We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretty good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
"Antica Locanda Sturion" Residenza d'Epoca
Ranked #171 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pretty good”
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Stayed in the later part of august, in room #1 (canal view). Pros: great location, great view, room very spacious, good breakfast, good A/C (we were there on the tail-end of a heat wave, so there was an extra, portable air-conditioner in this room), good wiFi and helpful, friendly, accommodating staff. For me, the loooong flight of stairs was entertaining. I pack light and am able-bodied so stairs were of no concern, but they wouldn't be fun for everyone (elderly, injured, people with large suitcases). You learn very quickly not to forget stuff when leaving for the day. Cons: of all the beds I slept in in Italy, this was by far the hardest, most uncomfortable; perhaps, like the hotel, the mattresses are also four centuries old. Hairdryer was...odd, and not particularly effective, the "american" coffee was awful so request a cappuccino. This is Italy after all....

Room Tip: Room #1 was spacious and had an amazing view. The bed was really hard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tm156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    140
    120
    41
    15
    12
See reviews for
74
170
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pincourt, Canada
Level Contributor
122 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

I originally reserved a lower priced room for 3 nights thinking the hotel's location was ideal for our exploration of Venice (which it definitely was! Centrally located and at the Rialto Bridge--a major landmark). Prior to our arrival, I upgraded to room #2 for the first two of the nights (it was already booked by another patron for our third night). This was MY treat to myself and what a wonderful treat it was. I spent the early mornings and late evenings perched in one of the two windows just watching Venice. Yes, there are 70 steps up to the hotel but then everything is pretty much on one floor. We just enjoyed the climb as part of the adventure. The hotel staff were wonderfully friendly, the rooms were clean and comfortable, the breakfast (assorted cold cuts and cheese, fresh croissants, bread, fruit, coffee and juice) was substantial. We were in room #8 for our third and final night, no view but the beds were still comfortable.

Room Tip: Rooms number 1 and 2 are on the front of the hotel and have a wonderful view out onto the Grand Cana...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ReviewByKaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Groveland, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Great location. Only downside was the three flights of stairs but staff was available to assist with bags. Lovely breakfast room overlooking Grand Canal with very nice buffet breakfast. Very clean. A/C was very good. Staff couldn't have been nicer.

Room Tip: Our room didn't have a view, but we just spent our free time in the dining room overlooking the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karen l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springdale, Arkansas
Level Contributor
202 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

We stayed in the Locanda Sturion for two evenings. We made our reservations and paid for them almost a year in advance and specifically requested one of the rooms which overlooks the Grand Canal. Our wish was not granted. My son stayed in a tiny little room located off of the lobby. My daughter and I stayed in room #5. Be wary of this room. The door does not close properly. It kept popping open during the night. At one point, I remember someone in the hallway passing by during the night as we were sleeping; he reached in and closed the door for us. This is a cause for concern.

The rooms, however, are very clean and well kept. Keep in mind that when you make reservations, there are only two rooms that have a canal view; the others do not have this. Had I known we were not going to get a view of the canal, I would have opted to stay at a less expensive hotel in the area. We paid about 600 Euros for a two evening stay. I thought I was paying for the experience of having the ability to enjoy the view of the Grand Canal from our room, but this was not the case.

Breakfast - which is very generous - is served in a room that does overlook the Grand Canal. Breakfast was satisfying and was a good start to the day.

This hotel is located near the Rialto Bridge and near the busy shopping areas, which is a definite plus. Just make sure you bring everything with you on your way out of the hotel, because having to reclimb the narrow steps to access the hotel and pick up what you forgot is quite a challenge. One last thing - we were fortunate to have one of the young men carry our suitcases down the steps when we checked out. This was very much appreciated.

I am rating this hotel as "average" for the reasons that: 1) the door of room #5 kept opening on it's own (a security issue) and 2) if you do not have a room overlooking the canal it is simply not worth the cost of staying there. There are other hotels in the area that do not overlook the canal that charge half of what we paid for our stay. I will stay in another hotel the next time we visit.

Room Tip: Avoid room number 5. The door opens on it's own during the night, which is a security issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WandaMaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

My husband and I stayed July 19th & 20th in room 11. This is the room I recommend if you don't want to have to do ALL the stairs! One double-bed, alley view. We were very happy after a harrowing travel day with emergency landings, delays, missed connections, etc., to only have one flight of stairs to get up at 11:30 p.m. Staff was very understanding and accommodating about our late arrival. Loved eating at the windows of the breakfast room, and watched Saturday night's fireworks from there as well. Wonderful!!! The location is so ideal, I wouldn't stay anywhere else.

Room Tip: Room 11 was very quiet when the outer shutters were closed as well as the window--and not that much...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Don't let the 3 flights of stairs tarnish your view on this one. There are also two apartments on the lower floor, but once you make the first trip up with the luggage you are home free. This hotel is clean, the Air Conditioning is fabulous - you can adjust to your own prefernece (and we like it very cold so it was great), and the internet never disconnects. We had 4 devices hooked up and never an issue. We got a great price and the breakfast room looks out onto the canal (two rooms do as well). Free breakfast included (typical Italian so good by their standards - great croissants). The rooms were clean, the staff very friendly and accommodating in every way. This hotel is literally right off of Rialto BRidge. Great view, and walking distance to everything. We had switched from another hotel and were very happy with everything here. Hair dryers in rooms work very well, no laundry service, but that is common in Venice. There is a drop off laundry nearby (across Rialto called Gabriella's. 985 San Marco is the address.)

Bath rooms are great size for Europe, rooms are great size for Europe, and while this hotel has venetian charm you still feel that you have modern amenities. One more thing - even when the hotels advertise that they have satellite in Europe they mean they have twenty channels instead of the 18 with cable. Only two English speaking channels in all of Europe, except the UK of course.

No wash cloths in the hotels in venice. and no good food anywhere. the best you will find is a small place called Mamo but even theirs is mediocre. All cofee is instant - seems to be that way in both Paris and Venice) If you want good food in Italy, you need to go to Florence.

Also be aware that the people of Venice depend upon tourism for survival but they hate us, and pretty much let you know it, outside of a few places (and this hotel is one of them, along with two restuarants, Mamo's, and one on canal same side as hotel that has sign on the door free WIFI, only two decent places to eat, and that are polite.
All in all best experience in a hotel in venice.

Room Tip: To me all the beds are hard in Europe so if you want comfort you will have to go back to US
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norway
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Great location, close to the Rialto bridge. Stayed for 2 nights in July 2013. Breakfastroom very charming with a fantastic canal view. Breakfast ok. Recommend this hotel if you wish to stay in the most busy part of Venice.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hannegm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Polo
Hotel Marconi
Hotel Marconi
#177 of 384 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
Locanda Leon Bianco
#204 of 384 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
Cannaregio
Foscari Palace
Foscari Palace
#95 of 384 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Rialto
Hotel Rialto
#124 of 384 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,068 reviews
San Polo
Locanda Sant'Agostin
Locanda Sant'Agostin
#102 of 384 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 890 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Antico Doge
Hotel Antico Doge
#63 of 384 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,018 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to "Antica Locanda Sturion" Residenza d'Epoca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about "Antica Locanda Sturion" Residenza d'Epoca

Property: "Antica Locanda Sturion" Residenza d'Epoca
Address: Calle del Sturion San Polo 679 | Calle del Sturion, 30125 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Polo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #171 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — "Antica Locanda Sturion" Residenza d'Epoca 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Antica Locanda Sturion," probably Venice’s most ancient hotel still running, is a cosy small Venetian House featuring just 11 rooms. Its decor, the ancient style furniture and the Venetian red damask and brocade make it special, creating a truly traditional unique and cosy feeling. A welcoming place from the past with superb and very impressive views on the Grand Canal and Rialto Bridge from the two Superior Rooms and the beautiful Breakfast Lounge, which is also: - a reading room with a tiny yet well-stocked library boasting a number of books in various languages.- a living room for an afternoon break and taking photos of the magnificent sunsets on the Grand Canal. You have just to take a look in the evening or early morning to breathe the magic of Venice and take a dip in the past and its atmosphere. Truly a breathtaking view! This Boutique Hotel is a small and well-established family business run by Nicole, Manuela, Helen and Flavia, who will do all their best to provide you with specific suggestions and advice for an unusual and intriguingly unique approach to our town. And in all our old-style rooms you will find the kettle to prepare a good cup of tea or coffee with complimentary cookies to rest after a long city tour. In a nutshell the right place to breath a truly Venetian and romantic atmosphere. As there is no lift to reach the Locanda, situated on the top floor of an Ancient Palace on the Grand Canal, we want our Guest to be aware they have to climb a long stairs, but our bellman Giuseppe will be happy to help you carrying upstairs your heaviest items. The hotel is smoke-free. Recall that the hotel offers breakfast for Celiac (Gluten Free) Features:- Gluten-free breakfast for Celiac.- Bar- Breakfast buffet: 08:00 am to 9:30 am- Kettle with Tea & Coffee & Biscuits in all rooms- Check out: 11:00 am- Check in 02:00 pm on- Our restaurant "Bistrot de Venise"- Our Residenza Bistrot de Venise flats- Our 3 star Hotel Antica Locanda al Gambero in St. Mark's area Facilities:- Breakfast for Celiac (Gluten Free)- Library in several languages, dedicated to Venice’s history and art.- Parking, special Garage agreement in Piazzale Roma- 10% discount at TripAadvisor & Michelin Top rated "Bistrot de Venise"- Internet Point: complimentary- Free Internet Wi-Fi: complimentary- I-Pad: complimentary use for our Guests (if available)- Fax service- Classical Music Concerts: schedules and booking- Tourist information of any kind- Tour of Murano glassworks and the Laguna islands, schedules and booking- Baggage room- Paid transfer service on request. Let us lead you to the discovery of Venice’s most secret and hidden spots:- Top secret Venice; an unusual walk with an authorized guide- Exploring Venice by Night; a night walk with an authorized guide- A full day on a "Bragozzo" boat, including lunch on board and various excursions- Discover the vineyards on the Laguna islands with Rebecca- Pescaturismo (recreational fishing) with Burano’s fishermen and Rebecca- Guided eno-gastronomic tours in the Prosecco hills- Introducing Amarone wine: guided oenological tours- Venice’s Cuisine and Historic Wines with Sara (guide –sommelier )- Meet Venice’s last true craftsmen with Valentina and Rebecca- Mysterious Venice: ghosts and legends; a walk with an authorized guide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your "Antica Locanda Sturion" Residenza d'Epoca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antica Locanda Sturion Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing