We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and price quality” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Bernardi Semenzato

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Bernardi Semenzato
Ranked #146 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Cascais, Lisboa, Portugal
Level Contributor
82 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great location and price quality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013 via mobile

I don't have anything specifically bad to say about the hotel.
The price/quality is great.
The location is amazing.
I would definitely consider to stay there on my 3rd time in Venice.
The rooms are clean.
The staff could be a little bit more cheerful, as they answer you a little bit like they are making you a favor (talking about a blond lady who checked us out and the gentleman of Indian origins who checked us in).
We stayed at the annex, and I truly liked the time spent here.
Thanks.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank JPaschoal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Bernardi S, Direttore generale at Hotel Bernardi Semenzato, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
dear guest,
thank you, we really appreciate your words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

887 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    261
    399
    155
    41
    31
See reviews for
184
394
58
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013 via mobile

This is a very nice bed and breakfast located in a good area away from all of the tourists. Staff was extremely friendly and allowed us to keep out bags with them while we waited for our train that night even though we checked out. Highly recommend!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank gilster1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Bernardi S, Direttore generale at Hotel Bernardi Semenzato, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you for your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quispamsis, Nb
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

Want a clean comfortable hotel, that provided good service - then this is it. If you are expecting North American quality, then forget it. This is Venice. It provided us a comfortable base for 4 days. The room was small but the queen bed provided a good nights sleep, with an adequate small ensuite which was clean. It provided a typical European breakfast that was adequate for the day ahead. It is very well situated just 2 blocks away from the Grand Canal. They recommended a restaurant that was on the same alleyway as the hotel and this did not disappoint. Only issue was that the TV provided did not work.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wardy48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Bernardi S, Direttore generale at Hotel Bernardi Semenzato, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you for your post.
You are right Venice is very different from North America, it is different from any other city in the world and everything is peculiar here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

After hyperventilating over the cost of hotels in Venice, we were relieved to find this option and prepared to endure some discomfort to economize. On the advice of other reviewers, we stayed in a deluxe annex room with ensuite bath and were very happy with our choice. The room was large, aggressively but tastefully floral, and relatively quiet considering we slept with open windows. The bathroom was clean but smelled — maybe because of the standing water in the floor drain, and maybe this is a common Venice issue. Hotel staff were perfunctory but always helpful. Breakfast was nothing to write home about, but the coffee was divine. Wifi was hit and miss in the annex, so we got in the habit of checking e-mail over breakfast in the main building. We are walkers and found it quite doable to walk to the Giardini and Arsenale for the Biennale, and to the train station when we departed (allow time to lift your suitcase up and down many bridge steps). We had a couple of good, inexpensive meals at the almost-next-door restaurant that I think is owned by the same family. Unless the plusher hotels halve their prices, we will stay here agin.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank woollymammoth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Bernardi S, Direttore generale at Hotel Bernardi Semenzato, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
dear guest,
grazie mille for sharing your experience with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

We were anticipating a family run type operation but did not get that feeling -- no morning greeting by the owners and light, friendly conversation at some point. Most, if not all, our interactions were with staff. The lady on the desk in the evening who greeted us when we arrived was friendly and helpful. Other staff did their job but did not add to the experience. In a bigger hotel, I would not think twice about this, but it just seemed a miss in this small, intimate environment that promotes it is family run. Our room was as expected and did the job. There was a problem with the toilet constantly running at first. I reported this to the person on duty and was told it is a known issue and they would fix it the next day. The next day it was still not fixed and so I told a gentleman who I believe is the owner. It was fixed when we returned that day. It was only slightly annoying and did not affect our stay.
I did not see any information booklet in the room, which would have been nice since there are things that would be good to know. In particular, I was told all the doors are locked between 1:00am and 7:00am and we would require a key to exit between these time, which we did get and use. This raised some concern for me that we had been "locked in". In an email exchange after the fact, I was told that there are emergency doors you can exit without a key that trigger an alarm which sounds. Specific instructions in each room concerning this would be good.
Overall, it was a good location and met our needs at the right price. If it were a little more guest friendly, my rating would be higher.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank starrways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Bernardi S, Direttore generale at Hotel Bernardi Semenzato, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
dear guest,
we always try to be very friendly and kind, sometime especially in hight season, we are really busy but it doesn't mean we do not care.
In our free maps we suggests which sites to visit and there are several itineraries depending on the days people are staying.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013 via mobile

We followed the helpful signs from the Ca'd'Oro stop to the hotel to check in and were informed that we would be staying in the annex two blocks away. Fine, but why couldn't they have informed us ahead of time? It created a feeling of immediate disappointment. The man who greeted us walked us there (after placing the prosecco we ordered in a bucket of lukewarm water) and directed us up two flights of stairs with all our luggage, never offering to help. When we reached our room he explained no details (except that breakfast was in the main hotel from 8-10), and I had to ask him to explain the set of 4 keys he gave us for the 3 doors we needed to unlock in order to get to our room. We eventually discovered the wi-fi password when we happened upon the wi-fi explanation sheet in the "lobby" of our annex. There was very little information in our room, except a sheet on a desk explaining how to use the heat. The fire evacuation route posted near the door seemed to highlight a different room than the one we stayed in. We checked out early in the morning (6:30) on our way to the airport, and the lobby is not 24 hours. We rang the bell and the same man who showed us to our room opened the door and admonished us for not reading the materials posted in the room explaining we should have checked out the night before. We partook in the breakfast one of our mornings, it was the least impressive of all our hotel breakfasts-very little variety, but fine enough. Overall our experience was disappointing and we would not recommend this hotel.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank FiercelyIndependent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Bernardi S, Direttore generale at Hotel Bernardi Semenzato, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
dear Guest,
we are really sorry if you felt disappointed.
We are sorry for the complaining of our staff, we will find out who was working that day and we will speak with them.
Our hotel is a 2 stars hotel, so we do not offer some services you were aspected to.
We do not offer a porter service, but if we see some people with difficulties with their luggage we always try to help them. Moreover our lobby during the day is always opened and our receptionist is really helpful with all the questions our guests have.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

This is not a chain, but a little family-run hotel tucked in a narrow street in a great location. We had a standard room in the main hotel: the room was small, but not unusually so for Europe; we are average-sized Americans and we felt we had plenty of room! The room, including the bathroom, was very clean and the bed was comfortable. The shower was good with plenty of hot water. The wi-fi was great - much better than we usually encounter even in corporate hotels. I wish we had recorded the name of the friendly, professional woman who staffed the front desk during the day - she was very helpful, to the extent of helping us haul our luggage to our third-floor room when she saw that one of us had an injury. Our one caveat is that, like many older properties, it is not soundproof. When visiting cities, we always travel with earplugs: that's all it takes for a good night's sleep and a great stay. One more note: the hotel's website offers excellent directions to find the hotel from the train station. When you're travel-drained and tired, that is very helpful.

Room Tip: There is no lift, so if you have mobility issues, you might want to avoid the third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CasualFriday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Bernardi S, Direttore generale at Hotel Bernardi Semenzato, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
dear guest,
thank you so much for your opinion.
the young lady's name is Santina, she is very happy to read your words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel San Samuele
Hotel San Samuele
#111 of 385 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
Hotel Belvedere
#247 of 385 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
San Marco
Hotel San Salvador
Hotel San Salvador
#110 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Croce
Hotel Dalla Mora
Hotel Dalla Mora
#98 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
Alexander Hotel
#195 of 385 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Ca' Dogaressa
Hotel Ca' Dogaressa
#62 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bernardi Semenzato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bernardi Semenzato

Property: Hotel Bernardi Semenzato
Address: Sestiere Cannaregio 4366 | Calle dell'Oca, 30121 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Venice
#128 Family Hotel in Venice
#152 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Bernardi Semenzato 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Bernardi Semenzato reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bernardi Semenzato Hotel
Bernardi Semenzato Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing