We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Casa Verardo - Residenza D'Epoca
Ranked #87 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
india
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Good location, good hotel”
Reviewed 18 October 2011

Located on the quieter side of piazza san marco, technically in the Castello area, Casa Verardo is well placed. specially as we planned to spend most of our time at the Biennale, the hotel was a beautiful 10 minute walk from the Arsenale and Giardini, the 2 main venues. It is also a quick walk from the San Zacharia vaporetto stop with almost no steps to climb and no getting lost.
The hotel is compact like most Venice hotels and expensive for what you get. Again like most Venice hotels! Our triple room was very spacious and the bathroom was luxe, with a bathtub and separate wc. Lots of hot water too. The room was off the breakfast room so a bit awkward in the morning as you walked right into someone's breakfast, but it was not really a problem.
Breakfast was adequate. They could make a slight variation on the choice of fruit, cheese, cold cuts as it's limited and repetitive.
Service was great. Check in was fast and easy. They allowed an hour's exyension on the check out time which is always good.

Room Tip: Avoid the 1st floor if you dont want your room to open on to the restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kalimata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

656 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    367
    226
    40
    11
    12
See reviews for
156
353
25
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2011

Casa Verardo is like an oasis in the Venetian sea of people! Our room was small but elegantly furnished and spotlessly clean each and every day. A simple but ample buffet breakfast is served every morning along with lots of fresh hot coffee and frothed milk -- with a wonderful terrace available in good weather. The hotel is a five minute walk from the vaporetti stop and is within walking distance to many wonderful shops, cafes and restaurants. Piazza San Marco is also just a short walk. (There are steps to cross the bridge at the hotel entrance so be forewarned!) The staff was wonderful and so helpful when my husband became ill during our stay. In short, this is a special place and comes highly recommended.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a few stairs when exiting elevator - if this is a problem, ask for lower floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DollySam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syracuse, New York
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2011

Our recent stay in Venice at the Hotel Casa Verardo was a most delightful experience. After traveling overnight from NYC, the staff at the front desk did everything to make our check fast and efficient when we arrived, tired and hungry. The hotel was easy to find when arriving by water taxi and our rooms were clean and quite comfortable.The rooms were a little smal but that is typical in Venice. Breakfast was served every morning on our floor by a friendly staff that was more than willing to accomodate your every request. This hotel is located in a quiet section of Venice that was so picturesque. I would highly recommend this hotel to any one traveling to Venice.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ktwent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2011

We stayed in the Junior Suite which was a nicely appointed room. The breakfast was decent & the location was great, thank goodness for these redeeming factors as we had a couple of issues.

There was some confusion regarding the room layout, I had booked for 4 guests, advising that 1 of us would be arriving on a different day to the rest of us. We had 4 beds on the first night, then returned to our room the afternoon of day 2 to only 3 beds in the room, when our 4th guest was about to arrive. I was told this happened because I didn't tell staff I needed the 4th bed that night... be sure to clarify specific room requirements with staff each morning to ensure this doesn't happen to you, an inconvenience to you & the staff.

The other issue we encountered was in regards to wifi. Wifi is given to guests in 3 hour brackets, which is fine, but when we asked for more when these had expired, we were told that it is not included and we would have to pay for it (as this is how things are done in Venice). In the end we were given 'free' 30 minute passes, which don't last long when shared between 4 people. The staff made us feel like we were continually inconveniencing them, by continually having to ask for another 30 minutes of access. It would have made everyones life easier if they would have given us one 3 hour card instead of six 30 minute cards! I believe that for 330 Euros a night there should be unlimited free wifi access included.

A shame about the service as it is a nice hotel in a great location.

Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank K_E_AUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghent, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2011

Nice rooms, good breakfast (quite typical for italian cities, not extremely elaborate, but if you are a "normal" breakfast eater, you find everything you need), very friendly staff, professionaly run hotel.
Very good situation (about 5 minutes walking from the waterboat stop San Zaccharia - which is comfortable with heavy luggage - central prostition for your walks through the city - quiet)

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sabine_and_Wouter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martinez, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 August 2011

We made our reservation for a double room and were confirmed for a double "French bed". When we got there it turns out the French bed was a very small room and quite cramped. The next day we asked the manager about the possibility of a mistake and he explained that small rooms are common in Venice as they don't have a lot of space in the city. He could see our dismay and very kindly offered to upgrade us to a larger double that someone had cancelled (at no extra charge!). Well, that room was gorgeous and spacious so if you are going there and comfort is important be sure to spend the extra $ and get the deluxe room. The hotel has a wonderful garden area and also is centrally located so we walked most everywhere. The management was very accomodating and we were really pleased with our stay there and would definitely go back. Venice is truly beautiful!

Room Tip: Ask about size of room before booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank car_1_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2011

We stayed at Casa Verardo for 2 nights in July with 3 adults, this hotel was lovely a little bit hard to find the first time but then easy to get to everywhere in Venice! Close to St Marks square and not far from the Rialto bridge. The room was lovely, breakfast was fantastic. If you want to go to Murano Island the hotel has a agreement with Marco Polo Glassware in Murano, it's a great trip they pick you up at the hotel and take you on a private taxi to Murano, they do a glass blowing show and then take you to the gallery, there is no pressure to buy but they have lovely glass designs. Then they take you back to Venice very good morning out! We happened to be there for a festival with fireworks fantastic! Hotel staff where very helpful and lovely, would definately be back! Great hotel!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debstrappa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Hotel da Bruno
Hotel da Bruno
#49 of 385 in Venice
1,023 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#51 of 385 in Venice
1,843 reviews
Castello
Hotel Al Piave
Hotel Al Piave
#60 of 385 in Venice
899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Hotel Palazzo Vitturi
Hotel Palazzo Vitturi
#30 of 385 in Venice
950 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Gorizia A La Valigia
Hotel Gorizia A La Valigia
#141 of 385 in Venice
793 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Al Duca di Venezia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Verardo - Residenza D'Epoca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Verardo - Residenza D'Epoca

Property: Hotel Casa Verardo - Residenza D'Epoca
Address: Sestiere Castello 4765 | Campo SS. Filippo e Giacomo, 30122 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#56 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#78 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Casa Verardo - Residenza D'Epoca 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Verardo is an ancient noble palace of the XVI century at only 200mt. from St. Marks square. A pleasant combination of:*ambient atmosphere *proximity to the main points of interest *reasonable prices 3 floors (with lift), with two "piano nobile" (noble floor), with wide walk-able areas, a big terrace on the roof and another one at the first floor (both with canal view), where you can have breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Casa Verardo - Residenza D'Epoca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Casa Verardo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing