We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small, family-run hotel close to St Mark's Square”
Review of Hotel Al Piave

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Al Piave
Ranked #56 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Small, family-run hotel close to St Mark's Square”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Small, family-run hotel, a few minutes from St Mark's Square and a 5-10 min walk from the Rialto Bridge. Turn left on leaving the hotel, over the bridge with its gondolas passing beneath and you will be in the Campo Santa Maria Formosa, a really useful landmark when asking directions on getting lost in the maze of narrow streets, as we did frequently! Around every corner we saw people like us poring over maps. The family and employees were lovely, so kind and patient; the plentiful and varied breakfast was a pleasant surprise (do sample the pastries, as recommended by the father); we ate so much and drank so much coffee that we needed only a light lunch. The location is fantastic yet this bustling side street goes very quiet after 11pm due, I was told, to Venice's strict by-laws relating to noise - just the occasional passer-by or shutter being pulled down (our room was at the front of the hotel, directly above an excellent restaurant (the 'Artisti') where we ate so often that we were being given complimentary aperitifs and sorbets! On arrival we followed the useful directions on the hotel website from the S.Zaccaria water bus stop and had to ask directions only once, which we thought not bad for two elderly sisters after midnight! When we left, however, we tried to be clever and decided to walk to the Fondamente Nove water bus stop, forgetting that when we walked there before we didn't have luggage to manoeuvre over the (eight?) bridges!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jan d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

876 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    535
    291
    40
    8
    2
See reviews for
224
414
29
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
everywhere
Level Contributor
90 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Yes, yes...I know that rooms are small in Europe. My friend and I traveled together and had to share a very tiny room. It did have a lovely patio off the top of it, but our beds were separate but together. We were essentially sharing a bed as there was no room to push the beds apart. The bathroom was small but functional although the shower drain did not drain properly and there was some mold. The things we tend to overlook while away are not the same things we may overlook in our own home country. Our room was on the top floor so was quieter...location is good. Breakfast included the basics. Everyone was very nice and helpful.

Room Tip: We liked 115 with the patio across from the hotel in its own little building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wheretogonext1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dover, Ohio
Level Contributor
209 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

A very quaint hotel in Venice located in a great neighborhood. We loved the breakfast served. They offer a nice variety of food and beverages. I especially enjoyed the juice and cioccolatto (sp). Our room was updated nicely and we had plenty of room. We were in a queen and with the single in a separate room.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank carolc80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shawnee, Kansas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We had a wonderful stay at the Hotel Al Piave while in Venice a couple of weeks ago. We had our two children with us and were booked into a family suite that was quite spacious. The kids had one room. We had another and we shared a bathroom with them. The staff was extremely helpful. The breakfast was good. The facilities were very clean. I would highly recommend this hotel to others traveling to Venice.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joann L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We are a family of four with a 12 year old and a 16 year old. We loved our stay at Al Piave! I wish I had taken the names of everyone who was so helpful to us, but there was no one who was NOT very nice and helpful. We would definitely stay again!

We arrived at 8:30pm from all day train treks from Manarola, so we were exhausted. It was also our last stop on our two week "Sampler Tour" of Italy. We were given a very friendly and efficient check-in by the man at the front desk, complete with tips on the area and restaurant recommendations. They even carried our (really heavy) bags to the 2nd floor for us! Such a treat after carrying our bags up and down stairs all day. (No elevator, which is very common.)

Follow the walking directions given by the hotel that start when you exit the ferry. They were perfect, but do know it's at about a 15 minute walk with your luggage. Not a problem for us since we gave our luggage wheels a work out on our trip. (Here's a tip on the ferry. As you exit the train station, go to the booth to the far right at the water. They take credit cards. We never found a bancomat (ATM) at the train station. The lady at the TI desk said there may be one down one of the halls, or outside, but seemed unsure. I found it odd that she didn't know, but there is a booth for exchanging money if you're desperate and can't find one. Or just wait until you get into Venice.)

While we had been told it was much cheaper to stay outside the city, we knew we only had one full day so wanted to stay right in the heart of Venice. Hotel Al Piave was the perfect location. It was a short walk to Saint Mark's and the Rialto Bridge, both of which we needed to check off the must-see list. There is also a bancomat at the square down the street (to the left) from the hotel. We found that a lot of businesses (including gelato/sandwich shops, gondoliers, and water taxis) don't take credit cards, so we had to keep replenishing our euros. Breakfast at the hotel was perfect. They served fresh baked croissants, a variety of pastries, scrambled eggs, mixed fruit, etc. The cappuccinos were wonderful!

We were glad to see Saint Mark's (beautiful) and the Rialto Bridge, but I was so grateful to the lady at the desk at Al Piave who took the time to map out a good walking route for us to experience more of the "real" Venice, without the mass of other tourists. We spent most of the day following her map, as experiencing the city was more important to us than the actual sites listed in the guidebooks. So don't mistake the crazy tourist action around Saint Mark's as the "real Venice!" Explore the surrounding areas and you'll find the crowds quickly thin out. It's such a beautiful city.

We had a 'family suite,' which consisted of two separate rooms behind one main door - one room had two twins and one with a full - two twins pushed together. We found that pushing two twins together is very common in hotels. It never bothered us. Both rooms had closing doors. In the room with two twins, there was a sink off to the side in an alcove. Both rooms shared one bathroom with a shower. Everything was clean and very charming. I emailed back and forth with the hotel several times in our planning and they were always very quick to respond. There is someone at the front desk at all times.

At checkout, for €110, the hotel arranged a water taxi to take us to the airport (paid in cash to the water taxi driver). This was so worth it to us. The water taxi picks you up at the square to the left of the hotel (a 5 min. walk) and deposits you right in front of the airport. From there, it's about a 10 minute walk down well-marked pedestrian walkways.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Tglen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 June 2014

My mother and I stayed for two nights at this hotel in May. It was the best hotel we stayed at throughout our trip. The location is great...in a quiet area but a quick walk to everything. We arrived early and since our room wasn't quite ready they upgraded us to a larger room. My mom follows a gluten free diet so the staff made her a seperate tray of food for her for breakfast. The second day we informed them we would be leaving before breakfast so not to worry about making a tray her....instead they gladly offered to pack us breakfast so we would have something! Such amazing hospitality! I HIGHLY recommend staying here!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Superior, Colorado
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

The owners of the hotel were incredibly gracious and kind. The breakfast was fantastic. The hot chocolate with breakfast was so delicious it tasted like I was eating melted Godiva chocolate. I would stay here again and recommend it to anyone! Great location, friendly staff, comfortable rooms!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tvm1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Santa Croce
Hotel Ca' Zusto Venezia
Hotel Ca' Zusto Venezia
#54 of 384 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 810 reviews
Castello
Ca' dei Dogi
Ca' dei Dogi
#26 of 384 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 773 reviews
Castello
Hotel Casa Verardo - Residenza D'Epoca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Hotel da Bruno
Hotel da Bruno
#50 of 384 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 966 reviews
Castello
Hotel Palazzo Vitturi
Hotel Palazzo Vitturi
#32 of 384 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 901 reviews
Castello
Rio Venezia Hotel
Rio Venezia Hotel
#85 of 384 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Al Piave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Al Piave

Property: Hotel Al Piave
Address: Ruga Giuffa Castello 4838/40, 30122 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#27 Family Hotel in Venice
#54 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Al Piave 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, ACCOR, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HRS, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Al Piave reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Piave Venice
Al Piave Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing