We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, delightful setting”
Review of Hotel Flora

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Flora
Ranked #46 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect location, delightful setting”
Reviewed 25 August 2011

A brilliant location, a short walk to St Marks. Very quaint hotel, small rooms, but that's to be expected. Wonderful outdoor dining / garden area, staff were fantastic.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Astrobenandemily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,206 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    723
    388
    64
    18
    13
See reviews for
270
584
84
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fresh Meadows, New York
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2011

This hotel is beautiful, clean, friendly. Well located, yet quiet at night. And Oh that blood orange juice for breakfast

Room Tip: the better rooms face away from the entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank archiebeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2011

Great location, excellent staff, breakfast was delicious, and our favourite part was the "oasis" garden sitting area. Also, the room was spacious for our family of 5!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Megan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne Australia
Level 6 Contributor
213 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2011

Delightful hotel, with lovely staff. Nothing was too much trouble for them, in fact after we left and got to the other end of Italy, I realised that I had left a bag of shopping there under a chair in our room. I phoned Roberto and he tracked it down, and kindly arranged to have it posted home to Australia for me. Now that really is service!
But more about the hotel, upon arrival everything was swift, we were checked in and bags bought up to our room promptly. As we were travelling as a couple and our 15 year old, they gave us a "sort of" apartment. It was actually 2 rooms, each with its own bathroom, both rooms come off a private corridor that can be securely locked at night. Fantastic for families, and nice and quiet at the end of a hallway.
Breakfast was served in the dining area/bar, loads of food to choose from. The staff reminded us a bit of faulty towers, the way they rushed around sorting tables, and extra chairs for guests, but much more politely than Basil Faulty.
Very clean hotel, it was in a good central location, not far from restaurants, and shops are everywhere. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colourqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed at Hotel Flora for 4 nights in July and had a wonderful time in Venice. It is situated perfectly in the heart of the shopping area and a short walk from the main San Marco square ferry stop (right at Harry's Bar). We had not been to Venice before and the hotel was very helpful to recommend restaurants and things to do, maps etc. And it has a fantastic gym so that we could workout. We very much enjoyed our runs along the waterfront. (even with the walking - I'd recommend hitting the gym so that you can really enjoy the delicious food of Venice). Only negative we found of this hotel (and wouldn't be if we were prepared) was that you should pack light for Venice as you will be sherpa'ing your bags about a 10 minute walk from the ferry, up a set of stairs and crossing a short foot bridge to reach the hotel. This is not a fancy hotel, but it's clean , friendly and their courtyard is lovely to enjoy your breakfast, surf the internet and plan your day.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that overlooks the courtyard on 2nd or 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElaineRunsWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waldwick, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2011

We stayed at the hotel for three nights. It takes about 5-10 minutes to walk to it from the ferry stop. Its tucked down a small alley so you have to look up to find the sign. My travel agent gave us a map that made it a little easier.

We had a very nice room that overlooked a beautiful courtyard of another property. The hotel is perfectly situated and is about a 2-3 minute walk from San Marco Square, 5-10 minutes to Accademia bridge, 15 minutes to the Rialto Bridge. Its about a 40-45 minute ferry ride to the train station. The hotel staff was very friendly and spoke very good English. The breakfast service was superb and they brought coffee and cappuccino to you. Our kids got hot chocolate and they grated chocolate over the whipped cream.

We asked the hotel staff for restaurants on two occasions and both were great dinners - and not overly expensive.

The hotel was our favorite of three that we stayed at during our vacation. We would definitely recommend it and would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank timbosul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2011

This was the most expensive hotel during our Italy vacation... but definitely worth it for about $210/night for a double. Tucked down a small lane, this hotel lived up to recommendations on Tripadvisor and Lonely Planet. The patio garden was wonderful as an afternoon retreat from the Venice crowds. The service was exceptional.... very helpful and colourful. The rooms were great with soft beds and little noise. The breakfast buffet was tasty. The bar and fitness centre were very nice. But the location... minutes from St. Mark's Square was the biggest bonus.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IanRoss82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Violino d'Oro
Hotel Violino d'Oro
#58 of 385 in Venice
1,241 reviews
San Marco
Novecento Boutique Hotel
Novecento Boutique Hotel
#47 of 385 in Venice
440 reviews
San Marco
Bel Sito e Berlino
Bel Sito e Berlino
#74 of 385 in Venice
710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Saturnia & International
San Marco
Hotel Becher
Hotel Becher
#61 of 385 in Venice
927 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Firenze
Hotel Firenze
#67 of 385 in Venice
726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Flora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Flora

Property: Hotel Flora
Address: Sestiere San Marco 2283/a, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#37 Family Hotel in Venice
#53 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Flora 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Flora, an intimate and charming hotel with a delightful garden.The Hotel is situated in the heart of Venice, behind Saint Mark's Square, on Calle XXII Marzo, one of the city's most elegant streets, between Campo Santa Maria del Giglio and Campo San Moisè.Hotel Flora's 40 rooms, intimate and light-filled, have been furnished with care by the Romanelli family, each in a different style. Period furniture from the end of the 19th century, or in 16th-century Venetian style create a discreet elegance, enriched by damask tapestries and golden cornices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Flora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flora Hotel Venice
Hotel Flora Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing