We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable & comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Bernardi Semenzato
Ranked #147 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Affordable & comfortable”
Reviewed 22 October 2013 via mobile

We had 3 nights in an annex room (shared bathroom). Wonderfully quiet location, with a comfortable double bed. The room was tastefully furnished, but a bit overcrowded which made it hard to move around. There are quite a lot of stairs leading up to the annex, so not suitable for anyone with mobility problems.

Bedroom & bathroom were very clean. Fresh bath towels were provided but not changed during our stay. No hand towel or bath mat.

The wifi was patchy, and unusable for long periods of time.

Overall we had a good stay. We appreciated having breakfast provided, and loved the location as it was central, yet quiet. Would definitely stay here again, as it was very good value for money in Venice!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank tristesse73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Bernardi S, Direttore generale at Hotel Bernardi Semenzato, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
dear guest,
thank you, we are happy to know that you felt comfortable with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

905 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    265
    407
    160
    42
    31
See reviews for
185
404
60
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

location is close to rialto bridge and good restaurants. rooms were huge and clean as we were upgraded to the annex. breakfast was average with limited choices, most of the pastries are sweet. the wifi was not functional on one of the nights and the annex, instead of fixing the connection, we were told to walk over on a freezing night to the main building to use the wifi. when asked if we could turn on the heater, we were told that the system was centralized and to cover up ourselves with more blanket instead. there were mosquitoes at night.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pinkraze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Bernardi S, Direttore generale at Hotel Bernardi Semenzato, responded to this review, 19 October 2013
dear guest
thanks for your nice review.

We are sorry if the wifi didn't work very well, but the modems are machine, and sometimes they broke or have problems. So the best solution we could offer you is to use our connection and computer at the main hotel, so you could connect.

About the heating, again, we did the best we could giving you more blankets, in Italy by low we can't open the eating as we please, it is centralized, there is a policy we have to respect in order to be sustainable.
About the mosquito, they live when it is hot, we highly recommend our guests to keep always the windows closed because Venice is an island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Ahh beautiful Venice. This is one of the few places that completely meet everyone's expectations, so matter how lofty. It's really just as gorgeous and breathtaking as you imagined it would be. Real estate here though, is probably premium and hotel prices are steep, steep, steep. Hotel Bernardi offers a smokin' deal that won't completely kick your budget in the teeth. We opted for the double room without a private bathroom (70 euros/night I think). Awesome price, but sharing a bathroom is reminiscent of college or hostel days, and not in a good way. A tip - keep your windows closed and use the AC - mosquito are plentiful (durrrr given all the stagnant water)! Very convenient location, walking distance to Santa Lucia, and you'll have no problems getting to any tourist attraction from here. Overall, totally worth the price but spring for a private bathroom if you can.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thrillhouse v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Bernardi S, Direttore generale at Hotel Bernardi Semenzato, responded to this review, 19 October 2013
dear guest,
many thanks for your review. We appreciate your tips for other travelers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

A family-run hotel, very clean and friendly. Comfortable beds and good linens. Location is excellent within a few minutes of the Rialto Bridge, a ten-minute walk to Piazza San Marco, yet in a quiet residential area that gives you a sense of the real Venice. Two great restaurants just outside the front door. Our wi-fi in the main building was quick and very reliable. Staff is inobtrusive but very helpful and knowledgeable when asked. All-in-all, a great choice.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sblom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Bernardi S, Direttore generale at Hotel Bernardi Semenzato, responded to this review, 19 October 2013
dear guest,
grazie, your comment is very important to us. We are happy you had an excellent stay at the main Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castleton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We stayed in the annex for 3 nights and were really pleased with our room. It was a large room with double aspect windows. The bathroom was of a good size and modern and everything was spotlessly clean. The room was cleaned every day with fresh towels as well. The room was decorated in venetian style with bed and all furniture matching.

The free wi-fi worked perfectly. The breakfast was fine - continental style and enough to start us on our day. The hotel is in a great location - the annex was on a particularly quiet street but within walking distance of where we wanted to go. We can highly recommend the annex and would definitely stay here next time we visit Venice.

Room Tip: We could recommend room 3 in the annex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnMaria33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Bernardi S, Direttore generale at Hotel Bernardi Semenzato, responded to this review, 19 October 2013
dear John,
thank you so much for your lovely feedback.
We are always happy to read that our guests had a great stay with us and that the would come to visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 October 2013

My husband and I stayed here for one night before taking a train to Slovenia. Our room was in the annex, and I called it the "princess room" as it was decorated with pastel pinks and lots of lace. It was small, but met our needs and was the least expensive hotel we found. The price included breakfast, which was also nice. We took a water bus from the airport and got lost on our way to the hotel, but we managed to find it eventually. The receptionist was quite unfriendly the night we got there, but the next morning we were greeted by a much friendlier receptionist who was Italian. He was very kind and helpful and allowed us to store our backpacks at the hotel during the morning. If you do that, make sure you take anything important as the bags are fairly accessible to anyone. We would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caity M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Bernardi S, Direttore generale at Hotel Bernardi Semenzato, responded to this review, 19 October 2013
dear guest,
thank you for your positive review.
we always try our best to satisfy our clients and to help them if they have any problem.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for 1 night. We were taken to the annex after we checked in, and while I felt disappointed at the time, I believe from reading the other reviews here that we got the better end of the deal.
Our room was absolutely huge, with a enormous double bed for us and two single beds for our suitcases! The room was decorated in antique Venetian style and had a large modern en suite attached.
As we were staying in the annex we didn't have a lot to do with the staff, though I was fairly disappointed that the gentleman who checked us in grabbed an umbrella for himself and left us to walk to the annex in the pouring rain while our suitcases got wet. Please also note that there is no lift, so you will have to carry luggage up two four flights of stairs to reach the annex.
We got up too late the following morning to have breakfast, but it didn't look like we had missed much when we stored our suitcases in the breakfast room after breakfast service was finished.
The hotel is in a great spot for seeing all the major attractions in Venice, but I highly recommend that you take the Vaporetto if you are coming from the train station.
So all told, a pretty good little hotel in a great location, we would certainly consider returning.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ConstantlyinAwe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Bernardi S, Direttore generale at Hotel Bernardi Semenzato, responded to this review, 19 October 2013
dear guest,
thank you for your nice comment. we are happy to read you enjoyed our room in the annex

About the umbrella, we are sorry, we are a 2 stars hotel, we do not have umbrellas with us for our guests. if we had, we would have given to you one of them.
Moreover your arrived by foot without an umbrella and it was raining so we thought it was not a problem for you ( because on the street there are a lot of shops where you can buy them).

In Venice there are no lift at all, even in big palaces in the gran canal or in 4 stars hotel, because is a very ancient city, built in wood, and it is very hard to try to built them.
In any case while you book you can ask for a lower floor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Hotel Belvedere
#240 of 385 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
San Marco
Hotel San Samuele
Hotel San Samuele
#105 of 385 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
San Marco
Hotel San Salvador
Hotel San Salvador
#103 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Croce
Hotel Dalla Mora
Hotel Dalla Mora
#75 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
Cannaregio
Ca' Fontanea
Ca' Fontanea
#162 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
Alexander Hotel
#196 of 385 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bernardi Semenzato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bernardi Semenzato

Property: Hotel Bernardi Semenzato
Address: Sestiere Cannaregio 4366 | Calle dell'Oca, 30121 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Venice
#128 Family Hotel in Venice
#152 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Bernardi Semenzato 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Bernardi Semenzato reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bernardi Semenzato Hotel
Bernardi Semenzato Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing