We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very enjoyable stay”
Review of Hotel Bucintoro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Bucintoro
Ranked #23 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow
Level Contributor
73 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable stay”
Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

As has been said before this hotel is in an excellent location overlooking the bay in front of St Marks and with fantastic views to the Salute and St Giorgio Maggiore. It is a relatively easy 10 mins walk (6 bridges) to St Marks or 2 mins (1 bridge) to Arsenale vaporetto stop. We took a water taxi to the the hotel and while it was expensive it is a lovely way to come into the city.
The hotel itself is quite small but well maintained and very clean. We found all the staff extremely helpful and friendly. A small example, when we arrived on the first night we found both TVs in the rooms had only 3 channels. We advised reception and had a member of staff reprogramming the TVs within a couple if minutes. He couldn't fix the problem then but they promised that this would be fixed the next day which it was.
The breakfast room is quite small with the tables close together but as there were only 2 or 3 groups in at a time this was never an issue. The breakfast itself was very good with a good selection and superb staff.
Our room was 501 which is the only room on the 5th floor and pretty quirky. It is up a steep set of stairs behind the main door and consists of the bedroom with a porthole for a window and a sunken bath in an alcove, a small sitting area with a TV, a decent sized bathroom with a walk in shower and through 2 small patio doors and up so couple of steps an external terrace with 2 chairs on the roof with pretty much a 360 degree view and not overlooked at all. We were there for 5 nights and most days we grabbed a sandwich and sat up on the roof terrace for lunch watching the constant movement of boats and people. We were lucky with the weather but if the sun is shining it is a pretty spectacular place to be and we would recommend the room for the terrace alone. It is also quite something to sit up there at night or in the morning while a 100,000 tonne cruise ship sails past you! All in all we loved our trip to Venice and there is no doubt that the Hotel Bucintoro played a large part in that enjoyment.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank BlasGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,275 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    994
    233
    34
    9
    5
See reviews for
188
918
30
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Great location, not too far from the centre but not too close to be too busy. Great service, my bag was delayed and reception were very proactive in trying to ascertain delivery. Very clean and all the staff were very friendly and helpful. in fact an all round great, comfortable stay. They also recommended a great restaurant. Breakfast was continental but plenty of choice including lots of fresh fruit. Our standard room was a little small but we didn't spend too much time in it so it wasn't a problem. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BainFam41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry
Level Contributor
294 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

We stayed at the hotel Bucintoro a couple of weeks ago, we were a group of 8 adults so obviously we had 4 double rooms. Although the hotel had some good points I fail to see how it has got so many rave reviews on trip advisor from so many people. The good points of the hotel are it's location, right on the water and only a leisurely and enjoyable 10 minute walk from St Mark's square. The rooms are of an average size and were clean, views out of the window were fantastic looking over the water and the foot bridges leading up to St Mark's square in the distance.

Bad points

1) No air conditioning working. This wasn't explained to us when we arrived, when we asked on the first day we were just told ''It's not working'' When we checked out on our fourth day it still wasn't working. A main element of staying of any hotel is getting a good night sleep, it wasn't easy at The bucintoro. It seemed that they weren't particularly bothered that it didn't work and that no effort was made to fix it while we were there. It was really warm at night while we were in Venice so it meant one of two choices. Either sleep with the window shut and no air conditioning which was unbearable or open the window to cool down but be kept up all night by the noise of people walking past shouting, workers doing maintenance or emptying dustbins and boats on the water outside of our window. If a hotel advertises air conditioning it should have it, not just excuses of ''It isn't working'' or ''We don't have it turned on this time of year''

2) No iron/ironing board. Unbelievable that a 4 star hotel hasn't got a single iron in the whole hotel. Even if there isn't one in the room usually reception can supply you with one, but I rang down to reception and was just told quite simply and abruptly ''No'' The thing that makes me laugh is that every single person who visits this hotel would have bought their shirts, suits, dresses in a suitcase, wouldn't you think that they might need to iron them? This isn't like a hotel for instance in England where some people on business might put a suit or a dress in a suit bag and put it in the back of the car to keep clean and uncreased. Every person is in the same boat here and this so called 4 star hotel can't even supply an iron to quickly throw over a shirt before going out of a night? I was told by the hotel ''We supply a laundry service but it isn't available today'' Translated that means ''Instead of us lending you an iron to quickly run over your clothes we wan't to rip you off and charge you 5 euro's an item to do it for you''

3) Inconsistency of rooms. We had 4 rooms between our party of 8 people, they were all standard double rooms apparently. Only 2 of the rooms had a kettle, tea and coffee facilities and biscuits, the other 2 had nothing at all. The showers in two of the rooms were proper walk in showers with doors, the shower in the other 2 rooms were like a hole in the wall with a shower curtain across. Believe it or not some of the rooms had Cold water and others had no cold water coming out of the sink taps, just strange when all of the rooms should have the same facilities.

4) Breakfast. The breakfast room is tiny with tables about 6 inches away from each other with no atmosphere, no music playing, just really silent. This is fine if you are in a group like we were but would be really uncomfortable if you were sitting next to strangers, no exaggeration but it would be like sitting on the same table as them. Breakfast was really average, a couple of breads, a couple of cheeses, a couple of meats, some fruit, nothing to right home about. Our last few breaks away at similar 4 star hotels, the I.Q hotel in Rome, Hotel Indigo in Berlin and Hotel Aimia in Soller the breakfast have been far superior, probably twice the choice of the Bucintoro.

When we booked our hotel originally 4 of us payed £85 a night for a room, then a few weeks later 4 other people decided they wanted to come with us to Venice and tried to book in at the Bucitoro. By that time the rooms had gone up to £160 a night so they had to pay that if they wanted to stay in the same hotel, all I can say is that I am glad I payed the £85 because I wouldn't have been happy paying £160 a night for what we got. This can't be value for money, there have got to be better hotels out there for this sort of money, in peak season this hotel is £250 a night! I can't recommend this hotel for being value for money unless you like getting a bad nights sleep and walking around in unironed and creased clothes.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Flashbax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We followed others advice and booked in here and was not disappointed. The hotel sat in the main strip overlooking St Mark's Bay, about 10min walk to St Mark's square and Doge's Palace. It is not on the grand canal but we found this a plus, as it can be very busy along there and noisy. The nearby restaurants were also cheaper as further away from the prime tourist hot spot/s.

We have no regrets in staying here, and would happily stay again. However elderly (or those with mobility impairment) should note you may struggle with getting into the shower/bath if all where like ours, as very high. I know my mother in-law (in her 70's having had knee surgery) would struggle.

There was a good range of options for breakfast, even if you want continental versus a more traditional European breakfast. My only issue was that they didn't offer or allow guests to make their own toast. Petty I know but it is a simple option to provide and offers something more for those who don't want a never ending supply of ham and cheese (everywhere in Italy).

The hotel unfortunately suffered an alarm at 2am in the morning one night of our stay. The hotel tried to make up for this the following day by providing free cooked eggs for breakfast and not charging us the tourist tax, however the night staff were not very on the ball, as many guests were left to stand in the cold night air in their pj's, and had to ask for water and the bathroom. Things do happen and I am sure the hotel can just learn from this to communicate better and accommodate guests better if something of this nature should happen again.

Room Tip: We stayed in a Junior Lagoon suite which looked out to St Mark's bay. This was a large room by E...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pawstevenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oahu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

My wife and I had a very enjoyable stay in this hotel, a short walk from a vaporetto stop and Saint Mark's Square, located next to the Naval History Museum, but far enough from the crowds. Our room was clean, nicely appointed, has a safe that we didn't need but it was available, with breathtaking views of the Grand Canal looking out towards San Giorgio Maggiore Church, Santa Maria della Salute Church, and Saint Mark's Square. Our room was a bit warm as the AC was shut off, but opening up the windows cools the room down on a crisp March evening...just hope this is not an issue in the summer months. The room was small by American standards but big enough for European standards.

Highly suggest you reserve a room on the fourth floor facing the Grand Canal towards St. Mark's Square...you will not tire at waking up to that spectacular view nor at the romantic view of the city at night. The hotel staff was attentive and courteous. Breakfast was very good with plenty of savory choices.

All in all, a very nice hotel with reasonable rates we found thru one of the aggregator sites.

Room Tip: Request a room on the top floor (fourth floor) with views of the Grand Canal facing Saint Mark's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HI_MandM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Aransas, Texas
Level Contributor
54 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

This hotel was the perfect place to stay in Venice. Its at the end of the Grand Canale, just one bridge away from the vaparetto stop. The room was very nice, even big by European standards. The view was wonderful, the canal and St. Mark's in the distance. Going the other way from the hotel leads you into a non-touristy area with gardens, shops and some of the best restaurants. The staff at the hotel were great, helping us with any questions. Definitely a place I will stay again!

Room Tip: We had room 101 which was perfect. No ships could block our view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cyndi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Lovely hotel, wonderful atmosphere, unbeatable location. Kind staff, very clean, good breakfast. Great views. Good powerful shower. We had a magical trip, this hotel looked far far better than many others we saw.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank katehazel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#2 of 384 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,840 reviews
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
San Marco
NH Collection Venezia Palazzo Barocci
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Antiche Figure
#10 of 384 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,538 reviews
Hotel Canal Grande
#12 of 384 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,955 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Ca' Pisani Hotel
Ca' Pisani Hotel
#15 of 384 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bucintoro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bucintoro

Property: Hotel Bucintoro
Address: Castello 2135/a, 30122 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#18 Family Hotel in Venice
#19 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#38 Business Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Bucintoro 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facing the San Marco Docks right near Piazza San Marco, Hotel Bucintoro embraces the maritime lifeblood of Venice with charming spaces inspired by ancient sailboats and galleys that once bobbed right in front of the hotel. An elegant 4-star hotel in the historic center of Venice, Hotel Bucintoro offers rooms, junior suites and suites overlooking San Marco, embellished with the necessary comforts and services... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Nozio Netplan srl, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Hotel Bucintoro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bucintoro Hotel Venice
Venice Bucintoro Hotel
Pensione Bucintoro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing