We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best thing about this hotel is the location. The rest is so-so”
Review of Hotel Serenissima

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Serenissima
Ranked #98 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 November 2013

The location of this hotel is exceptional, just between San Marco and Rialto. And the hotel is easy to find, which is uncommon for Venice. First two nights I stayed in a doube room and the next 2 nights - in a single room. Double room was good in size, but overlooked a busy street and it was rather noisy in the late evening. Single room was very small and the bathroom was tiny, but the windows looked out into the yard and it was quite at night. There was only one sachet of shower gel/shampoo per day, and it was obviously not enough. All in all, rooms look a little shabby and need some renovation. At the same time the reception area and the lobby look perfect. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The breakfast was good and tasty, although filter coffee, served at breakfast, is not their strong point. Better choose capuccino. Free wifi was available and the speed of the Internet connection was very good.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Keera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (657)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

246 - 252 of 657 reviews

Reviewed 25 October 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Serenissima for three days in March 2013.

The hotel is located on a quiet street about halfway between the Rialto Bridge and St. Mark’s Square, which is ideal for sightseeing. The staff was exceptionally helpful, and everyone I interacted with was fluent in English, which was very useful given my very limited Italian. We took the airport water bus (Alilaguna-Orange Line) from the airport to the Rialto stop, and were able to walk to our hotel within 10 minutes.

Our room was small, but very clean. Our bed was comfortable and we slept well, albeit with earplugs as our room faced the street and there was some street noise. The bathroom was tiny, with one outlet, and our shower had two temperatures-very hot and lukewarm. But, we made do, and appreciated the character and Venetian touches of our room. There was also free WiFi, which we made frequent use of, and air conditioning, which we did not need given the time of year we were visiting. Breakfast was included with our stay, and it was always a good, solid start to our day. There is no elevator, so plan and pack accordingly.

If you are looking for modern and/or luxurious accommodations in Venice, then this is not the hotel for you. However, if you are looking for a good value with an ideal location run by a very professional and courteous staff, then I would recommend the Hotel Serenissima.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lawgirl79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We chose this hotel based on the price, being as it's so close to St. Marks square, where prices are notoriously much higher in the city. It was a good value for the money. The room was a decent size but the bathroom couldn't be any smaller. There was no curtain on the very European shower which made for a very unsatisfying shower experience after a long day. Trying to manually hold the shower head and keep from getting the whole bathroom wet, was a challenge. Also, there was only one outlet in the whole room- and it was in the bathroom. Or you could climb on the desk, and use the one the tv was plugged into, if your cord reached long enough. The tv was ancient and with beds that were rock hard, it was definitely not a hotel to relax in... The staff was incredibly knowledgeable and helpful which was much appreciated. If you're looking for a great location, this is a great option. But it's a very bare bone in ways of amenities.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank akasmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

pros: Staff is friendly and helpful. breakfast is reasonably good. price is fair.

cons: room facility is extremely limited, for example, no minibar or fridge, no power supply point (I have to unplug the tv to charge my phone, but the tv is old and not working anyway).

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CL1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We chose Hotel Serenissima based on other reviewers' comments and ratings. We are so happy we did. Our room was at the end of the corridor on the 2nd floor overlooking the courtyard so it was quiet and peaceful. The accommodations were pleasant but not lavish; everything worked well and housekeeping was efficient. The breakfast was well done and tasty; we liked the fresh fruit bowl. We weren't enthralled with the coffee, but that's a minor issue since it was a pleasant walk to Terrafazione di Marchi for undoubtedly the best coffee in Italy! Hotel staff were all pleasant and helpful to a fault. We will most assuredly return to Hotel Serenissima.

Room Tip: Rooms facing into the courtyard are quiet. Be sure to ask for ensuite bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

The location was very good, the staff very helpful, the breakfast more than decent BUT the beds were very hard, very lumpy and really felt like you were sleeping on rolled up springs. The staff said they would "tell her" whatever that meant. Also rooms were very small and you could hear the sound of people's feet walking by outside 2 floors down. For $100.00 per person per night, I expect a bit more.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank foofie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We stayed at this hotel twice recently and we were so glad that we did, the service was great the people were so helpful and the position was close to everything and easy to get around. The rooms are small but wonderful they have character , slopping floors and all it just made our stay more enjoyable, it made you feel like you really were in Venice, our room had a view of the canals which was just lovely, would stay again anytime.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hayse63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel San Salvador
Hotel San Salvador
#106 of 385 in Venice
437 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Orion
Hotel Orion
#104 of 385 in Venice
833 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Casa Petrarca
Hotel Casa Petrarca
#121 of 385 in Venice
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Bel Sito e Berlino
Bel Sito e Berlino
#71 of 385 in Venice
771 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Lisbona
Hotel Lisbona
#173 of 385 in Venice
499 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Dalla Mora
Hotel Dalla Mora
#97 of 385 in Venice
585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Serenissima? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Serenissima

Address: Calle Goldoni San Marco 4486, 30124 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#93 Family Hotel in Venice
#133 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range: £64 - £161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Serenissima 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Serenissima reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Serenissima Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing