We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical views”
Review of Hotel Bucintoro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Bucintoro
Ranked #22 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Magical views”
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Spent Christmas here and we were very impressed with the location, views and service at this hotel. We had the 'loft apartment' (Room No.1) with its own little sitting out area above the roofs and with a magical view of St Marks square and the grand canal entrance.
Cost was very reasonable, service was excellent (the staff were extremely helpful in response to any question) and the unpretentious breakfast provided sufficient variety without being a gastronomic adventure.
The unusual décor in our room gave the impression of being on board a cabin in a ship and the view from the bed through the round 'porthole' window must be one of the best views in Venice.
We had a private water taxi from the airport which pulled in right adjacent to the hotel so that we had to walk no more than 50 metres.
Altogether a memorable trip and a wonderful way to experience Venice.

Room Tip: Definitely have Room No 1 if it is available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dermot0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,292 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,007
    237
    34
    9
    5
See reviews for
192
927
30
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014 via mobile

The hotel is perfectly situated right near the Arsenal boat stop, only a little walk with your luggage.

The staff are warm and very friendly. We had a problem with our water in our junior suite, they moved us to an even larger suite.

I would highly recommend room 204 a junior suite with dual aspect windows overlooking the grand canal and St Marks Square, which is only a 10 minute walk.

Breakfast is very simple, lots of fresh fruits, croissants and a choice of scrambled egg at extra cost.

During our stay it was very quiet. We also went to the Navy museum next door, a hidden wonder, very cheap to get in, best value of any museum in venice.

Couldn't ask for any more of this hotel.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank RBoyce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014 via mobile

Booked into this hotel for 4 nights at a good rate. I sent a request for the room on the 5th floor which came with a rooftop balcony. Although it rained a great deal the views from the hotel were second to none along with the service. No bar but breakfast was excellent. Only just away from the crowd which is to your benefit!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank dirving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bourne End
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

I booked this hotel after reading other reviews on Trip Advisor and I was not disappointed. Brilliant location right on the Grand Canal and one stop down on the water bus from St Marks Square.
The hotel is clean, small and beautifully appointed. We were lucky enough to get a corner room with double aspect - one view out into the beautiful waters of the lagoon and then the other view right along the Grand Canal toward St Marks Square.
The staff were so friendly and helpful - they genuinely wanted you to enjoy your stay.
Breakfast was such a tranquil and calm event at the beginning of the day - a wonderful spread of everything you would want in a good quality buffet and such attentive service you couldn't help but feel spoilt.
I would recommend this hotel and definitely want to go back in the future.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room for spectacular views
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sbovonso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birchington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
215 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Such a perfect place from which to enjoy the wonders of Venice, this small but perfectly formed (and run) hotel lived up to all our expectations. Our "standard lagoon view" was a jaw-droppingly beautiful one across the bay of San Marco, taking in the glorious landmarks of Santa Maria della Salute and San Giorgio Maggiore. The historical Arsenale boat-building area extended behind the hotel and the Castello sestiere in which the hotel is situated has a charm and character all of its own, authentic and less crowded than the San Marco district it adjoins. All the staff were helpful and friendly, breakfast provided fresh, tasty treats in a relaxed but impeccably smart room overlooking the lagoon. Heaven. We will be back.

Room Tip: Rooms 202 and 203 have especially panoramic views with the former having 4 picture Windows that will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Goomsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

I first learned about this charming hotel with TripAdvisor and my wife and I made the decision to try it out on a recent trip to Venice. What a find! The room was stylish, modern and beautifully appointed in a nautical style with handsome polish wood finishes and supreme comfort. The staff could not have been nicer and it was a great value for the money. As far as location, it's hard to beat this this place right on the water and close to everywhere we wanted to go without being in the middle of the crowds at St. Marks.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jpeves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level Contributor
89 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

I first read about this hotel online in an article in a NY paper..and they were not wrong!
First, it is a great location, just over one bridge from the water bus stop, also a stop for the Blue Line to the airport. Yet it is far enough from the crowds and noise of St. Marks, still just a ten minute walk or one bus stop.
The room are very nice, with a nautical theme and of a good size. Very comfortable bed, extra pillows and blanket in the builtin drawers under the bed. My room was actually a room and a half, with a separate small connecting room with a table, chairs, closets and daybed. Nice...The bathrooms are rather small, but adequate and very well appointed, all marble.
Yes, as others have said, the breakfast room/bar is rather small and a couple of times in our six night stay, we had to wait for a group to leave to get a table. Once seated, it was a very nice breakfast...delightful coffee, meats and cheeses, pastries, cereals, hard boiled eggs, other hot items on request for a small additional charge,. (which really, they might drop. Seemed cheap on their part, to ask extra for some eggs and toast.)
Front desk staff was helpful with restaurant recommendations...several good ones within walking distance...and always pleasant.

But the best point, without question, is the view! Right on the water, boats and ferries passing by, simply beautiful!!

Room Tip: All rooms have a view but the corner rooms, with windows on both sides are best and the higher the f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank caitemaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Hotel L'Orologio
#21 of 385 in Venice
671 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Ca' Maria Adele
Ca' Maria Adele
#7 of 385 in Venice
627 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Ca' Pisani Hotel
Ca' Pisani Hotel
#16 of 385 in Venice
1,760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Hotel Londra Palace
Hotel Londra Palace
#19 of 385 in Venice
1,508 reviews
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
Cannaregio
Arcadia Boutique Hotel
Arcadia Boutique Hotel
#25 of 385 in Venice
838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bucintoro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bucintoro

Property: Hotel Bucintoro
Address: Castello 2135/a, 30122 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#18 Family Hotel in Venice
#19 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#38 Business Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Bucintoro 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facing the San Marco Docks right near Piazza San Marco, Hotel Bucintoro embraces the maritime lifeblood of Venice with charming spaces inspired by ancient sailboats and galleys that once bobbed right in front of the hotel. An elegant 4-star hotel in the historic center of Venice, Hotel Bucintoro offers rooms, junior suites and suites overlooking San Marco, embellished with the necessary comforts and services... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Nozio Netplan srl, Agoda, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Hotel Bucintoro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bucintoro Hotel Venice
Venice Bucintoro Hotel
Pensione Bucintoro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing