We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Near San Marco but quiet location”
Review of Hotel Bucintoro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Bucintoro
Ranked #19 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Near San Marco but quiet location”
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Lovely hotel with nice staff. Wifi worked fine for us. Breakfast was more than enough - I just wish it was served earlier than 7:15am. Room and bathroom were pretty big for European standards. And the best part? LOCATION! It is very close to the Arsenale vaporetto stop with just one bridge to cross - and this was the only bridge I saw that had a ramp, which made lugging our suitcases so easy. The hotel is just about 10 minutes from San Marco yet so quiet.

Room Tip: There is a big beautiful yacht docked in front of the hotel so ask for a higher floor room to be abl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geneva P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,312 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,025
    239
    34
    9
    5
See reviews for
197
937
30
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Great location for the Biennale and 150 meters from the Arsenale airport-waterbus stop. Stayed in the very comfortable and beautifully appointed rooftop suite with private balcony providing amazing panoramas of San Marco and San Giorgio. Professional staff, good housekeeping. Tea/coffee making facilities appreciated. Good selection at breakfast buffet (07:15 – 10:45). WiFi worked fine in our room and on the balcony.

Room Tip: You only live once so splash out for the suite with the private balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 993crew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We chose this hotel based on the reviews we had read on here, for our mini honeymoon in Venice!
The hotel was fab! We had a junior suite on the very top floor and were even spoilt with our own roof terrace looking out over the lagoon and over Venice.
The rooms are quite small and dark, but we expected this from the theme of the hotel, but were clean and well in very good condition.
The staff couldn't have been more helpful..we came down to breakfast late on our first morning, and were about to head out to find somewhere to eat, but the receptionist ushered us into the dining room and a member of staff brought us some croissants and coffee/chocolate! They also arranged a trip for us to go to Murano, allowing us to do this trip by water taxi which was free!
All in all, we had a fantastic stay in Venice and would fully recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fastandred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We booked our room while returning from a cruise, and had very little choice (Venice was fully booked in August). We were amazingly surprised as soon as we entered in the tiny lobby of the Hotel. We were warmly welcome and were upgraded for free. We had a suite located on the 4th floor with a view on the canal. The experience was amazing. The room was well decorated and we felt like in an old boat cabin, all made of wood with boat furniture. Really amazing. The most funny thing is that looking through the windows we could see the boats on the canal like if we were sailing.
The bathroom was amazing with Italian marble. All well decorated.
The breakfast area is tiny which can be the only downside of the stay, but in all honesty it did not bothered me at all. We were in a great mood thanks to the staff who is doing its best to deliver a great experience.
One upside though is that it is very quiet, very close to many nice restaurant, far from the crowd and in the middle of many exhibition from the Biennale....not to forget the beautiful yacht that dock at the step of the front door.
Perfect!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yf7003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

This is a really nice hotel. Helpful staff, well kept rooms, lift to get suitcases upstairs, air con. Breakfast is very nicely served with a range of cereals, meats and cheeses, rolls, cakes etc plus optional cooked items for an additional fee. Tea comes as the usual (in Italy) hot water in a tea pot plus tea bags but the water was hot enough to make a decent cuppa.
We'd hoped for a good view of the lagoon but the mega yacht Phoenix 2 tied up outside half an hour after our arrival and blocked most of it out completely. We can't really complain because there's a similar picture on the hotel website. And it was the Venice Film Festival so we should have expected it.
Why only a four? The bathroom was a bit cramped for us and there was a lot of black marble in there! The breakfast room seemed a bit cramped as well. But this is Venice and this is in a prime spot.
If you come here, Via Garibaldi has plenty of good restaurants at pretty reasonable prices which are a bit cheaper then the lagoon side tourist places. There's a variety of shops too.

Room Tip: Either go for a guaranteed view down to St Marks Square or gamble on a lagoon view depending on whet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amandah209011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We were really looking forward to our stay in Venice and though we were prepared to spend a bit extra on such a fantastic location especially as we were keen to visit the bienniale, we were not prepared for so many aspects of our stay to be quite so unsatisfactory! Whilst some of the service was received was more than adequate, at £400 a night, we expected the following: a hugely better quality breakfast - ripe fruit/ to run out of the non-sugared brioche every day/ poor quality coffee etc. ; a tap for the bath rather than having to run the shower and therefore not getting adequately warm for comfort; a bed cover for the duration of our stay - i.e. not to be removed on the first night, leaving a coarse rug on the bed; for pillows not to be removed - with just one pillow with a bolster, we were quite mystified to be told by reception staff that the bolsters had been taken away for cleaning though these were returned upon request the following day; we also expected for our honeymoon not to be out in a room with two single beds pushed together, and not to discover that there was nothing they were able to do about it till our last evening, having been reassured by reception staff on the second morning that they could replace it. There was also a really massive boat right outside our main windows on the last evening which somewhat spoilt the lagoon view by completely blocking it! To top this off when we finally moved into another room with a double bed for your honeymoon on the last night of your stay we did not expect to find the room had a toilet that was leaking enough to completely cover the bathroom floor. Thinking that my partner had been a bit clumsy using the shower, I had mopped it up myself in the morning, but upon returning at the end of a long day, it was obvious that it was the toilet, and the porter was totally inadequately prepared for dealing with the situation, left one soaked towel in the bathroom, and carried wet towels throughout the room, before eventually going to get a mop! To top it off, the reception manager was hardly apologetic the ext day when we checked out, calling in the cleaning staff to account without any explanation to us, which made me very uncomfortable as I felt it was nothing to do with them, and even asking us to pay the additional tourist "city tax" on our stay (we had already paid for the room in advance), which they had not warned us about!

Room Tip: Room 102 had lovely light though very small. Room 101 a bit gloomier though slightly bigger with bat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zuberella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Don't let the size of the Bucintoro lead you to think that it doesn't offer the class of accomodation and service that the bigger ones do...it does, with grace and with style. Set on the waterfront just away from the main hustle and bustle but within easy strolling distance of St Marks square and most other places. The staff were very pleasant, the room clean and well appointed and the breakfast buffet should satisfy even the most picky. All round my wife and I really enjoyed our time there. There is perhaps a thought that because Venice is so poular that tourism doesn't really need to try. The Bucintoro does try and it certainly succeds.
'Little niggle number one', my good lady nagged me because she couldn't get a connection for her ipad and although she also nagged the staff I don't think they were able to do anything because of their connection.
'Little niggle number two', half way through the week a rather large but magnificent motor launch 'parked' in front of the hotel and while it certainly added to the glamour it did get in the way of the view just a little. I add the 'little niggles' to ensure fair and balanced reporting...the place is great.

Room Tip: I understand that all rooms face the lagoon. My wife and I were in a room on the top floor (4th) whi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Ca' Pisani Hotel
Ca' Pisani Hotel
#16 of 386 in Venice
1,784 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Ca' Maria Adele
Ca' Maria Adele
#7 of 386 in Venice
638 reviews
Hotel L'Orologio
#23 of 386 in Venice
693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
Cannaregio
Arcadia Boutique Hotel
Arcadia Boutique Hotel
#27 of 386 in Venice
852 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#2 of 386 in Venice
1,892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bucintoro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bucintoro

Property: Hotel Bucintoro
Address: Castello 2135/a, 30122 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#18 Family Hotel in Venice
#19 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#38 Business Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Bucintoro 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facing the San Marco Docks right near Piazza San Marco, Hotel Bucintoro embraces the maritime lifeblood of Venice with charming spaces inspired by ancient sailboats and galleys that once bobbed right in front of the hotel. An elegant 4-star hotel in the historic center of Venice, Hotel Bucintoro offers rooms, junior suites and suites overlooking San Marco, embellished with the necessary comforts and services... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Nozio Netplan srl, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Bucintoro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bucintoro Hotel Venice
Venice Bucintoro Hotel
Pensione Bucintoro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing