We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Venetian Charmer”
Review of Hotel Al Piave

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Al Piave
Ranked #62 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 November 2013

My husband and I have stayed in Venice on 3 previous occasions and just wish we had discovered this hotel earlier. The staff are very friendly and helpful. They arranged for us to share a water taxi with other guests who were also joining a cruise and also arranged a porter to take our luggage to the water taxi. We were very happy with our room and the breakfast was more than adequate.I don't think anyone who stays in this hotel could fail to be charmed by it.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room which was located just a few doors from the hotel building and it was very comfo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Glenys R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (916)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

283 - 289 of 916 reviews

Reviewed 1 November 2013

Fantastic location with exceptional staff. Their recommendations on restaurants and tours really made our visit memorable. Especially helpful with travel and connections when buses and trains were scheduled to strike!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We stayed here in May 2013 based on recommendations from friends who raved about the wonderful service (they had a medical problem and the family that runs the hotel leaped into action for them) we were not disappointed. The hotel is a little difficult to find as it is off the beaten path a little, we got hopelessly lost on our first attempt to find it, but once we were familiar with the area it was wonderful. The room was clean, quiet and well appointed. There is not a elevator but the front desk clerk was quick to help carry our bags up the steps. We were less than a five minute walk from St. Marks and it was even quicker to the grand canal.
The family cooks breakfast while you serve yourself. It was a great start to the day. We found all of the staff very helpful with directions and recommendations. I would certainly choose to stay here on future visits. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ntd19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

The Al Piave was a great location, only a few blocks from St. Mark's but was off the beaten track making it quiet. The room was excellent, great shape & clean (we stayed in a 1 BR suite since single rooms were booked). The staff were friendly and very helpful. The breakfast was terrific and included eggs & bacon as well as cereal & pastries.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We had a great stay at Al Piave. Claudio (at reception desk) was VERY kind, courteous, and helpful in getting us around Venice. The room was quaint...but perfect for us in celebrating our 25th anniversary. Breakfast was delicious...location was within easy walking distance of most places... we would by all means stay here again if we return to Venice. We highly recommend...and say a special word of thanks to Claudio!!!
Bob and Libby Cunningham--Louisville, Kentucky

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Nice folks, good breakfast, pretty good location 5-10 minute walk from St. Mark's and St. Zaccaria vaporetto stop, room clean and everything worked well. However, room was small, bathroom and shower were tiny, and windows overlook courtyard where (sometimes) noisy guests enter their rooms (though not much of a problem after 11pm). Also, no elevator, so we needed to haul our bags down the tiny staircase for our early departure. Overall, pretty good value, but don't go here for luxury.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank judgemi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Our group of three couples reserved rooms at Al Piave for three nights in late September.

Pros:
Very good location near the Santa Maria Formosa piazza. We loved being up early, walking the canals, and watching the area wake up while groups of children walked to school.
The staff is exceptionally helpful - from recommending restaurants to helping arrange to mail a package to arranging for a private water taxi and a luggage porter on our departure. We loved the recommended Ristorante al Giardenetto da Severino which was around the corner.
The breakfast was very nice and had a nice selection of choices. .
There is an ATM close by although at certain times of the day it was out of cash.

Cons
The rooms are very small and the shower was even smaller in comparison. There is no elevator although a porter is available to transport luggage.
The directions provided by the hotel are somewhat difficult to follow as the route takes some twists and turns that make one question decisions along the route. It is important that each person can handle his/her own luggage as there are several sets of steps along the way.

Summary
Once you get settled, the hotel is very convenient to explore the wonders of Venice. We took the Secrets of the Doge tour, took vaporettos to Murano and Burano - both very enjoyable, took a gondola ride for 6 persons, and participated in a barcrawl recommended in Rick Steves book.

I would recommend and would return based on the location and the excellent staff.

Room Tip: It seems that rooms on the side of the hotel are quieter than those that face the front, on an alley...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelmuse1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#51 of 384 in Venice
1,879 reviews
Castello
Hotel da Bruno
Hotel da Bruno
#48 of 384 in Venice
1,056 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Arlecchino Hotel
Arlecchino Hotel
#87 of 384 in Venice
1,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Residence Corte Grimani
Residence Corte Grimani
#24 of 384 in Venice
913 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Hotel American Dinesen
Hotel American Dinesen
#37 of 384 in Venice
1,588 reviews
Novotel Venezia Mestre
#159 of 384 in Venice
2,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Al Piave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Al Piave

Address: Ruga Giuffa Castello 4838/40, 30122 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#27 Family Hotel in Venice
#53 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range: £105 - £303 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Al Piave 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Nozio Netplan srl, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Al Piave reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Piave Venice
Al Piave Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing