We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem”
Review of Hotel Al Piave

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Al Piave
Ranked #60 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Found this hotel from the Rick Steeves book and so glad we stayed here! A little tricky to find it, have to manuever through several side streets but once you arrive it's worth the little walk to get there. We were given the spacious, wood beam ceiling, simply charming one bedroom studio for a night before moving to a smaller, yet still wonderful room the next day. (for the same price) Both rooms were immaculate with great showers. Breakfast room was charming, scrambled eggs, fresh fruit, croissant, hot chocolate served in cute silver pitcher...lace cut out tablecloths, beautiful presentation with the breakfast selections. Greeted EVERY single time we entered the hotel by the staff! Easy walk to St. Marks Square and the ferries. Loved the surrounding neighborhood and enjoyed just wandering around...discovered canals, narrow streets, cafes, just a great location. We spent 30 days in Italy and this hotel was a big highlight for us. We give it our highest recommendation!

Room Tip: Get the studio if you can afford it but if not the other rooms are just as nice! Small but efficien...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (923)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

263 - 269 of 923 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2014

On a quick overnight to Venice, we stayed at the Hotel Al Piave and were quite happy with the accomodations. I always look for clean linens - bed and bath, and clean, pristine floors -- and happily, I was not disappointed here. We loved the quiet location and the staff was helpful with recommendations for restaurants and tours. We had such a short stay in Venice we had to make the most of it -- and we did! The breakfast was just perfect, as well. One drawback -- the sea gulls cried throughout the night, sounding like babies crying or dogs barking! All in all, I would certainly recommend this sweet, small hotel for anyone visiting pretty Venice.

Room Tip: I'd ask about noise. They can't help the seagulls, so I'd just recommend that you keep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clwwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We just got back from a two week vacation in Italy, four nights of which we're spent in Venice at Hotel al Piave. New bathrooms and pretty spacious room compared to what we found in other cities. Bed was comfortable, breakfast was basic: croissants, fresh fruit, cereal, yogurt, and wonderful handmade cappuccino! They had a really nice lobby and breakfast room plus a little courtyard area with tables for eating outside or relaxing during the day. Staff was very friendly and helpful. After seeing some of the other hotels around town I felt we got a great deal. Will definitely be back!!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lilleygurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We just came back from Venice and this was our last stop... I can say Hotel Al Piave it's a steal! if you are in a budget this is your hotel! good location, new bathrooms, clean, good size rooms, and very helpful staff. We really enjoyed the breakfast and had no problem finding the hotel, super close to everything. I would recommend 100% no complaints here at all!

Room Tip: we stayed at 403, 3 people and size was perfect... new bathroom had plenty of room and very nicely d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yeyen178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Comparing to prices in other hotels in Venice, this one was very reasonably priced. The location of the hotel was perfect, the staff very helpful. The rooms are what would you expect for a Venice hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IIM612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

This was our second stay at this hotel. They gave us a "special rate" as a return guest and offered a further discount if we settled our bill in cash - which we did.

This hotel is ideally situated. It is equidistant from San Marco and the Rialto bridge. It is handy being able to walk to the Rialto vaporetto stop because the ride to the train station takes half as long as leaving from San Marco. Also, the hotel is located on a very quiet street.

For the second time, we had room 115 which is located across the street from the hotel in an annex building. We were on the 3rd floor (no elevator) at the back of the building. Our room had a lovely terrace. The room was very clean. The included breakfast was very good. The free Wi-Fi worked well even though we were on the top floor.

When we return to Venice, this is the hotel where we will stay. The staff, which appears to be family, were helpful and friendly. Considering how expensive hotels are in Venice, this one is reasonably priced.

Room Tip: Room 115 has a private terrace, but is located on the third floor, with 3 flights of steps and no el...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank luvroma2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

I first visited the Al Piave in 2005, and this past week I had the privilege of staying there again. Very little has changed, which is a testament to how well this hotel functions! The same lovely family owns the establishment, and they continue to run it with a professional and friendly air.

The breakfast had a wide variety of foods to choose from, and was served at reasonable hours. The rooms are comfortable, clean, and quiet. The location is perfect: far enough from the tourist-choked center to be peaceful, but not so far that you can't walk everywhere in the city! Very safe in the evenings and quiet in the mornings. Would recommend 100%.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank helenbuse971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#53 of 385 in Venice
1,899 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Arlecchino Hotel
Arlecchino Hotel
#89 of 385 in Venice
1,105 reviews
San Marco
Residence Corte Grimani
Residence Corte Grimani
#24 of 385 in Venice
920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Hotel da Bruno
Hotel da Bruno
#47 of 385 in Venice
1,072 reviews
Novotel Venezia Mestre
#157 of 385 in Venice
2,159 reviews
Cannaregio
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
#35 of 385 in Venice
2,442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Al Piave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Al Piave

Address: Ruga Giuffa Castello 4838/40, 30122 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#27 Family Hotel in Venice
#53 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range: £96 - £236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Al Piave 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Nozio Netplan srl, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Al Piave reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Piave Venice
Al Piave Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing