We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Finally! A Great Hotel at a Reasonable Price in Venice”
Review of Hotel Bucintoro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Bucintoro
Ranked #20 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Melville WA
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Finally! A Great Hotel at a Reasonable Price in Venice”
Reviewed 19 July 2012

After 3 months in Italy (and getting towards the end of our stay) we spent three nights in Venice at the Hotel Bucintoro. At the price and the location, a better hotel would be difficult to find in Venice. We have visted Venice several times staying in various hotels and Bucintoro is the pick of the bunch. Right on the lagoon, with beautiful views - get a corner room if you can - views of the lagoon from all four windows! It is clean, the rooms are well appointed, the staff friendly, courtious and ever helpful; nothing was too much trouble. Just 10 minutes from San Marco but far enough away to escape the crowds at the end of the day and the vaparetto stop is just metres away. Breakfast was more than plentiful, cold buffet, fruit, cereals etc and for a small charge hot, cooked breakfast was available. All in all a great place to stay at the close of our Italian holiday..

Room Tip: All rooms have a view and "corner rooms" have a view fronm all four windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gianni47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,310 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,023
    239
    34
    9
    5
See reviews for
197
935
30
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Beverly Hills, California
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2012

Located near the water overlooking the lagoon with a beautiful view of Venice. The staff was very friendly and helpful, answering all of our questions with a smile. The breakfast was very good, offering a nice variety of fruits, pastries, breads and juices/water. The cappucinnos and expressos were well made and served by a friendly staff. The rooms were clean but very small - I believe typical for a Venice standard room. That said, the bathroom was actually quite decent and it had a shower. There were plenty of connectors and space to charge our variety of electronic gizmos. It was about a 10 minute walk to St. Mark's square and a short distance to the water bus stop. This was our first stop on our vacation and it turned out to be a wise choice. We would certainly stay here again if we ever visit Venice in the future.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Keith999_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wiltshire england
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2012

Perfect location, very good hotel.
Four days in Venice to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary. We chose our hotel carefully, and it was perfect. We had booked a standard room, but were lucky to be upgraded and so were in room 501, with a roof terrace, and fabulous views, though given the hotel location it looks like all rooms will have good views. The decor of the hotel is very good throughout, and our room was excellent.
The hotel is ideally located, very easy to get to on arrival. During our stay its location was perfect, a short walk to the key sights, but located away from crowds, and on the edge of a charming residential area, with what looked like good restaurants very near by.
From the moment we arrived we felt well looked after, the staff are attentive and friendly.
From the trip advisor reviews I expected this to be a good hotel. It lived up to this, we are pleased we chose Bucintoro, and if we return to Venice again would use this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank NandW_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, PA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Hotel Bucintoro was an ideal place to stay for our 2-day stay in Venice. The hotel is situated right on the water, looking out over the beautiful lagoon and the city of Venice. From the window of your hotel room you can look out on St. Mark's Square. Rooms were clean and relatively spacious, breakfast in the morning was wonderful. The staff there was so very friendly and helpful -- you can ask them anything and they will take care of it! From tips regarding where to eat to arranging transportation.

The best part of it for us was the location -- It was away from the crowded, noisy main section of Venice. However, there will still various little restaurants and shops around us, so it was by no means isolated. After enjoying a day walking, shopping, and eating, it was nice to come back to our quiet little hotel. Yet it was about a 10 min walk to St. Mark's Square, so you could be right in the "heart" of Venice in no time.

Do not hesitate to book this place -- we were so happy we did! It was a perfect start for our trip to Italy!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rena B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ewellis
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

My 20 year old son and I spent 5 nights at the Bucintoro in late June. Our junior sweet was lovely, immaculately clean, and comfortable. The exquisite view of the grand canal was icing on the cake. The front desk and breakfast room staffs provided impeccable service, answering questions, offering directions and making dinner reservations. Breakfast was perfect -- good hot coffee, beautiful fruit, eggs and pastries. We couldn't have been more pleased with the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ewellis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

Sadly I didn't get the chance to experience this hotel as our 'experience' was less than satisfying from the very start.

As a keen traveller I always plan ahead and spend hours searching all the websites and advice sights for the right hotel - as we all do on this site I feel??!!?? So after all this planning I didn't want to loose out on getting the hotel I had chosen for our first night in Venice to slip through my fingers, so made a booking some 9mths before.

After a long journey and an early start we were so pleased to arrive at our destination on a warm and sunny afternoon. However, what I had never expected was to be greeted by the Manager (?) at reception saying the dreaded words "I have good news and bad news"!! Long and the short of it was that they had over-booked (so much for the booking 9mths ahead to save disappointment!) and he had booked us into another hotel along the way.

Two top tips for this chap on future over-booking is:
1/ Tell your guests (although we never actually were your guests) that you have booked them into a better hotel and with a better room grade than they had booked with you.
2/ Get your bell-boys to carry your guests brand new luggage with care over the bridges and cobbled streets rather than bang them up & down them using two wheels instead of the four!

You can probably picture the scene, we were taken to the new hotel over 3/4 bridges following the bell-boys bashing our suitcases along the way and funny old thing, my suitcase lost a wheel and they looked at me as if it was my fault! (this caused such hassle for the rest of our holiday as my husband had to carry it most of the time after that).

The good news is that the Metropole Hotel they moved us to was excellent and we had a Junior Suite instead of the Classic Room we had booked with them. The only disappointment again is that we had booked (9mths in advance) a lagoon view room and were around the side at the Metropole. Other details were probably greatly improved, although we will never know............!

Only advice here is to hope to get what you paid for but hey you might be pleasantly surprised and end up with something better! Just expect the unexpected and carry your own luggage!!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank AiryTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sterling Heights, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2012

The Hotel Bucintoro was a great find! We stayed for 4 nights in May 2012. The hotel is located at the edge of a residential neighborhood, which means that the area surrounding the hotel is quiet and not trampled by tourists. Most tourists will make it as far as the souvenir carts a few bridges away and then turn around. The staff was welcoming, helpful, and friendly, the room was clean and comfortable, and the cold breakfast was filling and tasty. I am quite sure that we had the best hotel room in all of Venice. The room was smaller than expected, but still large enough to not feel cramped. What the room lacked in size, it made up for with the amazing view. We had exclusive access to the private rooftop terrace, which we enjoyed for several hours each evening, sipping wine and watching the boats go by until sunset. We are sure our experience in Venice would have been much different if we did not have this particular room in this wonderful hotel and we are sure that it would not have been nearly as memorable!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelBug0313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Ca' Pisani Hotel
Ca' Pisani Hotel
#16 of 385 in Venice
1,783 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Ca' Maria Adele
Ca' Maria Adele
#7 of 385 in Venice
636 reviews
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel L'Orologio
#24 of 385 in Venice
689 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#2 of 385 in Venice
1,886 reviews
Cannaregio
Arcadia Boutique Hotel
Arcadia Boutique Hotel
#26 of 385 in Venice
849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bucintoro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bucintoro

Property: Hotel Bucintoro
Address: Castello 2135/a, 30122 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#18 Family Hotel in Venice
#19 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#38 Business Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Bucintoro 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facing the San Marco Docks right near Piazza San Marco, Hotel Bucintoro embraces the maritime lifeblood of Venice with charming spaces inspired by ancient sailboats and galleys that once bobbed right in front of the hotel. An elegant 4-star hotel in the historic center of Venice, Hotel Bucintoro offers rooms, junior suites and suites overlooking San Marco, embellished with the necessary comforts and services... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Nozio Netplan srl, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Hotel Bucintoro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bucintoro Hotel Venice
Venice Bucintoro Hotel
Pensione Bucintoro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing