We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ran out of hot water...”
Review of Hotel Campiello

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Campiello
Ranked #92 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ran out of hot water...”
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

Great location, clean rooms, adequate breakfast. Bathroom and shower to small for humans and the staff were pretty much useless. For me, the deal breaker was running out of hot water. I have never had to take a cold shower in a hotel before and paying 175€ per night should at least ensure a lukewarm shower. When discussing this issue with the front desk a little while later, I was admonished for not telling them as it was happening. I guess they figured I could call them while shivering in the cold water so they could come up and fix the problem? It was handled poorly.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank funguuuuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

835 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    359
    341
    103
    24
    8
See reviews for
240
363
35
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one night on our short stay in Venice on the recommendation of RS. The hotel was very easy to find and yes, you do have to manage through a bridge of stairs after getting off of the vaparetto to get there but it's Venice! There are bridges with stairs EVERYWHERE. After that, you make a left down a side street and in about 200 feet, you're there! A warm welcome and a quick check in started our stay on a positive note. We booked a standard room for the night and ended up on the 2nd floor. The hotel does have a small lift. It just fits 2 people with 2 large luggage.

The room was very nicely decorated and felt very clean. Whilst small, it did have a lot of charm. Our restroom was a decent size for Italian standards. That being said, my only criticisms are these: (1) there is no counter space in the bathroom. Just the area around the sink, which at most was a stretch of 5-6 inches long and 1-2 inches wide. (2) there was an impressive 8-head shower, 2 upper and 6 horizontal body spray nozzles BUT only the 2 upper heads were operational and both looked like they had been there a while - a long while. Luckily, you can choose which shower head(s) you want to use by the turn of a knob. We only used the upper hand held head, as it was the cleanest of them all. There wasn't much of a view out of the two windows but that's pretty standard in Venice unless you're willing to pay more. The walls were a bit thin for our taste but luckily, we don't travel without ear plugs so we were fine.

They also have a very nice breakfast included in the room rate which included various brioche, juices, teas, yogurts, scrambled eggs, cookies, crackers, American coffee and an espresso coffee maker. It's a very nice touch!

All in all, it was a very nice stay. We were able to leave our luggage securely in the lobby since we weren't scheduled to leave until later in the day but check out was at 11am. The staff was very nice as well.

Overall, an excellent value!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

Although bathroom was a bit small it was a very well located, quiet hotel. Firstly it was very close to San Marco and more importantly very close to main Vaporetto stop, San Zaccaria at the same time there is no stairs/obstackes if you are carryimg a heavy luggage. This makes you easily go to airport or anywhere else without trouble. Staff is also polite and helpful. Considering access, I think bathroom size is no matter, actually I do not believe you can find roomy places at these prices in Venice.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hakan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

The hotel is located in a quiet nook, 5 mins away from St. Marks Square. The room had plenty of space (by European hotel standards), a nice bathroom, and great wifi. We were able to FaceTime with relatives back in the US.

The breakfast that was included was also fantastic. Eggs, coffee, yogurt, granola, fruits, sandwiches, etc.

Great value!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank chi_city_trippin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beachwood, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

There is much to comment on for this hotel. Some good and some less than satisfactory in my view.

First - I'm a big fan of Rick Steves and always find his information to be very useful and on target. However, his strong recommendation of this hotel surprises me and leads me to wonder if ownership or management has changed since the Steves organization last visited.

THE GOOD:
- great location near everything in Venice
- pleasant common areas such as the lobby and breakfast room
- the property is very clean
- breakfast is adequate

THE NOT SO GOOD:
- if you arrive from the train station via water-bus number 5.1 -- you need to know that there is a small canal and the related 10-15 steps staircase over the canal that you need to manage between the taxi stop and the hotel. If you have heavy luggage, mobility challenges, or a baby stroller you need to know that THERE IS NO RAMP! It's absurd but you have to find a way up and then down these steps without the aid of a ramp or any assistance. When leaving the hotel to head back to the train station- you take the 5.2 line which has a stop BEFORE these steps and so they are not an issue on the return or when checking out. We do not have mobility issues but we did have 2 suitcases that made these steps a challenge. When I inquired about this upon arrival at the hotel, the desk attendant could not seem to understand the challenge or question.

- of the 5 hotels we stayed at on this trip - the desk staff at this hotel seemed to be the most unhappy, unhelpful people that we encountered. I assume that there may be some corporate or management issues that have made these folks unhappy about their desk duties and the related contact with guests.

- the actual accommodations within the room are very disappointing. The room size, excluding the bathroom, appeared to be roughly 10' x 10' and the bed, pillows, and blankets were extremely uncomfortable and worn. Our room looked nothing like the pictures and management indicated that there were no other rooms available to swap into - despite the fact that our reservation was made in February. If this room is not representative of the balance of the rooms - then they should consider selling it with such a disclosure. If it is similar to other rooms - where were the pictures taken?

- the door to the room is a hollow core door - meaning that any sound in the hall sounds as if it is within the room. Other guests, using normal and decent conversational volume in the hallway (no complaints about them)- can be heard within the room as if "loud and clear".

- while we paid over $200 for this room (1 night) I saw it advertised online for $100 the following night. It feels like a $75 - $100 per night hotel - even in Venice.

I think that this hotel is a nice step up for the traveler accustomed to staying in hostels. The traveler who is more used to a 3 star hotel will likely be very disappointed.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank silvertravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayden, Idaho
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

The Hotel Campiello is in a wonderful location close to the Alilaguna stop. We literally only had to walk one block from the boat drop off. The hotel itself is lovely, and our room looked exactly like the one on the hotel website. I have attached two photos. The hotel receptionists are very helpful and speak perfect English. The breakfast is fabulous with a wonderful coffee machine that makes coffee, espresso, and lattes. We would definitely stay here again if we are lucky enough to return to Venice.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank parisparisparis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

This hotel is located within walking distance of the dock, which is essential if you are traveling with bags. It's close to St. Mark's Square and the Grand Canal, so we could get anywhere we wanted easily. The rooms are small and a bit worn, but the hotel staff was very helpful and the buffet style breakfast was good. I found the bathroom to be fine, with a good shower! The "double" bed was two twins pushed together, which was a bit uncomfortable, but we dealt with it. After all, it's Venice!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kcinhtown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Hotel Paganelli
Hotel Paganelli
#103 of 385 in Venice
887 reviews
Castello
Hotel Savoia & Jolanda
Hotel Savoia & Jolanda
#81 of 385 in Venice
1,800 reviews
Castello
Hotel  Fontana
Hotel Fontana
#96 of 385 in Venice
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Rio Venezia Hotel
Rio Venezia Hotel
#89 of 385 in Venice
423 reviews
Castello
Hotel Casa Verardo - Residenza D'Epoca
Castello
Hotel Le Isole
Hotel Le Isole
#15 of 385 in Venice
970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Campiello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Campiello

Property: Hotel Campiello
Address: Campiello del Vin Castello 4647, 30122 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#100 Family Hotel in Venice
#133 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Campiello 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Campiello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Campiello Hotel Venice
Hotel Campiello Venice Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing