here for nightswater bus
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
133 - 138 of 375 reviews
Reviewed 24 June 2013

I have read reviews from people not in the canal view rooms and they were less positive. My experience was great. The room was beautiful. I booked it solely for the great canal view and it did not fail to deliver. Fantastic views and a beautiful room. The AC worked fine and the breakfast was lovely.

The desk help could have been better, though. We "booked" a gondola ride through the front desk (through more hassle than it should have been). When we arrived to the gondola slip that was pointed out to us by the desk clerk, they had no record of the reservation and no idea who Antica Locanda Sturion was. We easily booked it on our own but it added a layer of stress to the experience.

If you want a beautiful room with a fantastic view. This is it. Just make sure you book Room #1 or Room #2.

Yes, there were many stairs but we don't mind stairs. A porter helped with the bags going up but not leaving.

Room Tip: Rooms #1 and #2 have a canal view and are beautiful!
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013

We spent 5 nights here and could have spent much longer. The breakfast Room overlooks The Grand Canal and The Rialto Bridge & with the generous provisions of the continental breakfast we were more than happy to linger! The staff went out of their way to be helpful which was great, especially on the 1st night when we arrived really late in the evening after a long day. The room was beautifully furnishd with every attention to detail. All much appreciated. There are a lot of stairs, however it's worth the effort!

Room Tip: There are rooms directly overlooking The Grand Canal if you are happy to pay the premium
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gill J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2013

We spent 4 nights in this charming hotel on our first trip to Venice. We had booked a basic double room, but were lucky enough to be upgraded to apartment 685 a few doors up which was very spacious! That aside we saw the double room which we would have been more than happy with for our stay. The continental breakfasts were lovely with plenty of choice and the small dining room situated overlooking the Grande Canal and Rialto Bridge. Location was perfect by the Rialto Bridge, with a short walk to San Marco. There were plenty of water bus stops right outside if you wanted to venture further afield.
In no way a negative, but this hotel is located on the 4th floor therefore be aware of the steps (a small price to pay for the view up the canal!)
We could not fault this hotel and will definitely be returning!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laura_nisbet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2013

If you want a quiet romantic break in Venice you will do well find find a better location than the Antica Locanda Sturion. It is right on the Grand Canal and quite close to the Rialto bridge, really in the heart of Venice. It hasn't got all the facilities of the more international hotels, but it depends what you are looking for and how much time you are expecting to spend in the hotel. We were very fortunate in having one of the two bedrooms that overlook the Grand Canal (out of nine), although the breakfast room has lovely view over the Rialto. The staff were very friendly and efficient and the rooms clean and well presented. The only downside was the long flight of stairs to the third floor reception (no lift), but that shouldn't bother most people. Would recommend this to anyone looking for an atmospheric holiday in Venice.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Tony K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2013

We spent 2 nights here and wish it had been 5. The staff were friendly and helpful. The rooms were large as we found. We were a family of 4, 2 adults and 2 teenage kids who were very grateful for a pair of single beds.
The location was perfect, about a minutes walk to the Realto bridge and the water busses.
Breakfasts were a highlight with the breakfast room overlooking the Grande Canal. The quality of the food was exceptional. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. Don't be put off by the stairs, if you work out your days, you only climb them once a day. Ask for help with your bags if you need it.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Craig M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews