We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location for a 2 night stay!”
Review of Hotel Al Piave

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Al Piave
Ranked #60 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, GA
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Perfect location for a 2 night stay!”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We are a family of four with a 12 year old and a 16 year old. We loved our stay at Al Piave! I wish I had taken the names of everyone who was so helpful to us, but there was no one who was NOT very nice and helpful. We would definitely stay again!

We arrived at 8:30pm from all day train treks from Manarola, so we were exhausted. It was also our last stop on our two week "Sampler Tour" of Italy. We were given a very friendly and efficient check-in by the man at the front desk, complete with tips on the area and restaurant recommendations. They even carried our (really heavy) bags to the 2nd floor for us! Such a treat after carrying our bags up and down stairs all day. (No elevator, which is very common.)

Follow the walking directions given by the hotel that start when you exit the ferry. They were perfect, but do know it's at about a 15 minute walk with your luggage. Not a problem for us since we gave our luggage wheels a work out on our trip. (Here's a tip on the ferry. As you exit the train station, go to the booth to the far right at the water. They take credit cards. We never found a bancomat (ATM) at the train station. The lady at the TI desk said there may be one down one of the halls, or outside, but seemed unsure. I found it odd that she didn't know, but there is a booth for exchanging money if you're desperate and can't find one. Or just wait until you get into Venice.)

While we had been told it was much cheaper to stay outside the city, we knew we only had one full day so wanted to stay right in the heart of Venice. Hotel Al Piave was the perfect location. It was a short walk to Saint Mark's and the Rialto Bridge, both of which we needed to check off the must-see list. There is also a bancomat at the square down the street (to the left) from the hotel. We found that a lot of businesses (including gelato/sandwich shops, gondoliers, and water taxis) don't take credit cards, so we had to keep replenishing our euros. Breakfast at the hotel was perfect. They served fresh baked croissants, a variety of pastries, scrambled eggs, mixed fruit, etc. The cappuccinos were wonderful!

We were glad to see Saint Mark's (beautiful) and the Rialto Bridge, but I was so grateful to the lady at the desk at Al Piave who took the time to map out a good walking route for us to experience more of the "real" Venice, without the mass of other tourists. We spent most of the day following her map, as experiencing the city was more important to us than the actual sites listed in the guidebooks. So don't mistake the crazy tourist action around Saint Mark's as the "real Venice!" Explore the surrounding areas and you'll find the crowds quickly thin out. It's such a beautiful city.

We had a 'family suite,' which consisted of two separate rooms behind one main door - one room had two twins and one with a full - two twins pushed together. We found that pushing two twins together is very common in hotels. It never bothered us. Both rooms had closing doors. In the room with two twins, there was a sink off to the side in an alcove. Both rooms shared one bathroom with a shower. Everything was clean and very charming. I emailed back and forth with the hotel several times in our planning and they were always very quick to respond. There is someone at the front desk at all times.

At checkout, for €110, the hotel arranged a water taxi to take us to the airport (paid in cash to the water taxi driver). This was so worth it to us. The water taxi picks you up at the square to the left of the hotel (a 5 min. walk) and deposits you right in front of the airport. From there, it's about a 10 minute walk down well-marked pedestrian walkways.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Tglen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

899 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    547
    299
    43
    8
    2
See reviews for
237
421
28
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 June 2014

My mother and I stayed for two nights at this hotel in May. It was the best hotel we stayed at throughout our trip. The location is great...in a quiet area but a quick walk to everything. We arrived early and since our room wasn't quite ready they upgraded us to a larger room. My mom follows a gluten free diet so the staff made her a seperate tray of food for her for breakfast. The second day we informed them we would be leaving before breakfast so not to worry about making a tray her....instead they gladly offered to pack us breakfast so we would have something! Such amazing hospitality! I HIGHLY recommend staying here!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Superior, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

The owners of the hotel were incredibly gracious and kind. The breakfast was fantastic. The hot chocolate with breakfast was so delicious it tasted like I was eating melted Godiva chocolate. I would stay here again and recommend it to anyone! Great location, friendly staff, comfortable rooms!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tvm1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NORTHERN IRELAND
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Booked this family run hotel after reviews on trip advisor. Great hotel in a good location. Quiet area but only 10 mins walk from St Marks Sq. Short stroll to grand canal and vaporetto stop. Would highly recommend.Free Wifi Comfy beds and a good breakfast choice. Good value for money considering how expensive it is to stay in Venice. Thank you Al Piave we had a lovely stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NS-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Hotel al Piave was a great place to land in Venice! The rooms are lovely, quiet, and clean and the staff go out of their way to help their guests feel at home. The hotel is central but just far enough from San Marco to avoid the worst of the crowds. The complementary breakfast included pastries, eggs, cured meats, yogurt, and espresso drinks made to order. We'd happily return again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bootheybee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, California
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Found this hotel from the Rick Steeves book and so glad we stayed here! A little tricky to find it, have to manuever through several side streets but once you arrive it's worth the little walk to get there. We were given the spacious, wood beam ceiling, simply charming one bedroom studio for a night before moving to a smaller, yet still wonderful room the next day. (for the same price) Both rooms were immaculate with great showers. Breakfast room was charming, scrambled eggs, fresh fruit, croissant, hot chocolate served in cute silver pitcher...lace cut out tablecloths, beautiful presentation with the breakfast selections. Greeted EVERY single time we entered the hotel by the staff! Easy walk to St. Marks Square and the ferries. Loved the surrounding neighborhood and enjoyed just wandering around...discovered canals, narrow streets, cafes, just a great location. We spent 30 days in Italy and this hotel was a big highlight for us. We give it our highest recommendation!

Room Tip: Get the studio if you can afford it but if not the other rooms are just as nice! Small but efficien...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

On a quick overnight to Venice, we stayed at the Hotel Al Piave and were quite happy with the accomodations. I always look for clean linens - bed and bath, and clean, pristine floors -- and happily, I was not disappointed here. We loved the quiet location and the staff was helpful with recommendations for restaurants and tours. We had such a short stay in Venice we had to make the most of it -- and we did! The breakfast was just perfect, as well. One drawback -- the sea gulls cried throughout the night, sounding like babies crying or dogs barking! All in all, I would certainly recommend this sweet, small hotel for anyone visiting pretty Venice.

Room Tip: I'd ask about noise. They can't help the seagulls, so I'd just recommend that you keep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clwwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Hotel da Bruno
Hotel da Bruno
#49 of 385 in Venice
1,025 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#48 of 385 in Venice
1,845 reviews
Castello
Hotel Casa Verardo - Residenza D'Epoca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Hotel American Dinesen
Hotel American Dinesen
#35 of 385 in Venice
1,567 reviews
Cannaregio
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
#33 of 385 in Venice
2,351 reviews
Cannaregio
Arcadia Boutique Hotel
Arcadia Boutique Hotel
#28 of 385 in Venice
861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Al Piave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Al Piave

Property: Hotel Al Piave
Address: Ruga Giuffa Castello 4838/40, 30122 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#27 Family Hotel in Venice
#54 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Al Piave 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Nozio Netplan srl, ACCOR, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Al Piave reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Piave Venice
Al Piave Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing