We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would not stay there again!”
Review of Hotel Belle Arti

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Belle Arti
Ranked #235 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Would not stay there again!”
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Where should I start: WE came for 3 nights in March after the first night I wanted to check into new hotel. Was told that we would have to pay for all 3 nights. Ok fine.
The hotel is hard to get to. Staff are really unfriendly and really just could care less.
We stayed in the wing across the way, the room was dingy and smelly, thankfully we had windows we could open. For $200.00 a night I was expecting at least clean. The pillows were like sawdust in pillowcases, I asked twice for new pillows and was told they did not have any...Really....Breakfast was runny yogurt With canned fruit and bread. Can we just say...DIVE....Disappointing

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeannine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

817 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    297
    223
    90
    117
See reviews for
122
399
40
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
344 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

I recently spent 2 nights at the Hotel Belle Arti and really enjoyed my stay. I was there with my mother, who had stayed there during high season before and said that the room we had this time (on the third floor) was nicer and more spacious than the one she previously stayed it. I really cannot say anything negative about this hotel and having read several extremely negative reviews about this place wonder if people had never stayed in an Italian hotel before. Yes, a 3* hotel in Italy is very different from, say, in Japan, but this hotel was by far superior to any 4* hotel I have ever stayed in in London, both with regards to the room and breakfast.
Our room was clean, lavishly decorated and had windows (that could be opened) both in the bedroom and bathroom. Whatever staff I interacted with were friendly and polite and they were also extremely quick and efficient at clearing tables during "breakfast rush hour" and refilling everything. I have experienced very minimal breakfast buffets in Italy and this was very generous in comparison. The breakfast room is rather small and cramped since, clearly, most people prefer to take breakfast outside on the (large and very nice) terrace when the weather is warmer. The hotel is conveniently located a very short walk from both the "Zattere" and "Accademia" vaporetto (water bus) stops and has many restaurants and shops nearby. I would definitely book the Belle Arti again. WiFi is not included in the room-rate (at least it wasn't in ours), but can be purchased at EUR 5 for 24 hours.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marichan X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merseyside
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

I hadn't read the review prior to staying at the hotel, and I'm glad I didn't! Having went with Family, my cousin had recommended the hotel. It's not The Ritz, and the staff won't wait on you hand and foot, however the prices were great, and for the pice so was the service! The room was lovely and very clean with maids cleaning them everyday, they were on the small side but perfectly fine and traditional Italian decor. The breakfast consisted of cereals, yoghurts, meats and pastries so really there was something for everyone. The staff were helpful, and gave ideas as to where to go and what to do. The hotel has a bar, which the gentleman at reception kept open for us one night when all the other bars had closed! We had no problems with differing prices and paid around 4 euros a drink.There were some students staying along the hall from us, and they were noisy but after a long day of sight seeing couldn't keep us from our sleep!They had a room to keep luggage in once checked out, however the door was not locked or supervised, so very much down to your own call whether to leave your belongings there (we did, and had the view everybody else was in the same boat!-our bags were fine!)
Excellent location for the supermarket nearby and in a lovely street near the local shops. So many beautiful shops and resturants nearby, and for a first time Venice go-er like myself, a great location to get to everywhere we wanted to go. I would stay here again on the basis of price, convenience and overall quality of the hotel. This review is based on using the hotel as a drop in point whilst on a sight seeing trip, however if you were looking to stay around the hotel and have early nights, this may not be the hotel for you!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Haute_Hippie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mullingar
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Where would i start about this place, i booked this as a valentines present for my wife for a 5 day break, we found it hard to get to as most prople wont answer you so we ended up on wrong taxi boats, when we got there we checked in with an arogant lady, we got to are room and found it dirty i straight away went back to reception and asked to be moved which in fairness to them they did move us to a smaller dirtier room, we ended up taking the second room that was offered to us which had a damp smell and rotten wood around the door frames, the breakfast is like a cattle mart in the morning which i didnt find at all apealing with the ques of people when we did get served we had bread! Bar staff are terrible overcharge for rounds of drinks serve other people cheaper then if you complain ask you to leave, We were on a 5 day break and stayed for 2 nights and booked an early flight home for the 3rd day i foumd the hotel dirty, smelly full of ignorant arogant self centred people that were no help at all i would urge people not ever to stay here id rather sleep on the laneway outside

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Johnny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Venice hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

The hotel rooms are nice but the people at the front desk will give you dirty looks especially if you are from America they are very bad about giving two keys out if there's more than one person in the room. The complementary breakfast is crap The only thing good at breakfast is there croissants which they never put out enough or they won't put them out at all and only give them to the non-Americans.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Tyler A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
81 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Hotel Belle Arti is located very conveniently by the Giudecca vaporetto stop and the Ponte dell'Accademia. It's easily reached and situated by a relatively quiet street.
The overall appearance, apart from the garden, is on the shabby side.
The breakfast is superb compared to typical Italian hotel breakfasts.
But - the bartender didn't give any receipts from our drinks, altered the prices of the drinks depending on the person, and when we complained he accused us of stealing!
Quite a few staff are clearly not Italian.
Some members of our group had problems with air-conditioning (in August!), but it took a long time to fix the problem.
Overall an ok hotel because of the location, but would not necessarily recommend it otherwise.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms are huge, some so small that two persons have to take turns when walking around th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristiina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Menlo Park
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Very easy to find and it's quiet. Room 101 gets internet reception so you don't have to only surf in the lobby, but the door handle from the outside is loose but still safe. The room did have a musky smell but I spread some essential oil freshener and now it's a non issue. One electric outlet was coming off the wall. Small plasma tv gets CNN and BBC but no English movie channels. Breakfast is nothing to write home about. Staff so far are appropriate. Room and sheets are cleaned/changed daily.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank judy18627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Domus Cavanis
Domus Cavanis
#291 of 385 in Venice
257 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Locanda Ca' Zose
Locanda Ca' Zose
#152 of 385 in Venice
638 reviews
Hotel Agli Alboretti
#172 of 385 in Venice
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Hotel Messner Palace
Hotel Messner Palace
#322 of 385 in Venice
640 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Belle Epoque
Hotel Belle Epoque
#198 of 385 in Venice
912 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Hotel Galleria
Hotel Galleria
#180 of 385 in Venice
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Belle Arti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Belle Arti

Property: Hotel Belle Arti
Address: Rio Terra Foscarini, 912/A | Dorsoduro, 30123 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Dorsoduro / Accademia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #235 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Belle Arti 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HOTEL BELLE ARTI*** VENICE A quaint 3 star hotel located opposite to the Accademia Belle Arti from which we take our name. Hotel Belle Arti Venezia has recently undergone renovations and we are proud to offer our guests 67 air-conditioned rooms in classic ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Belle Arti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belle Arti Venice
Belle Arti Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing