We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exellent!”
Review of Hotel Al Piave

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Al Piave
Ranked #56 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Middelburg, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Exellent!”
Reviewed 4 May 2012

During our stay in Venice. We had a great time.
The hotel was great as well as Venice.
We were received kindly and our luggage was lifted up the stairs.
We got 2 great rooms full of tranquillity.

First of all the hygiene was great. After spending half a day in the busy streets of Venice. It always feels great returing to a clean and fresh room, and we got one, every single day.
Also the WIFI connection was top-notch as well as the location of the hotel.
The hotel is localized nearly at the centre of Venice, giving you the advantage to travel quickly and swiftly through Venice. Also it was a 5-minute walk to the San Marco square from there.
finally, for those who want to know, these rooms had a great safe to store your valuable belongings, and as well the possibility to put the kettle on in your room.
It even had an ironing board!!
One thing though. You will definitely need a elaborate and large map to navigate through
Venice. We were lost occasionally because of the lack of detail of some maps.
Also the Hello Venezia Card definitely is an valuable asset to your journey(longer than 1 day).
It gives you some great benefits like free entry or discount on entry, special queues for the Venice card holders giving you earlier access to some museums.
The flight was at half past 6 and we had the suitcases in the hotel left.
When we picked up we could just to refresh ourselves, which was very nice after a hot morning.
So, owner of Hotel Al Piave, thanks!
We recommend everyone for this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank L.D. W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

884 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    538
    295
    41
    8
    2
See reviews for
228
418
29
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
65 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2012

I really enjoyed our stay at Hotel al Piave. The hotel was located within a few minutes’ walk to Piazza San Marco and the Grand Canal. There were several very good restaurants within a few minutes’ walk as well.

The hotel staff was very polite and helpful, providing us with directions, reservations, and several helpful tips. Breakfast was served every morning and was always very tasty, complete with a cappuccino to get your day started.

Our room was well-sized, very clean, and beautifully appointed. The room had exposed wood beams that lent an aged feeling, yet the bathroom had been recently renovated and was quite large. The hotel did have an elevator, but it was on the fritz the first day we were there. The view from our room was pretty decent and looked into a flower filled courtyard.

I would definitely return to Hotel al Piave if I was ever in Venice again. Great hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank S_C_Barnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2012

The location of the hotel is perfect (quite area, close to Rialto Bridge and San Marco Square). The staff is very friendly and helpful. Our room was very nice, comfortable and clean, with a small but very clean bathroom. Breakfast was good. We will definitely return to Hotel Al Piave on our next trip to Venice.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vevita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012 via mobile

This hotel was a great surprise as it is difficult to choose from the huge offer that exists. Beeing so, plus: room, toilet clean, shower strong, location (5min from boat), price (great in comparaison), staff (very friendly and not too friendly!)
Not as plus: breakfast (but as i have seen in other hotels this isn't a current focus in italy).

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank franfp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
Level Contributor
106 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We have just spent 3 nights at Hotel Al Piave. I arrived having broken my foot in Florence 3 days earlier, in a cast and on crutches!
From the outset the hotel staff went out of their way to help us - I really cannot speak highly enough of how wonderful they all were. I was very grateful.
Now the hotel... It was relatively easy to find being an easy
5-10 minute walk from San Zecharia vaporetto stop. There was just one small bridge to cross.
The rooms we had were very clean, comfortable and well appointed. (We appreciated having tea making facilities). Bathrooms were modern and fresh. (We were moved to a room with disabled bathroom after first night)
The hotel is located in relatively quiet area bordering San Marco and Castello. While away from the busy tourist areas they were still in easy reach(even for me!) and there are good and well priced restaurants close by. A laundrette is located just a few stores to the right too!
We enjoyed the breakfast which included eggs in addition to the usual offerings. Pastries and rolls were often still warm if you took the early breakfast option.
Having stayed near Rialto on our last visit, we enjoyed the quieter ambience of the area. Service and price beat views hands down in our view.
I look forward to another visit when I am walking on two legs again!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JayemkayCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nyon, Switzerland
Level Contributor
78 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 472 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

We didn’t select the Al Piave. The travel agency (Hotelplan) did. Obviously, they knew what it takes to please clients. Al Piave is a true Venetian delight; warm welcome and cozy environment. You immediately feel at home in this family-run hotel. Typical Italian: “Mama” (Mirella) at the front desk – making sure everything is to your liking. “Papa” (Paolo) running the breakfast room – looking after everybody and everything. The “youngsters” (Illaria & Cedrico) helping you get the maximum out of your stay – providing directions, giving tips on restaurants and organizing tours… even handing out umbrellas when it rains. And the staff, too, fits well into this family atmosphere – friendly, polite and always smiling. The location is ideal; right off S.Marco in the heart of Venice's historical center. Definitely a place to return. Very clean. Excellent service. And wonderful hosts. Grazie mille. Arrivederci.

Room Tip: Ask for room 403. Eat at Antica Sacrestia (and make sure you meet the owner; Pino Calliandro). Visit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank restaurant71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thousand Oaks, California
Level Contributor
56 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2012

This is a wonderful small hotel in a great location only 5 minutes from Piazza San Marco. Rooms are small but very carefully thought out to maximize the space. Beds are hard but comfortable. Service is top notch for a small family run hotel and breakfast is good with many choices including rolls, cereal, juice, eggs, cheese and croissants. This is a charming hotel with oldy wordly furnishing and fixtures.

Room Tip: great location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank phillinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Hotel da Bruno
Hotel da Bruno
#48 of 385 in Venice
990 reviews
Castello
Hotel Casa Verardo - Residenza D'Epoca
Castello
Hotel Palazzo Vitturi
Hotel Palazzo Vitturi
#32 of 385 in Venice
915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Ca' dei Dogi
Ca' dei Dogi
#26 of 385 in Venice
791 reviews
Castello
Hotel Sant'Antonin
Hotel Sant'Antonin
#17 of 385 in Venice
938 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#51 of 385 in Venice
1,792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Al Piave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Al Piave

Property: Hotel Al Piave
Address: Ruga Giuffa Castello 4838/40, 30122 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#19 Best Value Hotel in Venice
#27 Family Hotel in Venice
#54 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Al Piave 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Nozio Netplan srl, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Priceline, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, HRS, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Al Piave reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Piave Venice
Al Piave Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing