We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and Value for Money”
Review of Hotel Campiello

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Campiello
Ranked #99 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 December 2010

We stayed in the Hotel Campiello from 11th - 14th December in rooms 103, 108 and 214. The single room (103) was small but adequate. the other two rooms were doubles and were well furnished, spacious and clean. There is a lift to all floors. All rooms had modern clean ensuites and heated toliwel rails, showers with ample hot water etc.

We arrived into Piazzala Roma and took the No. 1 Waterbus to the second San Marco stop (about 40 mins journey and costs €6.50 per person one way ). When you disembark, the hotel is located about 1 minutes walk from pier. The hotel is also located about 5 mins stroll from St Mark's square. There are plenty of eating places very close by and a couple of bars.

The hotel is good value for money and I was surprised how nice it was for the costs. We paid €70 for the double room B&B. We found eating in Venice quite expensive between cover charges, bread on tables, €4 for a cola or bottle of water. So having breakfast included in this rate was excellent. The hotel breakast was good. bread rolls, toasts, crackers, cereals, fruit, ham, cheese etc. The hot chocolate was lovely by the way!!

For a few days in Venice, I would highly recommend this hotel. The only problem was on one of the mornings a work man was drilling in the building next door at 8am. But this was not the fault of the hotel. The hotel is traditional in decor and is very warm and clean. Good value and good location!

I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beetlebug10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (854)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

473 - 479 of 854 reviews

Reviewed 19 November 2010

We spent five nights in this hotel.

It was very good.
Location of this hotel is good. Very near St Marco, just in front of Vaporetto.
When you arrive from airport you have just to cross the road and you are in your bedroom...
good when you have your cases !

I read one bad comment about breakfast and I don't agree. The breakfast is very nice : you have "Gruyère", italian ham, cereal and whatever you want including croissant, fresh bred. The breakfast room is a little small but nice anyway. It is shared with Paganelli hotel.

Regarding bedroom this one is very nice, hotel is calm as the street is quired.
The "bad" point is in the morning there is a little noise due to the clean of other rooms.

We were very satisfied and I will recommend this hotel to my friends.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank breizh_Brest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2010

My wife & I stayed at the Hotel Campiello in September 2010 for 2 nights and had an great time in Venice. The hotel is in an amazing location. Although it is just a few minutes walk from St Mark's Square, it was very quiet around the hotel. We stayed in the Junior Suite so our room was larger than the standard accommodations, and we also had a private rooftop patio - great for sharing some wine after a long day walking around. We both recommend this nice, family run hotel.

Restaurant tip: There are a lot of restaurants nearby but they can be very expensive & the quality is hit or miss. Highly recommend the Osteria Nono Risortto (spelling might be wrong). It's a bit of a walk (about 10 minutes N-W from the Rialto bridge) but is less touristy. The waitresses can look a bit grumpy (they're not really though) but the food is amazing and the daily specials are a bargain anywhere in Italy.

Pros: Amazing location (less than 5 mins to St Mark's, 10-15 minute walk to the Rialto bridge); large room (Junior Suite) and updated bathroom; rooftop patio was nice, excellent, professional & friendly service; nice breakfast, possibly the best "hotel" espresso I tried in 3 weeks.

Cons: Expensive, but this is Venice. The rates were really good compared to similar hotels in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JandC442
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2010

We have stayed in this hotel before about 2 years ago. The management seems to have changed and the hotel has merged with another, so it is much bigger now. The breakfast was pretty average and there were bugs floating in the juice which was a bit offputting!The rooms are still good, small but with everything you need. The new management are a little less friendly than previously but they were fine to deal with. The location is a few steps from St Mark's Square, near the S.Zaccaria waterbus stop. It is very quiet at night even though it is so central. We would probably stay here again as it is reasonably priced for Venice.

Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
Thank elsie18a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2010

Campiello is very close to St Zaccaria vaporetto stop so very accessible - the stop is right near St Marco so frequented by vaporettos. The hotel is very cute, clean and reasonably priced for Venice. The staff are wonderful and nothing was to difficult - they made restaurant reservations for us, booked water taxi etc... all with a smile. We had a quad for 2 adults and 2 kids and it was smallish but fine - very clean and quiet. Will be staying there again next trip - we loved it. For a longer stay I would book one of their apartments.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sidneyt66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2010

A small hotel located in a quiet street just 5 minutes walk from St. Mark's Square makes it the perfect place to see the sights of Venice. Also near to a vaparetto stop - San Zaccaria, which we caught from Piazzale Roma ( next to the bus station ) Transport is so easy on the vaparetto. But also, you can walk everywhere, it's so compact and interesting along the narrow streets turning the corner to find a church and a bridge to cross - it's a charming place ! The hotel is small, but provides everything you need for a short sightseeing trip to Venice. The room was lovely, well decorated and appointed, and a very clean bathroom providing toiletries, breakfast was continental and fine, and the reception was 24hour and staff were most pleasant and helpful. Restaurants and shops are in abundance all around. Do go inside the Basilica and Doges' Palace - they are both amazing pieces of history !! We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank westcoastboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2010

Easy to find - no dragging luggage over bridges. All you could want from a hotel except a view. Excellent accomodations. Great staff. Just steps from San Marcos Square and transportation stop.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bowie07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Hotel Paganelli
Hotel Paganelli
#103 of 385 in Venice
917 reviews
Castello
Ca' dei Dogi
Ca' dei Dogi
#19 of 385 in Venice
846 reviews
Castello
Hotel  Fontana
Hotel Fontana
#87 of 385 in Venice
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Rio Venezia Hotel
Rio Venezia Hotel
#83 of 385 in Venice
441 reviews
Castello
Hotel Savoia & Jolanda
Hotel Savoia & Jolanda
#79 of 385 in Venice
1,847 reviews
Castello
Hotel Le Isole
Hotel Le Isole
#14 of 385 in Venice
1,018 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Campiello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Campiello

Address: Campiello del Vin Castello 4647, 30122 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#99 Family Hotel in Venice
#132 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range: £62 - £259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Campiello 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Campiello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Campiello Hotel Venice
Hotel Campiello Venice Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing