We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“true venitian”
Review of Hotel Serenissima

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Serenissima
Ranked #99 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“true venitian”
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Great location, really felt like a venitian. located just behind St. Mark's square. Wonderful staff and very nice breakfast include. Would not hesitate to return to this hotel. Definately get off the vaparato at Rialto bridge instead of St. Mark's walk staight down ally go right at sports store.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheila635
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    215
    283
    73
    12
    6
See reviews for
108
273
58
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

The location of this hotel is exceptional, just between San Marco and Rialto. And the hotel is easy to find, which is uncommon for Venice. First two nights I stayed in a doube room and the next 2 nights - in a single room. Double room was good in size, but overlooked a busy street and it was rather noisy in the late evening. Single room was very small and the bathroom was tiny, but the windows looked out into the yard and it was quite at night. There was only one sachet of shower gel/shampoo per day, and it was obviously not enough. All in all, rooms look a little shabby and need some renovation. At the same time the reception area and the lobby look perfect. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The breakfast was good and tasty, although filter coffee, served at breakfast, is not their strong point. Better choose capuccino. Free wifi was available and the speed of the Internet connection was very good.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Keera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Serenissima for three days in March 2013.

The hotel is located on a quiet street about halfway between the Rialto Bridge and St. Mark’s Square, which is ideal for sightseeing. The staff was exceptionally helpful, and everyone I interacted with was fluent in English, which was very useful given my very limited Italian. We took the airport water bus (Alilaguna-Orange Line) from the airport to the Rialto stop, and were able to walk to our hotel within 10 minutes.

Our room was small, but very clean. Our bed was comfortable and we slept well, albeit with earplugs as our room faced the street and there was some street noise. The bathroom was tiny, with one outlet, and our shower had two temperatures-very hot and lukewarm. But, we made do, and appreciated the character and Venetian touches of our room. There was also free WiFi, which we made frequent use of, and air conditioning, which we did not need given the time of year we were visiting. Breakfast was included with our stay, and it was always a good, solid start to our day. There is no elevator, so plan and pack accordingly.

If you are looking for modern and/or luxurious accommodations in Venice, then this is not the hotel for you. However, if you are looking for a good value with an ideal location run by a very professional and courteous staff, then I would recommend the Hotel Serenissima.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lawgirl79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We chose this hotel based on the price, being as it's so close to St. Marks square, where prices are notoriously much higher in the city. It was a good value for the money. The room was a decent size but the bathroom couldn't be any smaller. There was no curtain on the very European shower which made for a very unsatisfying shower experience after a long day. Trying to manually hold the shower head and keep from getting the whole bathroom wet, was a challenge. Also, there was only one outlet in the whole room- and it was in the bathroom. Or you could climb on the desk, and use the one the tv was plugged into, if your cord reached long enough. The tv was ancient and with beds that were rock hard, it was definitely not a hotel to relax in... The staff was incredibly knowledgeable and helpful which was much appreciated. If you're looking for a great location, this is a great option. But it's a very bare bone in ways of amenities.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank akasmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

pros: Staff is friendly and helpful. breakfast is reasonably good. price is fair.

cons: room facility is extremely limited, for example, no minibar or fridge, no power supply point (I have to unplug the tv to charge my phone, but the tv is old and not working anyway).

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CL1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We chose Hotel Serenissima based on other reviewers' comments and ratings. We are so happy we did. Our room was at the end of the corridor on the 2nd floor overlooking the courtyard so it was quiet and peaceful. The accommodations were pleasant but not lavish; everything worked well and housekeeping was efficient. The breakfast was well done and tasty; we liked the fresh fruit bowl. We weren't enthralled with the coffee, but that's a minor issue since it was a pleasant walk to Terrafazione di Marchi for undoubtedly the best coffee in Italy! Hotel staff were all pleasant and helpful to a fault. We will most assuredly return to Hotel Serenissima.

Room Tip: Rooms facing into the courtyard are quiet. Be sure to ask for ensuite bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boston
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013 via mobile

The location was very good, the staff very helpful, the breakfast more than decent BUT the beds were very hard, very lumpy and really felt like you were sleeping on rolled up springs. The staff said they would "tell her" whatever that meant. Also rooms were very small and you could hear the sound of people's feet walking by outside 2 floors down. For $100.00 per person per night, I expect a bit more.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank foofie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Casa Petrarca
Hotel Casa Petrarca
#133 of 384 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
Castello
Rio Venezia Hotel
Rio Venezia Hotel
#85 of 384 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Orion
Hotel Orion
#111 of 384 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Hotel alla Fava
Hotel alla Fava
#105 of 384 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Al Codega
Hotel Al Codega
#28 of 384 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,320 reviews
San Marco
Hotel San Samuele
Hotel San Samuele
#107 of 384 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Serenissima? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Serenissima

Property: Hotel Serenissima
Address: Calle Goldoni San Marco 4486, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#21 Best Value Hotel in Venice
#134 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#144 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Serenissima 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Serenissima reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Serenissima Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing