We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, Location, Location!!!”
Review of Hotel Campiello

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Campiello
Ranked #94 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 June 2011

The biggest selling point of this hotel is the location!! Only about 1 min from San Marco in a little "street" which is quiet. The rooms were OK, the bathrooms were tiny though and I would advise you don't drop anything in the shower as picking it back up again was a struggle and I am a size 10!!! The staff were lovely and very very helpful. Breakfast was OK.

My only complaint, but I can understand why, the room was EXTREMELY expensive for the stay (225 Euros) were as the usual price from what I can determine is about 115 Euros per night. For 115 Euros it is definitely worth it, for 225....well that is a little on the high side but there was a regatta on which pushed the prices up!

The WiFi was also a bit hit and miss.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank krisandjase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (849)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Campiello
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

463 - 469 of 849 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2011

we stayed in this hotel over febuary a stunning place just magical! :) the hotel was cleam traditional and friendly would visit again no negatives good location

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jasminenikita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2011

I spent my 40th birthday in Venice in April 2011 with two friends. We booked the junior suite at the Hotel Campiello. The location is excellent - two blocks from St. Mark's Square, yet blissfully quiet inside the hotel. The airport water taxi and the vaporettos stop almost at the end of the street (great when you have luggage to tote around).

The junior suite is very large, with an expansive living area that features a double sofa bed, a single sofa bed, and room for a rollaway bed, if needed. The room could sleep 6, if you don't mind sharing one bathroom and giving up your privacy. There is a short series of steps leading from the living room up to a private roof terrace. We loved having the terrace to sit on in the evenings and enjoy a glass of wine. There's not much of a view (all rooftops), but it's so peaceful and nice to have fresh air so close to your room. The bedroom is adjacent to the living area and separated by french doors (with an optional curtain for privacy). The bedroom can be set up as a king bed or two twins. The beds were comfortable, the sofa beds, unfortunately, were very saggy and need new mattresses.

The room has a lot of charm - it appears to be part of the original attic. It features a mini-fridge, windows that open and plenty of storage. It has a/c, but that wasn't turned on since we were there in April. The only downsides to the room are that the bathroom is located in the bedroom, so if you are sharing with multiple people, they will have to walk through the bedroom to access the bathroom. Also, the room is accessed via an elevator to the 2nd floor and then climbing an extremely narrow and winding set of stairs up into the room. If you have mobility issues or are of an above average size, these stairs will likely cause you difficulty. Also note that the shower stall is very small. Not a problem for us, but we are petite in size.

The front desk staff is very friendly and speaks English. I found their restaurant recommendations to be lacking (mostly sent us to sub-par tourist destinations), so do your own research before hand. English skills are very good. The breakfast and housekeeping staff, however, is harried and unhappy. That said, we received adequate breakfast service and the room was clean.

Breakfast, as many have said in other reviews, is disappointing, but better than nothing. You'll get the same thing every day, never a variation. Cereals, yogurt, croissants, sliced cheese and hams, hard boiled eggs. The cappuccino was good. It's not exciting, but helpful to have something "free" to start your day when you are in such an expensive city.

Free WIFI was available, although the connection in our room was spotty.

The rate was reasonable for Venice. There are some less expensive hotels available, but I found the location to be very convenient, the room clean and large, and the front desk service friendly, so all in all, am happy with my choice and found it to be a good value for the money. I would stay here again, but might also consider renting an apartment to save on food costs.

Venice itself is an amazing city. Enjoy your trip!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EliseWilkinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2011

The Hotel Campiello is superbly located and our room looked over the small piazza out the front of the hotel, and if we leaned out we could see at the end of the narrow street the grand canal and the many tourists walking past, but little noise. We took a ferry from the train station when we arrived in Venice and got out at the stop after San Marco and were practically at the hotel - it truly is very very convenient and so close to charming little sidestreets and canals. We got up early on our two mornings and visited landmarks before breakfast and enjoyed being on the Rialto Bridge and in San Marco square practically on our own. The room was clean, but the decor was a little tired, and it was small, as was the bathroom, however the benefits outweighed for us these things. The bed was huge and very comfortable. One of our friends recommended this hotel for the location, and the breakfast, and although we'd agree on the location, we thought the breakfast adequate but not outstanding.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank putmeontheplane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2011

wow...this hotel was great. Nice sized room with equally nice modern bathroom. the location cannot be beat right around the corner from the Doge Palace and all the sites.
the room was clean and tastefully decorated. Breakfast was very nice. the staff all spoke english and were very helpful. From the train station just take the #52 Viporette and you will be at the hotel within 20 minutes. be sure and try the restaurants that are back behind the hotel it seem it's were the local all eat. this hotel gives great value and is very romantic and wonderful.

Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
1  Thank designer1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2011

Stayed one day in January, not sure if 80 euro/night is quite a low-season price or not, I think it worth the $$; the best thing is its location, very very close to st marco square, water bus is in the front, takes around 40 min to the train station; the room is clean, not much feature bug enough for travellers like us.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hauschka888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2011

I was able to get an excellent deal on this hotel (much less than quoted in Rick Steve's, but it was winter) and the location was amazing for the price. Literally right between San Zaccaria and San Marco. I had a room next to the elevator which probably would suck in the busy summer, but wasn't too bad in the winter for noise level. The breakfast was fine, not stellar not terrible. The room and bath were small but clean. The shower was crazy with 11 different shower heads! Overall it was perfect for the price! Does have free internet, but it is spotty...

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lordiford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Hotel Paganelli
Hotel Paganelli
#102 of 384 in Venice
905 reviews
Castello
Ca' dei Dogi
Ca' dei Dogi
#19 of 384 in Venice
834 reviews
Castello
Hotel Savoia & Jolanda
Hotel Savoia & Jolanda
#80 of 384 in Venice
1,829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Rio Venezia Hotel
Rio Venezia Hotel
#83 of 384 in Venice
435 reviews
Castello
Hotel  Fontana
Hotel Fontana
#89 of 384 in Venice
422 reviews
Castello
Hotel Le Isole
Hotel Le Isole
#14 of 384 in Venice
992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Campiello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Campiello

Address: Campiello del Vin Castello 4647, 30122 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#99 Family Hotel in Venice
#132 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range: £63 - £283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Campiello 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Campiello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Campiello Hotel Venice
Hotel Campiello Venice Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing