We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tiny hotel with great location”
Review of Doge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Doge Hotel
Ranked #297 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Tiny hotel with great location”
Reviewed 17 July 2012

Doge Hotel is what we call a tiny hotel... There is no lobby nor dining room. But for the price, that was okay (it is really expensive in Venice). There is no lift so you need to have muscles to lift your luggage til your room. The staff was very nice tho, helping us til our room and showing us how everything worked. There was a functional A/C, TV was working, not-so-bad comfy beds. The shower would need some clean up as you can see some stain on it, but that was all. The lady at the reception was really nice as well, helping us finding good locations and restaurants. It was really cute how she cared, asking us what we wanted for tomorrow's breakfast. It's like a little pension. I recommend this hotel for the location, but if you want an all-service hotel, this is not the right place for you. Doge is like a little pension you go on a trip. Nothing exotic, but everything you need is there.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mirilya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    31
    20
    10
    12
See reviews for
17
30
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2012

My family and I (2 adults, 2 children: ages 4 and 1) stayed at Hotel Doge in May 2012. For fun (phonetics), we started calling it “Hotel Dodgy” before we arrived, and it turned out to be a self-fulfilling prophecy. Of course, the hotel looked nice from its website, had some decent online reviews, and the price was right. The hotel prices in Venice are astronomical! It was hard to find a room for the 4 of us for less than 200 Euros ($250 USD). I mean, we just wanted a place to sleep!! The experience started off ok as the receptionist showed us our room, which was actually a ground-floor apartment across the street from the hotel, but it soon went downhill. The TV didn’t work, the blinds didn’t tilt, the fan/AC didn’t work, and the mattress was the worst that I have ever slept on. We just had to remind ourselves that it was just for one night. If anything, it was a reminder that you get what you pay for… My advice - spend a little more money and stay at a place along the canal.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yank_Abroad2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Venice hotels

Lexington
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

The Doge is not a hotel - it is a pension. There is no lobby or dining room so breakfast is served in your room. We booked a room and the bed was a camp stretcher and conditions were very cramped. The bed are unbearably uncomfortable,leading to sleepless nights. The room and bathroom were not very clean and there were not enough towels. This hotel is not good value for money. I have stayed on the Lido on two previous trips and have been satisfied with the standard of accommodation and would not recommend staying on Venice in this price bracket .

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maresciallo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2012

Stayed here 2 nights in May nice room breakfast brought to room in the morning the night before they asked what I wanted to drink. Croissant, roll and little packets of breakfast stuff. It was more than enough to get me started. The shared bathroom was very clean. The staff at the desk were very friendly and very friendly. Good location not too far of a walk from train or bus station. I would stay here again if I ever went back to Venice

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mediaqueen44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 18 April 2012

Four of us stayed in the Apartment across the street at this location.

Positives: Pretty good value for the money. The room was clean and spacious. Close walking distance to a nice square with bakery, coffee shop and grocery store. The staff were very helpful and friendly. They bring you breakfast in the morning! The coffee and croissants were great!

Negatives: The beds were not very comfortable. Also note that if you stay in the apartment that the staff can come in and out of the apartment at any time to use the storage room in the front hallway. Please note however that they were very friendly with us, however we weren't given the option to put a "do not disturb" on the door which was a small annoyance.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level Contributor
82 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2011

We turned up, and were told that "the hot water in your room doesn't work", so the daughter (?) took us for a short 5 min walk to another place, where there was a room available for us.

This room was above a restaurant, of presumably her friend. She was very apologetic. The new room was lovely, big, great air con, mini fridge, tv, nice bathroom. Lovely! And a view of the canal.

So we can't really comment on the rooms of the Doge, because we didn't stay there. But we did go back to the hotel in the morning for breakfast. We peeked into the rooms and they were small, comfortable looking, but we definately did better in the other place.

We ended up having breakfast in their kitchenette area, not the best experience, no where to sit, but at least we got some food and coffee. The mother was very apologetic about "being fully booked" (so no problem with hot water), and didn't charge us the additional tax that we should have paid. Which was nice.

I liked the look of Doge for a short stay. Great location for the train station, pleasant walk to all the big sights.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronim_lad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2011

I stayed here for 3 nights in July 2011. Although the location is a bit out of the way for the main tourist sights it is near the main station and there are plenty of boats. It is a very quite area...

Unfortunately the staff were very abrupt. The woman at the reception desk (a counter under the stairs) took to shouting if you couldn't understand what she was saying - going on the premise that louder means clearer...

Breakfast was basic to say the least. Served in the room at a time arranged the night before (if they remember - one morning I had to go and ask) - it was a pretty poor affair. Bad coffee and 2 bits of french toast with jam if you were lucky and a stale croissant.

The room itself was fine if a little gloomy. The air-con worked great. The shower unfortunately was filthy and mouldy and the water backed up at an alarming rate. More than 4 minutes and the water was up to the lip of the shower tray!

There have got to be better places than this to stay in Venice for the price.
Very poor!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Helpful?
1 Thank zak0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Santa Croce
Hotel ai due Fanali
Hotel ai due Fanali
#195 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Belle Epoque
Hotel Belle Epoque
#192 of 386 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 898 reviews
Cannaregio
Universo Nord Hotel
Universo Nord Hotel
#252 of 386 in Venice
3.0 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
Hotel Agli Artisti
Hotel Agli Artisti
#274 of 386 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Atlantide
Hotel Atlantide
#336 of 386 in Venice
3.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Airone
Hotel Airone
#346 of 386 in Venice
3.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doge Hotel

Property: Doge Hotel
Address: Santa Croce, 1222, 30133 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Santa Croce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Casino Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Doge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Doge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doge Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing