We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Apartment”
Review of Doge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Doge Hotel
Ranked #297 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
1 review
“Apartment”
Reviewed 18 April 2012

Four of us stayed in the Apartment across the street at this location.

Positives: Pretty good value for the money. The room was clean and spacious. Close walking distance to a nice square with bakery, coffee shop and grocery store. The staff were very helpful and friendly. They bring you breakfast in the morning! The coffee and croissants were great!

Negatives: The beds were not very comfortable. Also note that if you stay in the apartment that the staff can come in and out of the apartment at any time to use the storage room in the front hallway. Please note however that they were very friendly with us, however we weren't given the option to put a "do not disturb" on the door which was a small annoyance.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    31
    20
    10
    12
See reviews for
17
30
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford
Level Contributor
82 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2011

We turned up, and were told that "the hot water in your room doesn't work", so the daughter (?) took us for a short 5 min walk to another place, where there was a room available for us.

This room was above a restaurant, of presumably her friend. She was very apologetic. The new room was lovely, big, great air con, mini fridge, tv, nice bathroom. Lovely! And a view of the canal.

So we can't really comment on the rooms of the Doge, because we didn't stay there. But we did go back to the hotel in the morning for breakfast. We peeked into the rooms and they were small, comfortable looking, but we definately did better in the other place.

We ended up having breakfast in their kitchenette area, not the best experience, no where to sit, but at least we got some food and coffee. The mother was very apologetic about "being fully booked" (so no problem with hot water), and didn't charge us the additional tax that we should have paid. Which was nice.

I liked the look of Doge for a short stay. Great location for the train station, pleasant walk to all the big sights.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronim_lad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2011

I stayed here for 3 nights in July 2011. Although the location is a bit out of the way for the main tourist sights it is near the main station and there are plenty of boats. It is a very quite area...

Unfortunately the staff were very abrupt. The woman at the reception desk (a counter under the stairs) took to shouting if you couldn't understand what she was saying - going on the premise that louder means clearer...

Breakfast was basic to say the least. Served in the room at a time arranged the night before (if they remember - one morning I had to go and ask) - it was a pretty poor affair. Bad coffee and 2 bits of french toast with jam if you were lucky and a stale croissant.

The room itself was fine if a little gloomy. The air-con worked great. The shower unfortunately was filthy and mouldy and the water backed up at an alarming rate. More than 4 minutes and the water was up to the lip of the shower tray!

There have got to be better places than this to stay in Venice for the price.
Very poor!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Helpful?
1 Thank zak0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Venice hotels

Morrisplains, nj
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2011

We stayed one night in this horrible hotel. Don't get deceived by the overall reviews. Trust me, it's a starless hotel. Small, dingy and very rude daughter. They run a scam. They chrge u one price and give it for half to Europeans. This stay spoiled my Venice trip. I am literally begging people please please don't stay here. I would suggest not to stay near station. Stay in Rialto area or San Marco.

Room Tip: Dont stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nebuta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 June 2011

Our family of 4 arrived at the train station in Venezia with directions in hand for a short 6 minute walk to our Hotel. They led us right to the doorstep and we were immediately greeted by our lovely host. We are American and she spoke little English but she guided us to our 2 bedroom place which was perfect for the 4 of us. Bathroom was spacious, shower was a bit tight as I am a big guy but it did the job. They brought us a lovely breakfast of juices, coffee and pastries in the am and let us store our baggage until we departed for the train station later in the day. A perfect place in just an awesome part of our world. I recommend it to everyone!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thestammfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 8 June 2011

Spent three days here. The staff was friendly and helpful. The room was huge. It was closer to an apartment than a hotel room. Very clean although the bed was a bit on the uncomfortable side. The location is great. It's far from St. Mark's and the really touristy areas. If you like to hang with the locals, the surrounding neighborhoods are where you want to be.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveler323232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Firenze
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2011

Venice is expensive and since we are not the kind of travelers that hang out in our room, we wanted a good value, but no-frills hotel. We also like to speak the language of the country we are in. Items at the top of our travel list are, in order: 1. cleanliness 2. quiet sleep on decent beds and 3. As non-Tourist-y as possible. We found all that at Hotel Doge. The rooms are very small, but space is used efficiently. We had a queen-sized bed, a wardrobe w/plenty of space to hang clothing, and our own bathroom. All was incredibly clean and the whole place has been recently remodeled. Bathroom fixtures were new, & great shower w/plenty of pressure & hot water. The family is very friendly and helpful. The parents do not speak English but the eldest daughter does and is very present. Continental breakfast is included and served in your room.
An added bonus is that this place is only about 10 mins walk from the main train/bus station (Piazzale Roma) and (important to us) far away from the throngs of tourists in San Marco sestiere. It was relatively quiet from about 11 pm to 7 am, and there are many very good trattorias and pizzerias nearby. Plus, it feels like a real neighborhood. Highly recommended

Room Tip: Venice: Hotels near train station are fine!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linavoce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Santa Croce
Hotel ai due Fanali
Hotel ai due Fanali
#195 of 385 in Venice
234 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Basilea
Hotel Basilea
#351 of 385 in Venice
306 reviews
Cannaregio
Universo Nord Hotel
Universo Nord Hotel
#253 of 385 in Venice
775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
Hotel Agli Artisti
Hotel Agli Artisti
#273 of 385 in Venice
552 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Airone
Hotel Airone
#345 of 385 in Venice
320 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Il Mercante di Venezia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doge Hotel

Property: Doge Hotel
Address: Santa Croce, 1222, 30133 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Santa Croce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Casino Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Doge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Doge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doge Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing