We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exactly what we needed”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel da Bruno

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel da Bruno
Ranked #45 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Bayville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Exactly what we needed”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

Venice was our first stop on our trip to Italy. The Hotel Da Bruno was the perfect place to crash and the end of the day! We were offered a cool drink upon our arrival which was really nice. Nothing over the top, this hotel had excellent service, a great breakfast every morning, and since we had not planned to spend too much time at the hotel, ended up being exactly what we needed.

The location was perfect - shopping and restaurants all around, with short walks to the Rialto bridge, opera and centre of San Marco. They arranged a tour for us the following morning to see how Murano glass is made, which was very enjoyable and interesting.

Overall a great experience!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

945 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    508
    357
    61
    12
    7
See reviews for
272
417
66
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calne, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

We had a weeks stay and found the Da Bruno to be superb, The location is ideal as it is a short walk from the Rialto bridge where you arrive on the ferry from the airport and a short walk from the centre of San Marco. We were greeted with a refreshing cold drink when we checked-in and then our bags were taken up to our room. The hotel is very well presented inside and out. Lovely decor, spotlessly clean, the staff are very welcoming and friendly, the breakfast well presented, fresh and delicious, free wi-fi and free access to a computer. Ok, the room was a little short on natural light but that goes for most hotel rooms in Venice as the passageways outside are very narrow so the sun only shines through your window for a short period. And if you want a nap you can shut the curtains or the wooden shutters. But who goes to Venice to sit in the room during the day anyway?! Thank you Hotel Da Bruno.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Phil Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

This hotel is fine. Nothing wrong with it completely. It's in the heart of Venice. Walking distance to everything. I would travel light however when coming to this hotel. There is no elevator so you have to carry all your bags up and down the stairs. The room you can barely move in is so tiny! There's no where to put your suitcases and open them. If I was to come to Venice again I would stay near the train station. It was horrible getting off the train and then catching a water taxi then trying to find out which stop to get off.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sophiaaaa_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

Positives: good central location, reasonable breakfast, welcome drink, ensuite.
Negatives: slow check in, rooms have no curtains so very light at night. No tea or coffee in room. Small room safe. Would be hard to find without GPS

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

It's true what they say about getting lost in Venice, it took us ages to find the hotel that is nestled in a small street near St Marks square. Apart from that the location is reasonable once you get your bearings, everything is in close proximity to you. Very close to the Rialto bridge and lots of nice restaurants. Hotel is very loud at night even with windows closed which is a big downside and their is only a bath with a shower head in it, so water goes everywhere in the bathroom and is not a dodo table experience trying to have shower. If staying for only a couple of nights I would definitely recommend it for the location. Right next door to a fantastic gelato shop.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank ElizasTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

We stayed in the Hotel da Bruno apartments. Very cosy, just across the street from the actual hotel, next to a supermarket and grocers. Fantastic location on the main thoroughfare to San Marco. Rooms were comfortable, well air-conditioned, clean. Kitchen was fairly small but still useable, and had an 'internal balcony' area for smokers. The staff came over a couple of times on our request (how to use the TV properly) and were very helpful. Free wifi. A great option for people with slightly longer stays in Venice.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here in May for a long weekend with my wife. Amazing location. Smack bang in the middle of all the good attractions and we walked everywhere from here.
Was also really easy to get to and from the airport quickly. The hotel sent us walking directions to follow from the rialto bridge stop and took five minutes.
Al the staff were really friendly and helpful. They booked us a show too which gave us more confidence than just buying on the street.
The room itself as tiny. We were in the 3rd floor with no lift (and a v heavy bag!) And the room just had a double bed with about 1 ft either side and a meter at the end! Bathroom was also tiny but all was in keeping with buildings of that type in Venice. For the amount of time we spent in the room it was fine, but the only downside of the hotel really.
If you want to be walkibg distance to everything this is perfect for you.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Edward W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Rio Venezia Hotel
Rio Venezia Hotel
#79 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
Castello
Hotel Sant'Antonin
Hotel Sant'Antonin
#15 of 386 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 893 reviews
Castello
Hotel Palazzo Vitturi
Hotel Palazzo Vitturi
#31 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Ca' dei Dogi
Ca' dei Dogi
#23 of 386 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 754 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Al Duca di Venezia
Castello
Hotel Casa Verardo - Residenza D'Epoca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel da Bruno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel da Bruno

Property: Hotel da Bruno
Address: Sestiere di Castello 5726/A | Salizada San Lio, 30122 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
#65 Family Hotel in Venice
#90 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel da Bruno 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel da Bruno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Da Bruno Hotel
Da Bruno Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing