We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favorite hotel on the entire trip”
Review of Hotel Bucintoro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Bucintoro
Ranked #17 of 387 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 February 2009

We went to Venice during the middle of Carnavale. Compared to the prices of other places we had considered staying, Bucintoro had a very favorable rate so we went for it. I was a little apprehensive because the pics looked so good that I was thinking maybe there was a catch. In all honesty, it's one of the few hotels that looks better in real life than the pics on the internet. Aside from the charming mahogany-trimmed rooms and the wonderful view we had, the location was superb -- a 5 minute walk from St. Mark's square, but not in the center of tourist mayhem. We were delighted that the area in the opposite direction of St. Mark's seemed very non-touristy by comparison, and found a good restaurant in this area favored by locals that was about a two minute walk from the hotel. The staff at Bucintoro was super-friendly as well, so we were 100% pleased with this place.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tommco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,598)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,056 - 1,062 of 1,598 reviews

Reviewed 11 February 2009

It was a bit difficult to find in the beginning, as the instructions from the hotel was to get off at st.marc's square. But in fact we had to walk quite a bit (about 15 minutes with our luggage) before finding and arriving at the hotel. Venice's hotels are quite small in general, so comparatively, the size of this hotel was adequate. Rooms were nice and clean and the reception was friendly.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Rarooso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2009

First off, the location was superb. You are about 10min walk (max) from St. Marks sq and there are many water bus stops that will take you anywhere in Venice. Nearset stop it right outside (Arsenale). (P.s . if your planning on getting to the hotel from Marco Polo airport get the water bus. Its 13euro p.p and takes an hour but the jounrey isnt too bad. If you miss the bus or dont fancy being with other passenges, the only other alternative is a water taxi. this will cost you 100euros though!!!!!!!!!!!!!)

The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. The rooms had a great view of the city and were very clean. I stayed in a double room. The room itself is beautiifully decorated. The only real minor complaints was that the room was a little small (not much floor space) and the room doesnt come with coffee/tea making facilities. The fridge also didnt keep the items cold (maybe ours didnt work?). Also, if you are planning sleeping in all day, the TV channels are poor, especially if your english. No sports channels lads! Only BBC24 and MTV. The bathroom was massive though and very well decorated. We got complimentary slippers and bathrobes which my dolly (girlfriend) was very happy about!!

The breafast which was included was good. Had choices of cereals, rolls, cheeses and yougouts (typical contiential breakfast). If you want eggs, bacon etc you would have to pay extra. The hotel however does not have a resturant for the evening so you have to dine out. Be warned, the resturants are very expensive, especially if you like your meat and fish!! The hotel also has the internet.

Overall, i would definately recommend this hotel. Its not as expensive as some of the other 4* and 5* hotels we saw and looked at and its location and decor is excellent! Great success.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank DollyDollyDolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2009

This was one of the best hotels I have ever stayed. The location is perfect and it is very easy to find the hotel, when you arrive at the Arsenale vaporetto stop. The service is on a very high level. Rooms are of small size, but very comfortable and practical. I liked the style and the design of the rooms.
Check-in and check-out was very quick and easy. There was always a smiling and cheerful receptionist in the reception.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Ievinieks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2009

This hotel is highly rated on TA and other websites and for good reason. This is a top notch 4 star hotel in one of the most beautiful city's in the world. Hotel Bucintoro is conveniently located in Venice. We arrived by train and it is a simple 30min Vaporetto ride to Arsenale stop, the hotel is 100m from this. This is a lovely way to start your trip in venice as the number 1 Vaportto goes all the way down the grand canal and out into the bay. The hotel is less than a 10min walk to St Marco square and from there you can easily explore the rest of Venice. The front desk staff were both very helpful with everything from choosing restaurants to organisising a trip to Murano island to check out the glass making. They even organised a free taxi boat to the island for us. The rooms are designed with a nautical theme which were very nice. All rooms have great views of the bay. The bathrooms were also very modern with great amenities and a nice deep bath. Complimentary in room wifi internet unlimited and free or computer in the lobby if you don't have laptop. Breakfast included was continental but very ample. All in all this hotel was excellent and would highly recommend.

Stayed: January 2009
1  Thank Ozhoneymooner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2009

I just spent five nights in Italy with my girlfriend and started out with a two night stay in Venice at the Hotel Bucintoro. I booked the hotel through otel.com at a great average rate of only $190 per night which was lower than anywhere I found on the web. I booked based on excellent reviews on TA and the property's good location. Also the price was reasonable for a luxurious place.

Our flight landed at Treviso airport at nearly 9PM and by the time we arrived at the hotel it was after 11. The man at the front desk by the name Andrea was extremely friendly and helpful. I asked if there was anywhere to get something to eat as it had been over six hours since we last ate. He called his girlfriend at a nearby restaurant to see if we could still be seated even though it was closed at 11. We were shown to our room and then walked a few minutes to the restaurant for a salad and a pizza which was quite nice. The place was full of locals as well! The service throughout the stay was excellent as we received helpful info on restaurants, transit etc. Also I was impressed that I was always addressed by last name.

Our room was 303 and was very nice. The bed was large, and as is common in Italian hotels a bit on the firm side. The bathroom was of a nice size, had a good shower and contained good amenities. There were a good amount of TV channels including BBC and CNN in English. There was even an Italian sports channel which was airing the NFL playoff game. Lastly the view of the Grand Canal and St. Mark's was lovely!

We ate the compimentary breakfast each morning which was pretty good. It consisted of some cold meats, cheeses, croissant and spreads, fresh fruit, cereals, juices, and a good coffee bar. Also they had eggs, bacon, etc. for an additional charge, however their standard offering was plenty sufficient. Another thing that I appreciated was the essentially unlimited complimentary internet access on a lobby computer. I only used it for a probably 30 minutes but it was great to have the ability to use it for longer (unlike the hotel I stayed at next in Rome).

Finally, the location of the hotel was great. It was about 250 feet away from the Arsenale vaporetto stop (when getting off there simply turn right and cross the bridge and you will see the hotel soon). In addition you could easily walk to St. Mark's in under ten minutes. From there many sights are within easy walking distance. Lastly the area is much quieter and less touristy than those closer to St. Mark's, yet is still close enough to the touristy areas. The only negative (and its a minor one) was that there were loads of men selling knockoff purses near the hotel and along the walk to St. Mark's, but this was really not a problem, just thought I'd mention one negative.

In conclusion, this hotel was a wonderful place to stay in Venice. Our visit came in January which was freezing, but also made for cheaper hotel prices and much less crowded sights. Do try and get lost and just explore the city as it allows you to truly be. Hope you found my review helpful and enjoy your trip to Venice. I'd love to go back again and would absolutely stay at Hotel Bucintoro again!

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank MDuser12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2008

We have just spent the most amazing weekend in Venice and are so glad that we chose this Hotel. It enjoys a central location for getting to all areas of the city easily.Our room on the top floor had the most amazing panoramic view towards St. Marco and over the waterfront. The staff were welcoming and friendly and we felt totally at home. Our room, while compact, had all mod cons and underfloor heating in our en-suite bathroom was a delight for tired feetafter a busy day sightseeing.It was good to visit at this time of year rather than in the summer , to see the place in a different light. One of the pleasures is wandering through the less well known areas and coming on unexpected sights.
We would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel and hope to re-visit in the future

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matt002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#3 of 387 in Venice
2,020 reviews
Hotel Canal Grande
#9 of 387 in Venice
2,214 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Ca' Pisani Hotel
Ca' Pisani Hotel
#16 of 387 in Venice
1,926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Antiche Figure
#7 of 387 in Venice
3,959 reviews
Castello
Ca' dei Dogi
Ca' dei Dogi
#19 of 387 in Venice
864 reviews
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bucintoro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bucintoro

Address: Castello 2135/a, 30122 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Venice
#13 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#19 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#38 Business Hotel in Venice
Price Range: £118 - £396 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Bucintoro 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facing the San Marco Docks right near Piazza San Marco, Hotel Bucintoro embraces the maritime lifeblood of Venice with charming spaces inspired by ancient sailboats and galleys that once bobbed right in front of the hotel. An elegant 4-star hotel in the historic center of Venice, Hotel Bucintoro offers rooms, junior suites and suites overlooking San Marco, embellished with the necessary comforts and services... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Bucintoro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bucintoro Hotel Venice
Pensione Bucintoro
Venice Bucintoro Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing