We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and Friendly Staff”
Review of Hotel Al Piave

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Al Piave
Ranked #56 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Venice, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location and Friendly Staff”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Centrally located and so easy to access for the water taxis. Suite was very roomy and clean. The staff, especially Federico, was very helpful and speaks English. I would definately recommend. Decent price for the location

Room Tip: Hard to find places for family of 5. We had the suite and it was very roomy and comfortable. Keep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joyce T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

885 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    539
    295
    41
    8
    2
See reviews for
228
418
29
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Winter Park, CO
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

I loved this hotel for our brief stay in Italy. We had the Quadruple Classic room for my family of 4 which included 2 bedrooms (1 smaller one with a twin, the larger one with a queen and a twin). This was close enough to everything that it was easy to get wherever we needed while also being far enough from the square to be plenty quiet for sleep at night. We enjoyed people watching from the tables between the buildings in the evening after our kids had passed out in bed. I also truly appreciated the help I got from the front desk in confirming my very early in the morning water taxi from the nearest spot...I wouldn't want to be standing around at 4:00 am hoping a taxi came by.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cl_fowler_co
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Moline, Illinois
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Upon arriving (within two blocks of Hotel Al Piave) by water taxi from the airport, I had a friendly and efficient check-in to a comfortable double-bed air-conditioned room with private WC/shower. Breakfast featured scrambled eggs, fruit, cold meats, cheeses, cereals, and hot & cold beverages. The day & evening staff were very helpful in obtaining excursion reservations and Saturday night concert tickets. Once you walked the narrow streets one time with some directions assistance, it was only a few doors down to a laudromat, a 5 minutes walk to several excellent restaurants and St. Mark's Square, and a 10 minutes walk to the Rialto bridge area. I would definitely stay here again if visiting Venice.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellborn, Texas
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

It took some work to find the hotel. I'm glad we found it though. Very nice and the room was amazing. It was very hot w/o AC but that's what happens in the summer in Italy. The breakfast was very nice and we were so close to San Marco. There was wifi nearby and they did arrange a Sunday Trip to Murano. The owners and staff are very nice and we felt fortunate to have such a great place to stay. We were on the first floor but had we stayed on the second there was a lift and our rooms probably would have been cooler. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

I suppose just about every hotel in Venice is on a quaint little street. Al Piave is convenient enough to Piazza San Marco to be just a few minutes walk away, but far enough to be out of the way of the main tourist thoroughfares. You definitely feel a bit out of the way here, which is nice in a city so packed full of tourists. This was probably also the largest room and bathroom we've ever had in a European hotel. Now mind you, it's not massive, but by European standards it was roomy! The hotel staff was helpful when we needed information, and daily breakfast was decent. The room had high ceilings, large windows, huge bathroom, and was quaintly decorated. I think affordability and location are this hotel's biggest assets. If you are looking for a quaint independent hotel you will not be disappointed.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Meridith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa City, Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 July 2014

My family of four adults recently spent four days at the apartment that Hotel Al Piave owns and operates a block from their hotel. It is a nice little 3-story, 2-bedroom apartment with a sleeping sofa, full kitchen, and full bath. We especially liked the washing machine and hung our clothes out to dry on the clothesline attached to the building as we saw everyone else in Venice doing. Although the location is close to San Marco Square, it is a little bit away from the busy tourist areas so it is quieter. There is a nice bakery right next door and other shops and restaurants in the immediate area. The Hotel al Piave staff are available 24 hours a day and were always helpful. This was a perfect fit for our family and we really enjoyed it!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Becky S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

First off, we originally booked a quad room, and ended with 2 separate rooms, how awesome is that? Had we not gotten 2 rooms, this still would be an excellent hotel, just maybe not 5 stars then, but 4.

Getting to the hotel is an adventure in itself. You wind through back passageways until finally arriving at the front desk. All the staff was helpful and polite.

Our rooms were both spacious (2 people per room) and clean. The beds were comfortable and the pillows great. I often have a difficult time sleeping in American hotels as the pillows and mattresses are often sub par, not at Al Piave. I had no issue falling asleep. The decor was not so much to my taste, but seemed to fit with the Venician feel. The bathroom was decent but small by American standards (all European bathrooms feel small, especially the showers).

Now lets get to the best part, breakfast. There was a wide variety of food for breakfast. The servers even brought out eggs, which I am guessing was for the Americans. My wife, says she had the best coffee in Italy here. She loved it. And there was convenient seating outside (off the main street) so you can relax and watch all the tourist scurry about. And believe me, seating outside in Venice which you do not have to pay for is hard to find.

The location was great, once you understand how to find the hotel. It is between St Marks and the Rialto bridge, with a nice open square a few feet from the hotel.

We stayed in several hotels throught out Belgium and Italy, and the Al' Piave takes the prize as the best.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Curtis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Hotel da Bruno
Hotel da Bruno
#48 of 385 in Venice
990 reviews
Castello
Hotel Casa Verardo - Residenza D'Epoca
Castello
Hotel Palazzo Vitturi
Hotel Palazzo Vitturi
#32 of 385 in Venice
916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Ca' dei Dogi
Ca' dei Dogi
#26 of 385 in Venice
793 reviews
Castello
Hotel Sant'Antonin
Hotel Sant'Antonin
#17 of 385 in Venice
939 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#51 of 385 in Venice
1,793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Al Piave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Al Piave

Property: Hotel Al Piave
Address: Ruga Giuffa Castello 4838/40, 30122 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#19 Best Value Hotel in Venice
#27 Family Hotel in Venice
#54 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Al Piave 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Nozio Netplan srl, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, ACCOR, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Al Piave reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Piave Venice
Al Piave Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing