We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”
Review of Hotel San Samuele

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel San Samuele
Ranked #101 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 May 2014

My fiancé and I stayed here for 2 nights in May, it was lovely. The staff was very helpful and full of knowledge. The location was amazing and quiet in comparison to the more touristy hotels.
The only thing I would recommend is make sure the mosquito repellant plug is in the outlet or else you'll wake up with Mosquitos in the room. lol but it was a very simple fix.
I would highly recommend staying here, as our next trip to venice will include Alberto San samuele again :)

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Layla R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sansamuele, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel San Samuele, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear Layla,
thank you so much for the lovely note you left us. It's always a great pleasure to know that our hotel and the services it offers meets our guests expectations. Thank you for the kind words you reserved to the hotel staff. As for mosquitos, you're right, sometimes they get very annoying but it simply suffices to use the repellent to avoid their terrible buzzing all the time!
Hope to welcoming you soon again,
kind regards
Hotel San Samuele

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (489)
There are newer reviews for Hotel San Samuele
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

111 - 117 of 489 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2014

Great location, nice clean room and lovely hotel staff. Definitely recommend this as great place to stay . It is only 5- 10 min walk to St Marks and Rialto bridge and right by vaporetto station. Owners provide nice cup of coffee in morning and there is free WIFI in all rooms which was greatly appreciated.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Streeto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sansamuele, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel San Samuele, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear Guest,
it was great having you here and hope you'll join us again soon. Thank you for the lovely words you reserved us; it's amazingly rewarding when you know you've done your job well! Thank you.
Hotel San Samuele

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Overall, our stay at Albergo San Samuele was terrific. The room is quite basic with little style but was spotless and very well maintained. We were prepared as the pictures are accurate. The bed is comfortable, the bathroom pristine, and we loved the “quiet policy” after 11 especially after jam packed days filled with Venetian delights. But the real features of this hotel are its location and staff as both are perfect! Judith and Tatiana, the office team, are gems who ensured that we had excellent Venetian experiences through quality suggestions for day trips and restaurant recommendations. Thank you for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Heelergirl720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sansamuele, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel San Samuele, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear Guest,
THANK YOU sooo much for the lovely note you left us, it was great having you here and hope you'll join us again soon. Thank you for the lovely description you gave about the hotel, its great central position not too far away from the major attractions everybody wants to see on their trips. Thanks for the kind words you reserved to our staff, it's amazingly rewarding when you know you've done your job well! Thank you.
Hotel San Samuele

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We've stayed here a few times and wouldn't stay anywhere else.

The location is brilliant - handy for walking to the main bridges and the major sights. The street is also pretty quiet. Staff are really friendly and helpful - will phone to reserve restaurants if necessary, and ring venues to check opening times.

Nothing else to add. Back next year, all being well.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Lindsay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sansamuele, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel San Samuele, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear guest,
thank you! What a great pleasure every time to welcome you at the San Samuele! Thank you soooo much for the lovely note you left us, it's so rewarding, we are very grateful for that. Happy you spent some lovely time in Venice again, looking forward to welcoming you again soon.
Kind regards
Hotel San Samuele

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed in Albergo San Samuele last week.

Pros
- Great location
- Great communication from owners
- Great value
- Very hospitable and helpful (i.e. - allowing us to keep bags after checkout and giving us advice).
- Wifi was perfect
- Room was as expected/ explained
- Clean

Cons
- Only Con I can mention is that the room is a bit old/ outdated (but we expected this based on the pictures).

All in all, we recommend the Albergo San Samuele!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ramzi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sansamuele, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel San Samuele, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear Guest,
we really appreciated your positive review, listing all pros and a few ( hopefully), cons. Well next time you've visit us, you'll find a brand new room, with all comforts and a fantastic lift!
Thanks for choosing our hotel, looking forwards to welcomning you soon in the future.
Kind regards
Hotel San Samuele

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014 via mobile

We had a great experience with Alberto San Samuele. The owner, Judith, is very helpful and pleasant, the hotel is clean, centrally located, and full of character, and the check-in/out process was painless. The rooms are smaller and there's less frills than you'd get in a fancier place but what's there is much much more than you'd expect for the price. We would definitely go back.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Beth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sansamuele, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel San Samuele, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

Dear Beth,
thanks a lot for this kind review of yours; we are happy you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and found it at the height of your expectations. Thank you for the kind words you've reserved us. We believe that a good hotel service is not simply a clean room, but it is also all those little information which help the guest to live and enjoy the city properly.
King Regards

Hotel San Samuele

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Obviously when your trip is not paid for by your employer, there is no harm to watch for your budget, especially when you're visiting a city known to be pricey such as Venice. Doing just that, I ended-up at the San Samuele hotel.

Well, this hotel offers all the major requirements you may be looking for and then some more. Its location is unbeatable, the 12 rooms have different sizes, so don't worry, you will be accommodated based on what you wish for and with your budget in mind.

Hot tea and coffee are made available for the guests in a common area. Books about Venice, the Venetto are also available as a courtesy for your use during your stay. They are in several languages. If you have not bought a Venice guide yet, do not even bother doing it.

Wifi is available in your room at no additional charge, and you even have a Desk Top computer in the common area for your convenience.

Last but not least, this hotel is manned by an exceptionally Customer Service - oriented team. Judith, the owner, a true hospitality professional and fantastic polyglot, along with her so-friendly team reserve a personable, cheerful and warm welcome to every guest. On your day of arrival, As soon as you reach the hotel to check-in, you're already a member of the family.

Judith is a wealth of information and, either she or one of her Reception Desk crew, will provide you with plenty of useful information and hints that will ease your visit to this amazing city.

Here is a quick hint they shared with me ... Alex Hai, the first ever female gondolier will offer (if you book through the San Samuele) a deal you do not want to miss. Don't do your gondolier tour before you talk to them at the reception desk. I did it and I loved it! Alex was full of information about Venice!

I shall return.

Noureddine
from New York City

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Zimbada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sansamuele, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel San Samuele, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Dear Noureddine,

thank you so much for the lovely, accurate and detailed review you left us!
It's one of the nicest ones we've read so far and we're so happy because you've perfectly described the atmosphere you breath once you become a “member of the family”. Yes, we love sharing information with our guests, making their stay as much enjoyable as possible. We love to give tips on what's hot to see, the perfect gondola tour to take, we are happy to offer wifi free connections and a laptop for anything guests may want to know.
Thank you again.
Hoping to see you in the future, we remain
kind regards
Hotel San Samuele

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel San Salvador
Hotel San Salvador
#97 of 384 in Venice
429 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Casa Petrarca
Hotel Casa Petrarca
#130 of 384 in Venice
438 reviews
Castello
Rio Venezia Hotel
Rio Venezia Hotel
#84 of 384 in Venice
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Hotel alla Fava
Hotel alla Fava
#106 of 384 in Venice
612 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Orion
Hotel Orion
#105 of 384 in Venice
807 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Mignon
Hotel Mignon
#146 of 384 in Venice
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Samuele? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Samuele

Address: Salizzada San Samuele | San Marco 3358, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Best Value Hotel in Venice
#111 Family Hotel in Venice
#118 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range: £46 - £215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel San Samuele 1*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Albergo San Samuele is located in the heart of Venice, near the Rialto bridge and the Accademia and very close to the Palazzo Grassi. It is just five minutes walking from St. Mark's Square, in a quiet central position. Hotel San Samuele provides a friendly atmosphere with pleasant simple clean budget rooms many of which are sunny, with fans in summer. The rooms are quiet and overlook a typical street or an inside small court. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel San Samuele reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo San Samuele Hotel Venice
San Samuele Venice
San Samuele Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing