We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint and pleasant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Casa Verardo - Residenza D'Epoca
Ranked #96 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 August 2012

A short walk from the San Marc (San Zaccaria) vaporetto stop, with only one bridge to lug our suitcases over, plus the summer crowds to navigate through. Found it relatively easily and was greeted by friendly reception staff.

Our room was delightfully cool, a blessing in the summer heat, and though small and fairly old it was clean and comfortable, with a large bathroom and view overlooking the canal. Tucked away in a quiet location but only moments from the square, great shopping and restaurants. Definitely recommend dinner on the rooftop terrace at Sangal Lounge Bar near San Marco, only a few minutes walk away.

Decent in-room wifi, pleasant staff and a wonderful courtyard oasis in which to read and escape the crowds all made for a lovely stay - definitely would recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rowlf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (667)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

232 - 238 of 667 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2012

My wife and I just returned from an unforgettable trip to Venice including a two-day stay at the Casa Verardo that we’d like to forget.

1.The hotel would not arrange transportation for us from our cruise ship to the hotel. This could have been accomplished with one phone call.
2.The hotel informed us that a professional porter service would be available when we arrived at the water taxi stop near the hotel, but there was none. We had to lug four bags several long blocks through the back alleys of Venice to reach the hotel.
3.When we arrived at our room, I noted to the clerk that the drain in the bathroom was clogged. He replied, “This is normal and prevents rings from going down the drain”. The sink remained clogged for two days.
4.Worst of all, the bed was as hard as a rock and it was impossible to sleep.
On the plus side, the room was large and clean, the hotel is relatively close to St. Marks Square and breakfasts were generally OK. However, why serve canned fruit when fresh fruit was available nearby?

Obviously, we would never return to this overpriced and undervalued property.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaVerardo, Responsabile reception at Hotel Casa Verardo - Residenza D'Epoca, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2012

Dear guest,

Yes, you are right, a simple telephone call could have booked for you a private water taxi from the cruise ship to the hotel but you never asked for this kind of service.
The same happened with the public porter…
As we remember, you only asked us about information in general as so many of our guests usually do.
However, at the port of entry a long queue of water taxis are waiting for guests landing from the cruises, ready to bring them to their hotels. For you it should not have been so difficult getting on one.

Regards,

Front office staff of Casa Verardo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

Stayed there 8/2/2012 for 2 nights and it was a wonderful choice for our family (2 adults and 2 teens). Had a room for four that overlooked a quiet canal. Room was charming, clean, and comfortable for all four of us. Has an elevator and air conditioning. Absolutly great location! Minutes from St.Marks square but located away from all the hordes of people that the cruises drop off. Staff was kind enough to make reservations for a Vivaldi concert and a play about Venice for us. Both were enjoyable. Warning - New visitors may find it a bit more challenging to find the hotel since it is tucked away, so map it before going. Handed out freshly baked croissants for breakfast. The kids loved drinking the hot chocolate. Everyone in the family would return here again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 670pas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2012

LOCATION
Ideal location, 5 minute stroll from St Marks Square. Surprisingly it is tucked away in a narrow lane so it's quiet and away from the shops and noise. The location was ideal for us as our water taxi departed from st marks square and we were so close to the heart of Venice!

ROOM
Clean, with a classic Italian interior, red and dark wood. It wasn't amazing but it was spacious and comfortable. The bathroom had a modern finish so that was welcomed!

BREAKFAST
Being a continental breakfast, it wasn't anything special and no hot food was served except for the freshly baked croissants which were a treat.

SERVICE
Normal. There were times where I had to ask for extra cutlery or if they had an iron (which they don't!) but overall they were helpful and polite.

Overall, this hotel was great value for what we paid for but we bought a GroupOn holiday deal. I would probably expect a better breakfast and room if we paid the website's official room rate.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sienna_Lior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2012

This is a charming, well managed property, tucked away from sight beside a small canal. It is well-located for tourists, being just behind the Doge's Palace, and yet it is quiet and private. The owner is helpful, with plenty of tips and advice for his guests. The room was quite a good size - for Venice - and clean and pleasantly decorated. We had in fact booked a "canal view" room; but, since we were on the third floor, you had to lean right out of the window and crane your neck down to see the small canal and charming bridge below you. The shower/ bath was a little snug. Also, the room lacked provision of Kleenex tissues. The elevator, as we discovered, could just about accommodate Snow White and two of the seven dwarfs. The breakfast was good but the service in the breakfast room was noisy, with lots of clatter and clashing of dishes, and slow on replenishments. The Coffee was excellent, but one could have wished for some kind of coffee service in the room. And - oh, yes - it was relatively expensive at $300 a night for a triple room, which was in fact a double room with an extra bed. .

Room Tip: No higher than the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank salmankureshi242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

We just spent 2 days in Venice with our 3 children and stied at Casa Verardo , it is a nice charming hotel , 5 minutes walk from Saint Marc s square but in a real calm and quiet street , the entrance is just after a little bridge , the room we had was a big family room , we had a big bed and 3 single bed for the children , airconditioned was excellent especially with the hot weather ,30 degree celsius !!!the breakfast it is continental , with a good assortment of brad , croisants , some cheese and ham , and cereals , coffee is good ,you can have it on the terrasse too .
very good adresse to be absolutely center of Venice but in a quiet place.

Room Tip: follow the informations you have by the hotel to find the place , it is kind of tricky in Venice to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank renatacagliani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2012

We stayed one night at Casa Verardo. It has the best location. A very short walk to two vaparetto stops and St. Mark's square, but off the beaten path. Very quiet and peaceful. The rooms were larger than expected, beautifully decorated, and the bathroom was very clean with a large tub and shower. The air-conditioner kept the room nice and cool, even though it was 90s+ Mini-bar was not included in the base price, but on a hot day, we didn't mind to pay a little extra for a cold coke or beer. Staff was very accomodating and held our bags the next morning so we could do more sightseeing after check-out. There is a garden in the back that is closed in and very beautiful at night. We had room 102 which was perfect for 3 people. They also have a small elevator. The breakfast was great, coffee excellent.

Room Tip: 102 and 106, recommend. 102 has canal view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CRH2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Hotel Al Piave
Hotel Al Piave
#61 of 384 in Venice
916 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#52 of 384 in Venice
1,879 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Al Duca di Venezia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
#35 of 384 in Venice
2,416 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Gorizia A La Valigia
Hotel Gorizia A La Valigia
#136 of 384 in Venice
812 reviews
Castello
Hotel da Bruno
Hotel da Bruno
#48 of 384 in Venice
1,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Verardo - Residenza D'Epoca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Verardo - Residenza D'Epoca

Address: Sestiere Castello 4765 | Campo SS. Filippo e Giacomo, 30122 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#55 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#77 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range: £75 - £279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Casa Verardo - Residenza D'Epoca 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Verardo is an ancient noble palace of the XVI century at only 200mt. from St. Marks square. A pleasant combination of:*ambient atmosphere *proximity to the main points of interest *reasonable prices 3 floors (with lift), with two "piano nobile" (noble floor), with wide walk-able areas, a big terrace on the roof and another one at the first floor (both with canal view), where you can have breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Casa Verardo - Residenza D'Epoca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Casa Verardo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing