We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classy”
Review of Hotel Flora

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Flora
Ranked #50 of 387 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 November 2013

We recently stayed at the Hotel Flora in Venice. It is a charming hotel and our room was decorated in a beautiful European style.We loved the Murano glass chandelier hanging in our room. The location was very central as we could walk to St. Mark's square in just a few minutes. The staff were extremely helpful with directions as well as recommendations for restaurants. Breakfast was amazing. Lots of variety and tasty food. The service was terrific.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barbara L L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,334)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

620 - 626 of 1,334 reviews

Reviewed 19 November 2013

The location of the hotel was excellent. The staff was friendly, helpful, and attentive. The selection and variety of the morning breakfast was a huge plus.

Our room, however, was a big disappointment. My wife and I were placed on a ground floor room next to the main patio area for a three night stay. The room was frankly rundown, small and simply had two twin beds pushed together. The furniture was old and very outdated. The paint in the room and the bathroom was peeling. The worst part was that there was mold on the ceiling above the shower. It was not the type of room that we could come back to and relax in after a full day of touring Venice.

Although we really appreciated the staff, location, and the morning breakfast, we would not choose to stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SoCal310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelflora, Proprietario at Hotel Flora, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

Dear Guest,
I am glad that you enjoyed our staff and breakfast, but please believe me that I personally took care of the matter in your bathroom. The furniture is old because I like to collect it but it should not give the idea of updated.....sorry if we did not meet your taste and expectations. You should know that we really spend all our efforts in mantaining the high standard of the hotel and it is really sad when a guest remain disappointed.
Yours sincerely,
Gioele Romanelli

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed here one night while waiting to board a cruise. You can't beat the location, just a short walk to St Mark's square and flanked by shops like Bulgari and Ferragamo-- fun for window shopping! The hotel itself might be described as shabby chic, with old fashioned furniture, and the bathroom had a ridiculously small shower & sink. But for one night it met our needs. The breakfast and staff were outstanding.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NorCalPal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Located a short 3 minute walk from the noisy multitudes around Piazza San Marco, the Hotel Flora, in a 17th century building, is a quiet oasis close to everything.

Rooms vary; ours was quite large and opened over the courtyard. The bath, though well equipped, was miniscule. Daily breakfast is served in a nice leafy courtyard. Tuesday afternoons Leon, a wonderful pastel artist gives a demonstration of his art, which we really enjoyed. Venicio fed us freshly made tagliatelle with artichoke sauce one night and mushroom the next. Both were divine! Sergio at the front desk took superb care of us, reconfirming our water taxi and moving up the time when he felt we needed to get to the airport a bit sooner, even sending porters to collect us at their dock on arrival and delivering us again at our departure.

And if walking Venice isn't enough, Hotel Flora also offers a fitness center where you'll find a variety of fitness machines. You can even arrange for the services of a personal trainer or massage therapist. Did I mention it is a free wireless area? Hotel Flora is a GREAT f ind!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DiamondsOnTheGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013 via mobile

My partner organised this hotel for us & what a little gem it was. Perfect location close to San Marco & of course being in Venice, was within walking distance to all other sights. Down a quiet alleyway, you wouldn't even know it was there but the courtyard was beautiful. The smell of freshly baked cakes in the early morning was delightful. Staff were friendly & very helpful. Breakfast & the cappuccinos were a great start to our long days. Thank you. I have already recommended you to my friends.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Judo_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We stayed at Hotel Flora a couple weeks ago and the hotel front desk/concierge staff were very pleasant. Unfortunately, there was no A/C and we had to open our windows as the room was stuffy. Little did we know that we would end up with over 15-20 mosquito bites each. I still have red welts all over my body over 2 weeks later. When we alerted the hotel about our situation they told us there was some mosquito plug in the room and sent a bellman up to make sure it was on...it was not...so he turned it on. Still it did not help as the next day and night we still were eaten up by the mosquitos. We asked for another room, but we were told no other rooms were available.
Also, the room was very "dated." Carpet was worn out; TV was tiny and didn't work; Bathroom was clean but unfortunately we were on the 2nd floor and right on top of guests in the garden. Literally, they could hear us and we could hear their conversations. It was not comfortable as sometimes privacy in the restroom is necessary. We tried to stay out of the hotel room for as many hours as humanly possible.
We even found a "pharmacy" to buy mosquito repellent for $12 euro and sprayed every part of our body multiple times a day. It didn't seem to help.
I'll never recommend this hotel and never be back. It ruined the remainder of my trip.
Save yourself from all the mosquito bites and stay somewhere else in Venice!

Room Tip: Don't get the little room on the 2nd floor above the garden!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank VTVTVT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

This hotel has various rooms which are well equipped. Amenities are OK. Nice little bar and Breakfast room. Breakfast is excellent. Very helpful people who have great tips about what to visit when. Good value
for money.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Pietreis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Bel Sito e Berlino
Bel Sito e Berlino
#70 of 387 in Venice
797 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Ala - Historical Places of Italy
San Marco
Hotel Al Codega
Hotel Al Codega
#23 of 387 in Venice
1,466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Novecento Boutique Hotel
Novecento Boutique Hotel
#39 of 387 in Venice
477 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Violino d'Oro
Hotel Violino d'Oro
#64 of 387 in Venice
1,328 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Saturnia & International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Flora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Flora

Address: Sestiere San Marco 2283/a, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Venice
#52 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range: £92 - £294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Flora 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Flora, an intimate and charming hotel with a delightful garden.The Hotel is situated in the heart of Venice, behind Saint Mark's Square, on Calle XXII Marzo, one of the city's most elegant streets, between Campo Santa Maria del Giglio and Campo San Moisè.Hotel Flora's 40 rooms, intimate and light-filled, have been furnished with care by the Romanelli family, each in a different style. Period furniture from the end of the 19th century, or in 16th-century Venetian style create a discreet elegance, enriched by damask tapestries and golden cornices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Flora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flora Hotel Venice
Hotel Flora Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing