We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent location and helpful staff”
Review of Hotel da Bruno

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel da Bruno
Ranked #50 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Queensland
Level Contributor
154 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Excellent location and helpful staff”
Reviewed 22 December 2012

We recently stayed here for 4 nights and were really happy with the location. It is located approx half way between the rialto bridge and saint marks square. On arrival we were given complementary orange juice and were asked by Igor on the front counter if we have visited Venice before. We told him it was our first time and he was really helpful and provided us a map showing us the location of the hotel so we wouldn’t get lost and gave some advice on how to get around to different places and so forth. Igor also arranged for a shuttle service to take us to Murano island a couple of days later which was also an experience in itself as we were taken to Murano Island on a boat that was like a stretch limo inside, very nice. There are no lifts at the hotel but we were offered help to take our luggage to our room upstairs. The room was clean and of good standard in comparison to other Venice hotels however on a couple of the nights we either had noisy neighbours in the rooms next door or the walls were very thin and we didn’t sleep well due to the noise. The water pressure in the shower was very poor and took quite a while for hot water to arrive. At breakfast there was a selection of cereal, croissants, breads, hams and cheese however no toasting machine. I was pleased that the coffee at breakfast was made per order with a proper espresso machine. I would definitely return here if visiting Venice again.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bostocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

967 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    519
    365
    63
    12
    8
See reviews for
275
430
68
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Greater Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
42 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2012

We spent a couple of nights at the hotel in November. It is very well sited between the Rialto Bridge and St Marks Square - an ideal location. Our room was very large and the bathroom ideal. The breakfasts were spot on and the many choices of place to eat at any time of the day near by, made eating in Venice a breeze. Free internet access was great - although a little slow at times. Staff were very helpful and the included water taxi to the glass factory was a great start to a day. Highly recommended and we would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Finale Ligure
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2012

I just returned from a long week end at one of the so called "charming venice apartments" managed by Hotel Da Bruno. The apartment was a large, 2 bedroom one located in Calle Paradiso next to the hotel and with a wonderful canal view.

Quite expensive (250 eur/night), but that's quite a standard in Venice.

Otherwise, an excellent place, well furnished and in an excellent location very close to everything.
The hotel staff was helpful and friendly to accomodate some non standard requests.

I definitely recommend this kind arrangement, especially for families, given that eating out in Venice is just impossible (high price for awful food). Believe me, I am Italian and lived near venice for 30 years.

Just one more tip: there are luxurious hotels near Treviso or Padova, charming towns where you can sleep and eat for half of the price and from where you can get to Venice with a short train trip. This can be a good alternative if you are on budget!

Cheers and nice trips to everyone!

Room Tip: Apartments are private and only managed by the hotel. They are unique and furnished differently. Che...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MaxIengo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

This hotel is in an excellent location to explore the main sights, close to both Rialto and St Marks. The directions on the hotel website about how to find the hotel are excellent - worth printing out before you arrive. The staff were all very friendly and helpful with every inquiry. I had left my phone charger in the previous hotel I'd stayed at and the very helpful man at reception found me one that another guest had left behind and lent it to me for the time of my stay. I arrived just before the acqua alta (exceptionally high tide) and was lent a pair of rubber boots when I checked in, essential for getting around while the water was high. I was offered a choice of a tiny single room (barely bigger than the bed) or a double room in the attic which was much bigger but I had to bend down to get around the bed under the exposed beams. I choose the latter and it was a great room with lots of character and access to a small terrace. It would not really be suitable for a tall person though, as the bathroom was tiny (but adequate) with quite a low ceiling. The bed was comfortable but the pillows were really hard. Breakfast was included and was a good spread. This was my first time to Venice and I absolutely loved it, and would recommend this hotel as a great base for anyone else to explore from.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rosemaryeva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
221 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2012

Hotel is in a good location between Rialto and St Mark's, with plenty of good restaurants and bars within a walk. Rooms are a bit on the small side especially bathrooms. It can be quite a noisy place also, especially the front rooms above the street, be aware of this. Staff were helpful and no problems were encountered. The hotel does not have aircond though, despite advertising it does, so in summer this could be an issue.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MadCapt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2012

Just returned from three night stay, great location, 5 minutes from Rialto & 10 from St Marks. Room on small side but adequate, bathroom ok. Breakfast good, bit crowded at times, staff good, no issues so didn't really get involved with them. First time to Venice so wasn't sure what to expect, however, even though didn't spend much time in the room I would have liked one English speaking channel on the tv and would really have preferred traditional curtains that cover the whole window rather than the ornamental swag which looked great in the daytime but wasn't very effective at night!

When checking in noticed guest before us was given complimentary drink but we didn't receive anything.!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank angelap1626426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2012

We had a great stay in Hotel Bruno's Ca' d'Oro apartment (10 minutes walk from the main hotel). I'm still quietly congratulating myself for booking it :)
At first we weren't sure about the position, but after struggling through the Venetian crowds and then discovering our favourite restaurants were nearby - we were thrilled. This combined with the wonderful service and information provided by Paolo and Marco at the main hotel (Hotel Bruno) and the spacious and well appointed apartment, I couldn't imagine staying anywhere else. Not only is the apartment on a quite canal (much to my children's joy), it is down a quiet lane, close to great restaurants (Alla Madonna and Alle Testiere), bakeries, supermarkets, but it also has a complete kitchen and washing machine, should you need it - and we did. It also worked out well as it was a quick trip on the Ca' d'Oro vaporetto early in the morning to make it to the airport.
Thank you! I will definitely recommend it to anyone I know visiting Venice.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ElisaW393
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Rio Venezia Hotel
Rio Venezia Hotel
#85 of 384 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
Castello
Hotel Sant'Antonin
Hotel Sant'Antonin
#16 of 384 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 921 reviews
Castello
Hotel Palazzo Vitturi
Hotel Palazzo Vitturi
#32 of 384 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Ca' dei Dogi
Ca' dei Dogi
#26 of 384 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 773 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Al Duca di Venezia
Castello
Hotel Casa Verardo - Residenza D'Epoca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel da Bruno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel da Bruno

Property: Hotel da Bruno
Address: Sestiere Castello 5726/A | Salizada San Lio, 30122 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
#65 Family Hotel in Venice
#90 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel da Bruno 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel da Bruno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Da Bruno Hotel
Da Bruno Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing